Commonalities

Seems to be that I’ve been on a roll lately. With what, you ask? Well, closely examine last night’s meal and this morning’s banana figgy oats. What do they have in common? If you ask me, I’d say they both lack in the visual department. Luckily, the other thing they have in common is that they don’t lack in the taste department.

After practically dreaming about the combination of melted mashed banana with maple syrup and sunbutter ever since having it Sunday Β morning, I knew I’d have to do the melted banana and sunbutter with hot oats. And that, I did.

The base contained:

  • 1 T. Wheat Bran, 2 T. Bob’s Grains & Nuts, 3 T. Bob’s Peppy Kernels
  • 1/2 c. coffee, 1/2 c. PureAlmond
  • 1/2 banana, thinly sliced
  • 1 dried fig, chopped
  • drizzle maple sryup
  • 1 T. chia seeds

And topped with:

  • chia-flax icing
  • honey roasted peanuts
  • TJ’s Sunflower Seed Butter
  • and a nuked mashed, melted banana mixed with some chopped dates

…and a drizzle of maple syrup. Oh, how I loved those gobs of salty sunflower seed butter mixed with the sweet, ooey-gooy banana, and the popping of the figgy seeds with each bite.

To round out the meal? Why, Green Mountain’s Southern Pecan, of course. perhaps a random selection for the morning since pecans were otherwise nowhere in site. This flavor seems to be my go-to though, eh?

I’m pretty sure no one wants to see pretty food, anyways. We all know that the ugly food tastes the best, right? right?!

You all had some great suggestions pertaining to packing food while traveling! I don’t think I’ve ever had to pack in preparation for breakfast, so I totally even forgot to think about that! It was great reading everyone’s tips, especially since I’m probably the one who goes on “real” trips the least out of all of us! I just seem to find myself on the road a lot, I guess πŸ˜‰ Some of the pointers I read that made me think “oh gosh, why didn’t I think of that/include that?” Were:

  • Jess mentioned oatmeal packs (they do make reasonable instant oatmeal packs, contrary to popular belief! And if you can’t find any in your area, who says you can’t pack a serving or two in a ziploc bag or resealable container?) as well as portable nut butter packs. Now that’s a good one. And you know what, if you wanted a PB & J, you could just pack some bread and grab some portable nut butter and jam packs!
  • Ashley (at Food, Fotos, and Fun – but my computer won’t let me go to your site!)Β mentioned single-serve applesauce and cold cereal. I have a hunch hotel breakfasts are getting better in offering oatmeal packs & better cold cereals based on reading about other bloggers’ stays – but you never know, right?! And a hearty breakfast is the only way to start any day – especially if it’s one where you’ll be walking around, taking in the sights!
  • aaaand, I’m just gonna go ahead and quote Mo because she packed tons of useful tips into an itty bitty comment πŸ™‚ “
"This doesn't necessarily work for someone driving but I like packing granola in a little plastic baggie with a plastic spoon and eating a little when I'm hungry on the road because it's cheaper than buying snack bars. I also always slice up any fruit that has a core, like apples, and place it in a baggie so it's not as messy to eat. Adding a tiny drizzle of lemon juice to the apple makes it not go brown so it's all good. Actually, even the juicier fruits are okay to eat if you pack them in a sturdy container and bring along a fork. Just not good for when you're driving, again. XD
I'm also really big on packing veggies which I've cut into sticks. And like you said, it's a good idea to pack some baked goods. Even things like roasted chickpeas are a great on-the-road snack. :)
Also, bring along a bag for the trash. No one likes sitting in banana peels."

I ran into town today to talk with the barn chicka to iron out the deets of le pony’s arrival. Unfortunately, it won’t be until the first weekend in June 😦 Better late than never, though – right? He needs a rabies shot before he can be brought to the barn, and the vet isn’t going out until the 25th. I don’t blame them for not wanting to travel on Memorial Day – so the next best is the weekend after. Ohhhh well πŸ™‚ We talked for a good long bit – and she even mentioned that a yoga class will be starting up at the barn at 6:00 on Wednesdays!! I am so excited.

That excitement held through my drive home and unsuccessful shopping trip to Rite Aid (I wanted to see if there was a new Clean Eating mag out) because as soon as I got home I did a yoga sculpt from yogadownload.

Well, I actually grabbed a small hunk of bread with almond butter and did laundry first because otherwise I would have to start wearing my mom’s t-shirts and jeans, but that’s besides the point. Dawnelle made my legs shake like no other, and afterwards I put my pumpkin to use and baked pumpkin bran muffins. I winged it, basing it off of my carrot-maple bran muffins. I discovered I must be in another world when typing, because I said that I used 1/3 cup stevia AND 1/3 cup maple syrup. I have never used both stevia and maple syrup. That and 1/3 cup of stevia is an ungodly amount.

