4 Hours Later

So, as I alluded to yesterday – my mom and i found ourselves road-trippin’ it 4 hours today! To be quick and efficient yet not find myself starving within an hour or grumpy the entire way, or rushing around this morning, I made my breakfast last night.

Last time, I said I wasn’t a huge fan of overnight oats. Take them or leave them – but they were certainly handy – and I’d take the over a drive-through any day! Well, I made a different variation this time, and I’ve gotta say – they were good!

  • 1 T. steel cut oats, 3 T. Peppy Kernels, 1 T. chia seeds
  • 3/4 c. almond milk
  • drizzle maple syrup
  • chopped dried apricots

and then in the morning, I microwaved them until hot (not warm – and I don’t like them cold!!) and added:

  • microwaved, mashed banana
  • drizzle maple syrup
  • shredded unsweetened coconut
  • Cranberry Orange Nut Sauce
  • TJ’s Sun Butter

I think it was the combination of the mashed banana with  mape syrup and the sun butter that really wowed me. I’d never really thought to use sunbutter on oats before because I’m always thinking sweet – but lately I’ve been on a total sunbutter kick and thought – wouldn’t that go great with a mashed banana? And it was so perfect. I think I was daydreaming about sunbutter and bananas all while driving.

I still can’t say I’m a convert, since I love the hands-on of hot, morning oats – but that fact that I can re-heat overnight oats and be just as satiated and pleased is a definite bonus. My hopes have been renewed!

I had just a cup of Green Mountain Southern Pecan this morning and then we were out the door at 6:30!

None of the bars got touched...but I was prepared, I guess.

I, of course – packed foods. Overpacked, might I add.

Lentil salad sandwiches that got devoured, caramel oikoses that got saved for a later date.

I found myself riding shotty for the first two hours.

morning.

And by the time we were in the car for an hour, we wanted some real breakfast. Those oats were just a joke, you know.

So we found ourselves here.

Alright, so maybe we just needed to use the facilities. And a coffee for $1 for the moms. She drinks more coffee than I do.

And then I took over for the interstate driving. Here’s a sneak preview of what went down:

Mom: “Slow down.”

Me: “I’m going…68.”

Mom: “The speed limit’s 65.”

Me: “If we go 65 we’ll get rear-ended by a MAC truck.”

…continue going 68-70. Later:

“Please don’t go above 65.” (clutching dash)

okay so maybe the dash part was a little dramatic, but it goes without saying that she hates highway drivings. Reason why I did the highways. I didn’t tell her that they make me nervous too. Luckily, her truck is a lot smoother to drive on the interstate than the Jeep that shakes when you hit 60.

ANYWAYS. Where did 4 hours of driving take us? To a nice little town with a handful of gorgeous horses.

What did we drive away with after an hour and a half of oogling?

Okay, so maybe not. BUT! That is a representation of what will be delivered either next weekend or the first weekend in June 😀

(not that horse…work with me here.)

Yes, yes! The hunt is over. I figured as soon as I got all whiney I’d be made a liar of. It’s sort of weird story that goes along with how we found this horse…and my mom and I really think it’s just fate. I think that’s why we were a little disappointed when it started looking like we may not hear back. Just goes to show we were both a little too paranoid 😉 I’ve never felt this “right” about a horse decision. A lot of times, you go back and forth…sort of weighing the pros and cons of this horse. This one just feels right.

I drove another butt-hurting 2.5 hours back until handing over the wheel to my mom again. So glad we shared driving. I was starting to feel exhausted, and headachey. At first I thought it was just because it was so sunny out and I forgot sunglasses.

But after 24 fluid ounces of green-mountain bliss doused with a boatload of cinnamon, I have a hunch it may have also had to do with only having about half a cup of coffee all day.

Almost home. Green Mountains!!

…And got home just in time for dinner! When eggs popped into mind as wondering what I wanted, i knew I needed to do it up. And when’s the last time I had a down-home buckwheat waffle? And so easy to whip up:

  • 1/4 c. buckwheat flour
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 T. applesauce
  • 1 T. egg beaters (I had them on hand – I’ve used a whole egg white before and it was a bit too much liquid, so just cut back on milk)
  • salt
  • 1/2 T. molasses

And had a mediterranean omelette! I guess I don’t have much of a future in omelet-beautification, but luckily beauty doesn’t affect taste.

  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 3 T. almond milk
  • chives
  • garlic salt & pepper

stuffed with:

  • diced roasted eggplant
  • diced roasted red peppers
  • chopped spinach
  • some canned mushrooms
  • feta

And smothered everything with some hummus!! A complete meal 🙂

Have a great night, guys! I think I’m off to do a little bit of yoga – I need to stretttcccchhhhh!!

