The Wall

Well, I’m glad the majority of us love some coconut action! At the very least in our grooming products, right?! I had some coconut shampoo & conditioner once…I never wanted to stop shampooing my hair. Oh and last summer Victoria’s Secret made a mean coconut body spray. I loved it until it reminded me a little bit too much of sunscreen.Β But Anyways.

No one likes a hypocrite. I think that may be the one thing that will make me dislike people more than anything – people who don’t practice what they preach. After my ode to coconuts last night, I knew this morning would call for coconut oats!

Because, lets face it – before my fig obsession, all you’d see was coconut something oats! It’s been a while since blueberries were in the mix, and blueberries it was.

The Base:

Topped With:

  • chia-flax icing
  • chopped mixed nuts
  • Mae’s coconut butter
  • and a compote of frozen blueberries, frozen sweet cherries, and shredded coconut simmered in almond milk and maple syrup.

I don’t think I can say enough how much I simply cannot wait to go blueberry picking. I never should have gone last year because now nothing can come close! Regardless, this was a good pick-me-up after last night’s awful critique; I woke up a bit tired! Don’t worry – I didn’t get ripped to shreds or anything, but it. took. forever. And half the time was people trying to get photos to work on their USB even though photos were on the wall that could have been discussed during that time. I guess after how efficient I was yesterday, I couldn’t deal with other people’s inefficiency. I’m not as mean as I sound right now, I promise. But oh well – I’m all done with school, and don’t need to think about how awful my photo class was anymore. I’m moving on (to the next one).

I enjoyed this bowl with a cup of Green Mountain’s Southern Pecan. I’d say this was a good way of laying to rest the last of my Creamy Rye Flakes – seems like they went quick, no?! Can’t wait to try my next Bob’s grain, though. Is it sad that I love being able to open and try a new one?! I’m almost out of my stash after this, though – I can’t wait to see the order I put together next! What’s your favorite Bob’s grain/flour/product?

Gross kitchen story of the morning? I found ants in my almonds! Remember the expensive coconut-maple ones? Yeah. Those. Apparently the ants like them too. Mainly because I was stupid and thought they’d be fine if I took them out of the plastic and just dumped them in the box. Ugh. At least it’s not an infestation, but I don’t know where they came from. Second time this year. I promise we’re not a gross kitchen.

Since the protein shake worked really well as a snack for me on Monday, I went that route again and paired with a banana. Sorry if my snacks are getting boring. Only partially, though – they taste good.

This was a shake of maybe 10 oz. almond milk and half a packet of Tera’s Whey Acai Berry protein powder. Has anyone else tried Tera’s Whey yet?! You must – I haven’t had a single flavor disappoint, and I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again – really great ethics behind the company! This acai berry was really good – tasted a lot like blueberries!! I will say that I have a feeling it would be a bit sweet had I prepared it as directed with 6 oz. milk and the whole packet. I think I’m going to get some unsweetened almond breeze to use for protein shakes, since the Tera’s Whey is already naturally sweetened.

For lunch, I packed a sammie to panini with dakota bread, and smeared on some Cedar’s Garlic Lovers hummus, garlic & herb feta, roasted red peppers, spinach, and seitan. My first seitan panini!

And it was quite tasty, if I may say. Why did it take me so long to try seitan?!

I paired it with a Dr. Kracker 3-seed flatbread and the last of my fig & goat cheese spread. I grabbed a plum, too, but you’ll have to use your imaginations as to what that looks like. I have faith in you, though.

And for an afternoon snack, this S’mores Luna bar jumped out at me. I’ve said before that it may be among my top Luna bars, and that thought was not changed after today. My last one, though – and i can’t say I’ll be buying many more. Lara has my heart.

Work wasn’t so bad most of the day, but early afternoon I started feeling like I hit a brick wall. I was exhausted! I blame it on my discombobulated night. Since I got home so much later than usual, I wasn’t tired until much later which kinda threw me off. I think I started getting grumpy, too. I had to work on a slideshow for a man’s funeral and it kinda put me in a funk, too. We get a lot of projects for stuff like that and it’s never very uplifting.

That being said, I dragged my tired bum home to make some cheesy quinoa. I wanted to change up my usual (yet beloved) quinoa and apricot hot salad and thought of Freya’s cheesy grains she made earlier this week.

I cooked up some quinoa with broccoli and red pepper and when it was about done added in some roasted eggplant and fresh diced tomatoes, and then coated with a mixture of greek yog, nooch, and cedar’s garlic lovers hummus. I paired it with my last two pieces of seitan and obviously topped it with nuts – this time of the spicy cashew variety. It was quite tasty – I’ve been loving bulghur and quinoa lately (make that one-pot bulghur and quinoa. I’m lazy) but I don’t think it was quite up there with quinoa and apricot πŸ˜‰ It would have been Β miles better had I burnt the broc first. I’m not a fan of steamed/nukes broccoli :\

And that’s all for now, folks! I’m perking up a bit finally (although, the second after I said that I see a news story on people killing school children in China. With meat cleavers?! Seriously – the headlines these days make my stomach turn.)

p.s. thank you all for the lovely words on my photos for the critique in the last post – and some of you were wondering if it was me. Nope! I took them, that’s my friend πŸ˜‰

_____________________________-

Horsey Humpday?!