Whilst they were cooking, I made lunch.

I took the other half of my delicious loaf from the farmer’s market out when I got home, so it wasn’t ready for lunch time. I gave my homemade loaf another chance, and it’s actually a lot better than I remembered telling myself it was when there were beautiful seeded multigrain loaves right in front of me and some mighty fine bakers. I mean, if you put enough roasted red peppers, spinach, tempeh, garlic lovers hummus, and local pepper goat cheese between two pieces of slate, it’d taste okay. I only chose slate because I live near a bunch of slate quarries. Maybe marble would work better for you.

I enjoyed this panini with some pumpkin yogurt that I sweetened with a dollop of pumpkin butter and some dried cranberries.

And “apple dippers”!

My mom found these Seneca Apple Crisps yesterday that someone left at school. Sounds weird, but she’s grounds maintenance and when kids leave for the summer, they leave all. sorts. of goodies behind. We actually have a new huge fridge for that reason. But, back to the point – these were in a cutesy little resealable bag (unopened, don’t worry) and brought them home.

I was pretty full so I only had one to try, but they’re pretty good! I could do with a little less canola oil so they taste less “chippy” – but compared to potato chips, these are the bad notes. And the remainder of the bag contributed to some homemade apple pie larabars πŸ™‚

See how I make them in itty bitty balls?! They’re the perfect munchy, I promise! I stole a small one before going on a ride with my mom when she got home. Although, before any of that happened, I had to sample a muffin. I was full, but had to make sure they were up to par, so just sampled a half of a small one fresh out of the oven.

They definitely passed inspection. And in keeping with my common theme, they were ugly, too.

Who says OIAJ is the only way to clean a PB jar?

…but a couple hours and a horseback ride later, I was hangry.

Don't worry, I got those last little bits.

I used up the last itty bitty bit of my Naturally Nutty White Chocolate Coconut PB on half a Dr. Kracker 3 seed. I just wanted a little something to dull my hunger – it was time to start making dinner, not snack!

And make dinner I did! See another commonality, though?

I made Veganomicon’s Quinoa and Chickpea pilaf for my mom and I. I think it may be the first time I followed a recipe to a T, too. Granted, it was pretty simple so that may be a primary contributor as to why. In the mix:

  • quinoa
  • tomato paste
  • onions
  • garlic
  • cumin, salt, black pepper, basil
  • chickpeas

It was delicious! And a major hit – always a bonus. I topped mine with feta and cashews. Unfortunately, I spilled some of the quinoa before it all made it to the pot, so I had a larger dessert than usual, and right away…

…and since there was a camera in my other hand, figured why not document this lovely bowl of So Delicious Chocolate “non-dairy frozen treat,” with shredded coconut, banana chips, and Naturally Nutty Cherry Almond Butter?

my point exactly.

________________________________________

Did anybody else catch the bit about pesticides and ADHD in kids? I suppose it should come as no surprise that a new study is pointing fingers at pesticides commonly used on non-organic fruits and veggies as a new cause of ADHD. When you’re using something with the intention to damage nerve connection in the brain of the bugs that feed on it, why wouldn’t it have a similar effect on the people that feed on it? The disruption of these neurotransfers is also linked to ADHD. Past studies were done primarily on farm-workers, yet for some reason, researchers are just now looking at the effects these pesticides have on children. And it is children who are affected most – not so much adults.

Of course, there’s still no direct, official tie between ADHD and pesticides – but it certainly seems feasible, right? I’m sure more studies will be done, but this is the first big one to take place. I’m actually a bit surprised at that fact, however. Β This is the sort of story that makes you think – what’s going to be bad 5 years from now? Sure, pesticides have never been good – but I’m fairly certain when I was growing up, organic was far less abundant and talked up.

So! Don’t forget our Clean 15 and Dirty Dozen list, and know that even when not organic, farmer’s market finds tend to be far lower in pesticides.

I just did a quick little blurb – but if you want to read more, you should definitely give the article a peak. It goes beyond just talking about ADHD, and gets into the pesticides aspect of things, too.

29 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

29 responses to “Commonalities

  1. That’s so scary to think that eating (basically) fruit and veg could cause ADHD!? Thank goodness I always try and buy organic where possible :s
    Your dinner sound loveeely – I really REALLY want that cookbook now! πŸ™‚

  2. Peanut butter and maple syrup were meant to be together. Oh my god. It is heavenly and bananas make it….more than heavenly. MMM.

