Hungie

Happy Humpday chikies!

I woke up this morning thinking only of my boss’s son’s famous one-liner: “I hungie.” And that, I was.

I picked up some more frozen sweet cherries yesterday and could only think of one of my favorite combos ever: Blueberry-Cherry Oats.

The Base:

Topped with:

  • blueberry chia-acai icing
  • cashews
  • Mae’s coconut butter
  • homemade cashew “spread”
  • and a compote of some frozen sweet cherries and chopped dates, simmered in some almond milk.

And a cup of Green Mountain’s French Vanillaan old stand-by.

I enjoyed this with Google Reader and The Early Show, who was doing a special on the best and worst of fast-food nd chain restaurants. I was informed that the Cheesecake Factory has one dish that comes in at 2,500 calories and I forget how much saturated fat they said. Holy cow. I mean, I’ve never been to the Cheesecake Factory – maybe it’s worth it – but I think I’d be out ofย commissionย for a week after downing that! I think it was a pasta dish?

I tried a new Bob’s Red Mill cereal today since yesterday was – tearfully – the last of my Grains & Nuts Hot Cereal. I think that one may be my favorite hot cereal thus far – it was such a cool combo of grains and nuts, and super for baking, too. Must. Order. Again.

Anyways – today was Kamut flakes! I’ve seen them around the blogosphere but have yet to try any kind of Kamut myself. I really enjoyed it! Texture-wise there was no noticeable difference since it was flake-y like the grains & nuts – but I noticed my nuttiness was gone! (teehee, I kill myself) I’ll have to try a more simple Kamut bowl to get the true “feel” of the flavor, though. Bob explains it as buttery?

I grabbed a banana and a date ball for le snacko de la manzana. Snack of the morning? Either way – only the banana ended up seeing the interior of my stomach. Ew, I can’t believe I just said that.

And lunch was a hummus and veg sammie. Eaten cold!! You know it’s hot if I don’t try to make a panini out of everything.

Cedar’s Garlic and Chive hummus, tomato paste, garlic & herb feta, local buttercrisp lettuce, red pepper, grilled balsamic eggplant, salt, and peppah. Fun fact? I hate touching cheese. Totally creeps me out. I am grateful for the fact that the feta I have now comes with a “shake top.”

To get my protein on, I again used a [clean] Crofter’s jar. It just so happens to be the perfect size – my other containers are huge or too small! I poured (yes, poured) on the cinnamon and mixed with some pumpkin butter, too. Note: pumpkin butter + cottage cheese + cinnamon = heaven. And a peach. My mom bought them for me…and try as I might, I just cannot get over their fuzzy skin. I think the rest will be for oats.

…and Annie’s bunny grahams! I saw these on Katie’s blog first, and immediately had to find them. Katie, I’ve been stealing everything from you lately, sheesh! ย ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not lying: back when I actually lived a normal college-kid life, my friend and I would show up at parties with Teddy Grahams and clementines or grapes. I’d totally forgotten about Teddy Grahams until seeing the bunny grahams and you can only imagine my excitement when these happened to catch my eye at the co-op yesterday. I wasn’t even looking and they were on the bottom shelf, so they must have wanted to see me, too. The honey flavor was on sale, which means it was destiny. Honey was my favorite.

I sort of forgot about them while packing lunch, but knew I had to take a couple. They’d go perfect with the cottage cheese, right? Right. And yes. They did. They are amazing. I am an addict. End of story.

I nommed on a Kardea Nutrition Cranberry-Almond Bar for my afternoon snack. You can read my review of their chai flavor (which I loved) here.

I went into pros and cons there, as well – one of the cons being the use of soy protein, and the same holds true for this bar. Not a huge fan, but I’ll deal. I’ll be honest – this bar didn’t knock my socks off. I feel bad saying that since they were sent to me to sample and review, but I’m honest, too. There wasn’t much cranberry flavor to speak of (and I am a total cranberry fan) and the almond was sort of an afterthought. It smelled quite almond-y – but in an almond extract sort of way. It didn’t tasteย artificial, don’t get me wrong – but even though there were some almonds in the bar, I think the vague almond taste came from flavoring. All that “bad stuff” out of the way – the bar still didn’t taste bad, and I really like their texture and consistency. It’s got a nice chew to it, with chunks of dried fruit and nuts in there too. It just wasn’t quite bursting with flavor.