Lets meet Cheyenne, a mare I worked with for the better part of a year. She never belonged to me, but was my project while I worked at an eventing barn.

‘Night guys!

17 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

17 responses to “The Wall

  1. I don’t think I could ever go blueberry picking because I would eat them before I actually bought them. Where do you order your bob’s grains from? I need to try some new ones and order them. What are your top suggestions?? Beautiful horse btw! You look like such a natural on her.

  2. I love bob’s products<3 my local gourmet supermarket literally has 90% of their products, last time I looked they did not have the rye flakes :(…I recently just tried the scottish oatmeal and it is really creamy and delicious.

  3. I am so ready to pick blueberries! I have really been craving them this year and I ran out of my freezer supply! I have eaten soooo many strawberries lately. I thought I was going to have enough to freeze, but I am eating them instead…ooops. Your photos are always so good! I am in a fun with photos right now. They are eat clear or completely out of focus. Oh well, I guess I am shaky now. I love all of Bob’s stuff! I would not know where to begin! Have a great night!

  4. Jenny

    aunts in your almonds? ooph! I can’t hate though – they have good taste; I would be digging my nose in to those coconut flavored babies too. nommmm.

    p.s. I vote you become the spokeswoman for Bob’s Red Mill – Just a thought πŸ˜‰

  5. Mo

    I’ve never been berry picking. Don’t exactly live anywhere near any berry farms. The closest one I know of is in, I kid you not, Berryville. =|

    I get ants in my kitchen too. They come in from the porch which is connected to the kitchen. They like eating the wood in the porch and then find their way inside. I clean the kitchen fairly well if I do say so myself, and then every once in a while there will just be ants EVERYWHERE. It’s disgusting. -_- Sorry they got in the expensive nuts. 😦

  6. I’ve never been blueberry picking, but strawberry picking is something I’ll always associate with my childhood! And I wish Terra had non-whey powders…hopefully they come out with some eventually!

    Im with you on Lara v. Luna! They’re both delish, but since Lara’s ingredients blow Luna out of the water, that’s what I stick to!

  7. Hey Jessica, I hate it when I find ants in the kitchen. I always get so scared that they are going to take over!
    By the way, I love Luna Bars. Sometimes I buy the one that taste like oreos. Oh, and I have some wild & organic black quinoa that I need to do something with, hmm?

  8. before my gluten intolerance i LOVED seitan. i think its the best non meat, meat product. hands down. i know some disagree but i think its the best.. especially a seitan stew!!! gotta try it with veggies and potatoes.. so DELICIOUS! loved the riding pics too!! <#

  9. Ooh that quinoa looks good! And I’m sorry to hear about the ants getting in your maple coconut almonds! Why do they have such good taste?!
    I’m really curious to try seitan. And you always have the best sammie ideas!

  10. For some reason ants in the kitchen doesn’t gross me out too much. They kind of seem like clean bugs, and they’re naturally everywhere. If I were to have any bug in my kitchen, I’d choose ants! If you said you had cockroaches, on the other hand, I might have to stop reading your blog.

  11. Dee

    Can you believe I’ve never tried any of Bob’s products? I know, I know… sacrilege! *shame*

    I was going to say, can you come to my house and cook, because seriously girl, u have got some skillz in the kitchen. I even exchanged the Z from the S, because seriously you rock.

    Gah… I hate ants! I have them in my kitchen too. They come out every summer. I am a cleaning maniac when it happens. Every-time I cook, I have to immediately wash everything and hide my food. I get super neurotic like that. =/

  12. Awh beautiful horse!! I can’t believe I forgot Horsey Humpday in my last post…I’ll have to do it today πŸ™‚
    That chinese meat cleaver story – horrible! I hadn’t heard about that (though I never listen to the news…I must live in a bubble world!).
    Hooray for finishing school though, you must be stoked πŸ™‚

  13. Susan

    Ah! The horses!

    But seriously, your dinner looks amaze-balls. Question about seitan – what is the texture like? Is it “meaty”?

    Have a good Thursday!

  14. I’ve actually never tried any Bob’s products! Which do you recommend?

    I’m loving all of your one-pot bulghur and quinoa dishes! They look like they’d be pretty easy to make, but also super satisfying. Now I’m craving some sort of bean quinoa dish for tonight!

  15. I’ve never had seitan–and also had to google it quick to figure out what it is! It sounds interesting though, especially since I’m starting to get sick of tofu.

    Your quinoa plate looks delish!

  16. Katharina

    Your chia-flax icing never ceases to amaze me. And the frozen berries looked like a fruit compote πŸ˜€ Which I love adding to my breakfasts and yogurt. Aren’t those Dr. Kracker flatbreads amazing? The 3-seeded one is one of my favorite. You should keep an eye out for their apple crisps–I finished my box yesterday. The fig and goat cheese spread sounds like something that would make my life complete. By the way, I love the horseback riding pictures. Recently I’ve been thinking about how I really want to ride again. More so just for fun. All my stuff is in Florida so I’ll look into it more when I go back there. I hope you have a wonderful day m’lady!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  17. I love the Tera’s Whey. I make mine with unsweetened almond milk and it’s fantastic! Blueberry is my favorite so far. I’m still sampling all the flavors. When made with the 6oz of milk and the full packet its kinda thick and has more of a dessert feeling. So I usually add more almond milk to it. I’ll have to try it with half a pack

Leave a Reply