    That quinoa dinner looks delicious – surely you could do WW couscous instead of quinoa though, right?

  3. I saw the news about pesticides/ADHD…craziness! It totally makes sense, though, with the recent spike in ADHD. Now I hope that they can start to figure out what’s leading to the spike in autism :/

    Your homemade LaraBars, erm, LaraBALLS (hehe) look DIVINE!! And not ugly at all πŸ™‚

  4. i think the link between pesticides and adhd is possible.. i think many links point to the direction of the cause of disease. pesticides, polluition, plastics, diet, lifestyle, air quality, water quality. hopefully the fruits and veg arent a significant threat tho.. that would be terrible! thanks for posting that info btw!! ❀

  5. Nothing looks bad to me here lady! I was talking to my sister about that today when eating half a huge vegan cookie on our road trip. She was saying that it didn’t matter we didn’t have a camera because “it didn’t look good.” I was shocked cause it looked amazing to me, but also my head and stomach telling me so probably helped. The banana figgy oats might have to happen tomorrow since I will probably be berry less when I get home. Jealous of the nice yoga sesh, sounds amazing. The two naturally nutty flavors you had are ones I can’t wait to try!

    My friend tweeted about the show on pesticides and ADHD and I honestly was not too surprised. It is crazy to think about one day when I have kids but I know that local and organic will be what they are fed. After reading about the 54 carcinogenic pesticides in non organic strawbs, I was freaked! Can’t wait to see some photos of your new horse soon!

  6. Everything looks so yummy! Especially those apple pie Laraballs! Have you posted a recipe for those?

    I read about the pesticides and ADHD connection in the paper today. It makes me wonder what other chemicals in our environment are contributing to disorders and illnesses. It’s scary to think that no matter how healthy we try to live, we’re always exposed to at least some dangerous substances in the environment (such air pollution – and there’s nothing we can do about it!).

  7. My husband just sent me the article about pesticides and ADHD and it makes so much sense. I try to buy as many things as possible organic, but I certainly will buy the dirty dozen organic when I have kids. and p.s I want EVERYTHING you made in this post…especially those homemade Larabars. Did you post a recipe of those that I missed?

  8. p.p.s. someone should be getting a package soon!

  9. I’ve always figured that eventually we were going to discover that all of those chemicals, pesticides, and growth hormones are even worse than we thought. I mean, basically people have been spraying and injecting without any clear studies showing that it’s not harmful long-term. Shudder.

    I think sometimes the ugliest food is the tastiest. πŸ™‚

  10. Susan

    I saw that pesticides thing this morning too! I’m glad you reminded us that this is purely correlational, preliminary research. While we should be aware of this stuff, I’m not letting it control my life!! Love how informed you are girl! I’m just gonna quit reading the news and read your blogskie!

  11. First off, nothing you eat looks ugly! Seriously, everything is like a fantasy! I totally saw that bit on the news about ADHD and it actually made me mad! I think it was wrong for the news to focus on something like that. Yes, I do believe that we should eat more organic and locally, but really it is not easy to affor…especially with the 4 of us. The problem I had with it is that it basically just gave people the go ahead to eat the funky fast food cheeseburgers, because they are cheaper and they will only make you over weight. I don’t disagree with what they said, but I think it needed more than a 3 minute segment on the Today Show (that’s where I saw it). Health issues and food are too great a subject and need a lot more explaining. It is too complicating to just make quick statements. Oops…my high horse. Sorry. By the way, I ate a salad today with no added salt and thought about you. I did have some chips on it that I am supposed to review, but I did not add any extra. I was kinda proud of myself. Have a great night tonight and thanks for the sweet comment for me earlier! I enjoy your stories and food so much too!

  12. I want to eat this post. Your panini looks absolutely perfect- I’ve never seen one with such perfect lines!! And I love how you made your homemade Laras into little balls. They look fifty times better than any donut hole I’ve ever seen πŸ™‚

  13. ADHD… it drives me CRAZY when people say that ADHD isn’t real.. honestly? I do think it’s kind of over-diagnosed but after working with kids and seeing with my own eyes kids with ADHD… um hello, it’s REAL! That’s kind of beside your point but yeah…
    Yeah girl, the ugliest foods are usually the best! So it goes. And I need to try the melted banana/maple syrup combo.. You have the BEST oat combos!!!
    The Quinoa sounds good! I haven’t had quinoa in forever come to think of it. And that’s seriously one of the best cookbooks out there, vegan or no!
    All of your baking is making me super jealous, want to send some of those my way?!
    Love you dear!