18 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

18 responses to “4 Hours Later

  1. Mo

    I’m happy you found a horse! 😀
    The buckwheat waffle looks delicious! I have a waffle iron but it’s really hard to clean and no amount of grease seems to get it to not stick, therefore I never get waffles that actually remotely resemble waffles, so I never use it. 😐 But if I did I’d want to make that. 😛

  2. Yay! I am so excited to read this…congrats lady! Oats are definitely so much better on a road trip than not having them or having to get drive thru any day! I the eats all look great of course. I didn’t get to comment yesterday since I am in Philly for my little sisters grad but I also am a big salt adder but not too worried. I don’t eat much (or any) processed food so all my salt is from the minimum organic low sodium canned beans and nut butters that I don’t end up making myself. Hope you are having a great weekend!

  3. OMG, I am so happy for you! I knew when I started reading where you were headed today! Yay! I can’t wait to see your new one! I have been thinking about those buckwheat waffles ever day since we last talked about them. They are going on my to do list now! I am definitely an omelet girl. I lovem and with hummus…you just won my heart! Have great night!

  4. That Haflinger photo made my heart jump. BEAUTIFUL!!!
    I am firmly of the belief that overpacking food is better than underpacking.. I tote a stash of bars on roadtrips as well! I seriously cannot wait to see photos of your new pony. So so so so exciting!

  5. I am notorious for packing food when I’m on the go. Gotta do whatcha gotta do for proper fuelage, no?

    p.s what’s the dealio with sun butter, girl?! It seems like all the bloggies and their mamas are trying it, but I’ve never seen it! Is it worth ordering? Obviously I trust your palate, my little gourmet diva 🙂

  6. Congrats on finding a new horse! My best friend rides, and I know how much she loves her horse. I need to remember how you make your overnight oats, I always make mine with lots of oats and a little bit of kefir/milk, but I’m loving all the seed action! Hope you have a wonderful Monday!

  7. YAY!!! So happy for you that you found a horse!!! In cases like that, when you know, you just KNOW. I love that feeling! It’s amazing when things actually work out sometimes.
    Haha my mom is the same way with driving.. I’m a good driver and have been driving for what, 6 years? My mom is only NOW riding in the car with me… I swear I’m a GOOD driver but driving makes her SO nervous. I have learned to tune her out a bit and just know that it’s nothing personal haha I also think it’s a mom thing.
    And I need to try the whole savory waffle thing!
    Love you girl! Have a fabulous Monday!

  8. Long time! Been busy here in Canada and have already started in our series of summer travels – I’ve missed your bloggin lady! 🙂 So funny you mention Sunbutter!! I got my first few tubs of Sunbutter during my last trip to VT. It’s a refreshing change from Almond Butter (which I am SO addicted to)
    Congrats on your latest equestrian addition!

  9. Michelle

    I’m such a huge fan of overnight oats, I am very surprised that you aren’t. But I will agree with you that they are in fact, very handy!

  10. i have to tell you that you seriously have some of hte most beautiful photography out there in blogworld!! nice! i don’t relaly like overnight oats either, and i LOVE oats in basically all other forms. i have a yummy recipe for pumpkin oatmeal pancakes that you can prepare overnight/way ahead of time and then freeze them for later…they can be a quick on the go if you havea microwave/toaster oven handy. hummus and yoga = great way to round out the day!

  11. :O Congratulations on finding one!! I’m assuming it is a haflinger after all!? What’s he like!? You better get a shedload of pics next time it’s horsey humpday and you have him 😛 oh I’m so excited for you!
    I know what you mean about it feeling ‘right’ – I thought that grey TB I told you about was ‘right’ – til I saw Chika! Then I was like ‘THAT’S what it should feel like…’!
    Haha this has made my morning, I’m so stoked for you 🙂

  12. Yay congrats on getting a horse! That’s so exciting! I am the same way on road trips, I pack an extreme amount of food because I just cannot go hungry…haha I know you’re the same way! Hope you had a great yoga sesh! 🙂

  13. You can never be too prepared when it comes to packing food for trips!

  14. Brandi

    Yay, that’s so exciting!!! So glad you found one that seems to be the right fit.

  15. always good to be prepared at least!!! and how great is roadtripping.. yea 4 hours can be a lot but is totally worth it if ur having fun. i always end up gonig on some type of adventure when im with my mom.. we’re always travelling up island to do a little shopping or just exploring! and how awesome u were able to visit a little town with such gorgeous horses! what a treat!! ❤

  16. Yay that’s so exciting that you found a horse!!! I can’t wait to see pictures. 🙂

    I’m really iffy about overnight oats too. I like my usual breakfasts too much to stray from them! Oh well, I guess I don’t have to try EVERY bloggie food out there.

  17. Thank you so much for posting your buckwheat waffle recipe. I need to get a waffle iron…I didn’t know you could make such healthy waffles…
    I just love seeing pictures of you and your horse. I use to ride when I was younger, and your pictures bring back such great memories.
    I was hoping to get your advice…I’m about to leave on a trip to New York/Maine, and while excited, I’m also a bit nervous about eating healthy during my vacation. What do you do when you travel? Thank you for sharing love!

  18. Dee

    YAY! Finally! Congrats girly!

Leave a Reply