A huge bonus about it, though – was that it kept me full for quite a while! Even when I got home I wasn’t super hungry, but after a shower threw together this bomb salad:

Oh, yes – I’ve got the salad bug again. What’s your favorite salad mix? In the bowl here is a mix of local spinach and lettuce, showered with cut-off corn from a cob and a half, dark red kidney beans, curried sweet potato rounds, chopped cashews, and red pepper. I made a dressing the same as last night (maple dijon and balsamic vin) but added to it some poppyseeds, curry powder, and salt.

The perfect dinner for Surface of the Sun, Day 3. (Yes – it was “another scorcher” as they say on that Sears air conditioning commercial that used to always air. Here’s hoping for a break tomorrow.

________________________

Horsey Humpday

heh…nope, Horsey Humpday has not gotten old yet. Just think…today and next week to go…and then you’ll be bombarded with new pony pics.

For today, however, I had to dig deep and figure out who I had left to shoe you guys!

…And Caesar came to mind. You’ve already seen Corona, who was a resale project – well, so was Caesar. My mom purchased him to be her horse for trails. And he was a great horse…but we think something awful happened to him at some point during his life that made him incredibly sensitive to things touching his left side and butt.

After countless times and many falls while my mom tried getting it to work out – she just lost trust in him and didn’t want such a green, unpredictable horse. The man who sold him to her was…well…not compltely honest. So I “took him in,” introduced him to the eventing world, and found him a great home with a woman who has now successfully been eventing him. I would have kept him myself – but I had Burly at that time, and I think I even had Corona, too. It just wasn’t possible.

He was definitely one of those horses who worked best when he had a bond with his “person.” He wasn’t mean – but he needed to trust you. I was able to get him over some of his fears, trust more, and passed him along to someone who knew his “issues,” and was more than willing to work through them. It broke my heart to sell him, even though I swore I wouldn’t bond with him. We just felt so bad for him, because you could tell someone must have done something terrible to him at some point. Horses like that can be some of the best companions though, because they’ll try their heart out for you. When the woman came to pick him up, he was terrified of her ramp-load trailer, and would not get on with her. He walked right on when I asked if I could try.

There was just something so noble about him…even if he was put together all wrong. (Freya, I bet you’re laughing and nodding in agreement with that statement! haha)

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

23 responses to “Hungie

  1. Berry oats are so good! I am ready for blueberry season! Favorite on a salad…salsa! I don’t know why maybe because there are so many veggies in it? I think horses are so beautiful. I love their muscle tone…just incredible!

  2. It makes me sad that you don’t like the fuzzy peaches… I kid, I kid. I love them but it took me a while. It freaks some people out that I eat the skin. But I get them at work in the summer where they are grown not a mile from where we sell them… amazingness.
    Cherry oats sounds fantastic!! I need to try that. Because you know where it’s at with the oats..
    I love love love those Annie’s grahams!!! Don’t even get me started on teddy grahams girl…
    Love ya!

  3. Ok I guess I have to add kamut to my list of things to buy. I have all of these grains on my list because of you, and I haven’t ever heard of half of them (before you!). My favorite things to throw in a salad about avocado, olives, roasted red pepper, hummus, chickpeas, etc haha. I’ll throw everything in there!

  4. Cherry blueberry oats = bliss. Love that salad combo, sweet potatoes, corn, and beans are all favorites but I also love beets, avocado, tempeh bacon, cherry tomatoes. That story about Caesar is wonderful but also so sad. It is great that you found him a home with someone aware of his past. I feel awful when hearing about animals that are mistreated…

    That sandwich sounds delicious, I want some hummus! We had warm lunch today, I couldn’t believe they served that in 90+ weather, yuck!

    happy humpday lady! Wish I could think about something to post about…no pictures though. Yours are beautiful. I must admit that I always love your ceramic mugs, and interesting plates and bowls!

  5. AH! I had a lot of catching up to do on your blog! I’m loving the Europe Jar! haha you HAVE to try South America at some point, it’s amazing! I’ve been craving big salads at night too. They are so easy after a long day and not to mention the LAST thing I want to do is turn on my overn. I’ve been dying of the heat! Also, needless to say, I love the oats as always!