  14. Hey πŸ™‚ i am a new reader of your lovely blog, i love it by the way, your eats look amazingly good and love your writing πŸ™‚
    i must try sunbutter and maple that looks heavenly with the caramelized banana and fig! such a genius combo! And your ice cream, YUMmmm…well, everything just looks beyond delicious!
    well, it is always hard to pack snacks and such for road trips, but i always stick to bars, homemade trail mixes, and PB/AB packets are so handy! ..great ideas you received in your comments!
    wow, i haven’t heard about pesticides and ADHD, that is really quite interesting, i am going to go look up more after i comment πŸ˜‰ but it totally makes sense, there is such a growing amount of Kids and people in general with ADD and ADHD as well as Autism, i think maybe it would be due to the mother eating foods while pregnant that have pesticides? other things as well, these days compared to years ago there is so much more foods out there with hormones and just lots of other harmful things that many dont know about.

    xx
    eliza

  15. I would HARDLY describe your food as ugly, but I do agree that ugly food sometimes does taste better! =P
    Your homemade larabars look soo tasty! And can you believe I tried TJ’s sunflower seed butter for the first time last night (the people I was babysitting for had it) and… didn’t like it? I was shocked myself. I kept tasting more but nope. Oh well! Now I can be faithful to my almond butter I suppose. Oh and for the record- best idea EVER to put honey roasted peanuts on oats!

  16. Michelle

    I had no idea that lemon juice makes apples not go brown! That is such a helpful tip! And I completely agree, the ugliest foods seem to be the best (aka: Indian food)

  17. I hope you can make it through to my blog soon – I wonder what could be wrong??

    Your homemade apple pie larabar bites look delish – as does all of your food. I honestly never think it looks ugly!

    And I am definitely concerned about all the chemicals and pesticides in our food and other products. Unless it is proven safe over long periods of time, we shouldn’t use it.

  18. Those apple pie lara bars look amazing! I love Doctor Crackers. So addicting!

  19. The trash bag is a great idea! I hate hate hate the smell of old banana peels!

    That’s really disturbing about kids and adhd and pesticides. I can’t wait til the farmers markets around here open again!

  20. Mo

    Glad you liked my tips. πŸ™‚

    I need to try that chickpea quinoa recipe! It sounds delicious.

    Yeahhh about the ADHD-pesticide link… it’s kind of worrying. My sister has ADD and lord knows she’s eaten a fair load of crap and pesticides in her lifetime (not that she even regularly eats vegetables :|) so I wouldn’t be surprised if there turned out to be a real correlation between the two. I’m going to try making this veggie wash for non-organic foods that I can’t afford to buy organic: http://preventionrd.com/2010/01/13/sooo-is-fiber-like-the-new-fat/ which hopefully will do the trick/help some! I’ll definitely read the article later. πŸ™‚

  21. your pictures are SO clear! Everything looks amazing. I wish I could take better pictures!
    As for the pesticides and ADHD link, yes I have heard of this before and it’s absolutely disturbing. I am reading a book right now called AntiCancer: a new way of life. I HIGHLY recommend it. It will provide tons of insight into ALL the elements (not just pesticides) that are making the people in this country filled with disease. It’s crazy.

  22. Yeah, I saw that story the other day. Crazy! I have a cute little printout of the dirty dozen/clean 15 to keep in my wallet and I love it.

    I think I need to try sunflower seed butter.

  23. I’m loving your quinoa chickpea dinner. I just bought organic red quinoa and am always looking for new ways to use it!

  24. Katherine: What About Summer?

    It’s from eating/stealing grapes at the grocery store. Kids need to learn… ehm. your breakfast looks like it is draped so elegantly. it’s like beautifully poured icing glaze or something wonderful of the such

  25. That pilaf looks so good, I think my mom would love them too. As a matter of fact, all of your food looks great!

  26. It is so scary to think about what goes into some of our food products. The more I read, the more I want to buy organic and local foods. It may be more expensive, but I think it is worth it! Those homemade apple pie lara bars look incredible! I eat one everyday, so I need to start making my own as well (money, money, money). Thank you for sharing another beautiful day of eats. Your sweet posts always lift my spirit. Take care!

  27. Those are all great on-the-go suggestions!

  28. If there’s one lesson I’ve learned throughout my foodie career it’s that the ugliest foods are often times the yummiest. It’s just a fact of life. I have to say though, your breakfast is just as beautiful as I’m sure it was delicious πŸ™‚

  29. Dee

    Your pictures are so da bomb! I love it!

Leave a Reply