  6. love your oats, and i love how you said โ€“ “but I noticed my nuttiness was gone! (teehee, I kill myself)” that made me laugh you are too cute. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I had a peach today as well, so delicious and i too love the fuzzy skin ๐Ÿ˜‰ they are so good in oats + coconut by the way! ๐Ÿ™‚ and ahh those little bunny grahams they i love those!! Agreed they go perfect with cottage cheese, i’ve had that combo before really good, i think those little guys would be good on anything! ๐Ÿ™‚ the weather was ridiculous today here like 85 or something but so hot!..thankgoodness i am off to my summer home in Montauk NY at the beach tomorrow! hope its nicer, i really do like hot food more than cold, i dont think i could part with hot oats.ever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xx
    eliza

  7. Again, you take the most gorgeous photos! Beautiful horse too!

    I don’t know what my favorite salad mix is but I love beets, feta cheese, and avocado on salad!

  8. ahhh i love the cheesecake factory but i’m scared of their cheesecakes. haha. actually i have had them, and i would again bc they are good but omg never eat a whole one. i wish we had one near me!!!

  9. Awww, animal stories make me so happy. I have such a soft spot for them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That veggie sandwich looks delicious.

    Jenn

  10. awe it would break my heart to sell him too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ awe

    btw I LOVE ALL THE PURPLENESS GOING ON IN THAT BOWL! MMMM โค

  11. I’m so glad I can provide some fun food ideas! I just adore those bunny grahams!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. You have gorgeous riding form! I am so jealous!

  13. Dee

    ahh, food pictures are to die for! i need to try that bob’s cereal!

    and omg, cottage cheese, cinnamon, and pumpkin?! that defo sounds like a must try!

    and how cute are those bunnies?! i must find them here too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. Michelle

    I have the cinnamon bunny grahams which are amazing with a microwaved apple topped with cinnamon. soooo mouth watering!

  15. Haha yes! I totally know what you mean!! And I know what you mean about the ‘needing a special person’ thing – Chika needs one (if anyone else rides her, she gets ANGRY!) and my sister’s horse definetly needs one. It’s so sad though, knowing a horse has had a bad background…you always dread to think what happened to make them like that ๐Ÿ˜ฆ congrats on getting him good though!! I love his colour ๐Ÿ™‚

    2500 calories for a PASTA dish!? Holy crap :s
    Oh, and that karma thing – I am so embaressed lol!! I was very tired when I wrote that, and was obvs not thinking straight ๐Ÿ˜› at least you got a gross man-bit-by-stallion story out of it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. haha i love your spanish. manzana is an apple, by the way! you are too cute.

    and i LOVE bunny grahams! i used to eat them in a “trail mix” i would take to work, and everyone thought they were something i stole from my nephew.

    and your salads put mine to shame! i want!
    -rebeah

  17. Brandi

    i love that square bowl you have your oats in – awesome.

    and I used a Crofter’s jar for overnight oats today! Perfect size, indeed.

  18. Love the Caesar pics! And I think it’s so funny you don’t like to touch cheese. I can relate though- I don’t really like touching deli meat! There’s just something “ew” about it. Also I totally JUST tried those bunny grahams last night while I was babysitting! So yummy.

  19. You look so beautiful on your horse! I am sitting in NYC, looking at your yummie eats, and I’m excited to get back home so I can make some of your great bowls/meals. I love veggie sandwiches during the summer. And yes…like you…it has to be pretty warm for me not to make a panini. I like my food hot!

  20. I just read an article in my newspaper about a milkshake that has over 2000 cals. I think my eyes nearly popped out of my head. That’s a full days worth of calories in something that’s supposed to be a SNACK! It’s no wonder North Americans are so unhealthy…

    Awesome salad! I love the addition of sweet potatoes. Is there a meal they DON’T taste good in? My favourite salad mix is anything with guac or goats cheese. But not together… I don’t think that would taste so good haha.

  21. Yo! I am just catching up on your posts now. Wow, I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced such food envy in such a short period of time. You, my dear girl, are one talented chef/photographer and I kind of want to be you ๐Ÿ™‚

    That being said — I really want your balls. Your fruit and nut balls, that is. (Oh dirty 12 year old humor, never gets old).

    Caesar sounds so special โค Thank you for sharing him with us, love! Your passion and love is just beautiful!

  22. How have I missed horsey hump day all these weeks?! This is the first one I’ve seen! Caesar is very cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you were able to save him!

    Honey bunnies are my favorite too!

  23. I LOVE LOVE LOVE annie’s honey bunnies too! ๐Ÿ™‚ So good!

    Caesar is beautiful! I would love to ride a horse again sometime soon..it’s been too long!

Leave a Reply

