A Moment of Silence, Please

A moment of silence please, as we remember our fallen friend, PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter.

It was a great nut butter; in fact, I do believe one of my firsts, and quite possibly, my favorite. Today, her remains were spooned down my greedy gullet, and then the remains of her remains were too. She will now be recycled to generate another delicious container to hold more delicious Peanut Butter, and it is with great certainty when I say that we will meet again quite soon.

Ah, yes – sorry for the melodrama. But, you read it here first: and even though my cabinet is stocked with peanut butter, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t sad to finish this jar. Alas, it was put to perfect use in pear-date oats this morning, and I have more peanut butters to ease my pain now.

This morning’s base consisted of:

and the toppings were simple yet lovely – but isn’t that always the case?!

  • flax-chia icing
  • PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin PB
  • honey-roasted peanuts
  • and a chutney of the rest of the diced pear and some chopped dates simmered in almond breeze and some maple syrup – with some cinnamon and ground clove.

Enjoyed with some Green Mountain Rain Forest Nut. I’m not saying I’ve ever had a bad cup of Green Mountain; but for some reason this cup seemed exceptionally phenomenal…must have been some weird vibes in the kitchen, because the oats also cooked way faster than usual. Whaa?!

Yes, yes; I say this was a good rememberence of an old friend. I always thought the cinnamon raisin went so perfectly with pears, apples – those sorts of fruits. Just like the weather I woke up to!

My mom and I ran to Price Chopper real quick – she needed some things and I also needed a couple things for our Mother’s Day dinner. Wait ’til you see what she chose!! And I had no influence whatsoever – I told her she could pick whatever she wanted, and if she wanted meat I’d figure something out, too. I’ve never cooked veal before but I guess I’ll find out how tomorrow. (ah- just kidding. neither of us believe in veal.)

Afterwards, I had some dilemmas: make seitan or put together my portfolio for photo? Hum. How about both?

A slice of dakota bread with a bit of buttah and a mini banana (helloooo, dozen of over-ripe bananas for $1.50) with a bit of mocha PB fueled the cooking. I went for a Veganomicon recipe for seitan cutlets and just half a recipe. I’ve never had seitan before and was really excited to try! I’ve yet to try it, though…hah. I will say, however…it was fun to make :D

I picked up some goat cheese and for lunch I knew I had to put into play the sandwich I dreamed up earlier this week…

A goat cheese, balsamic marinated strawberry, spinach, and walnut panini on hot-off-the-oven rack dakota bread. It was barely cool enough to slice when we bought it this morning! Killah. This panini soared above my expectations; in fact, it was fantab. I also had some sweet potato, carrot, and broccoli fries that I popped in the oven while the seitan was finishing up.

My afternoon plans consisted of going to an auction with mi mama where we looked at horses & ponies and tack. And got a little chilly. It rained all morning and just felt so damp, not to mention the fact that one worried pony slpashed mud all over my lower legs. I haven’t spoken much of the pony hunt lately because showings are in the works, but I will say we didn’t go for the horse and pony aspect of the sale – just tack. There actually ended up being some nice horses and ponies, but not what we were looking for :)

I grabbed an apple Clif C bar for my mom and I before we left the house for when we got munchy. Fav C Bar flavah!

And for dinner, a stuffed pepper! The sale on red peppers for $.98/pound was still going on, and even though we had four still in the fridge at home, picked up three more. Actually, my mom and I thought we only had, oh, two or so in the fridge – but why not roast them and freeze them? Except – I did some research and found that I could roast them, cover them in olive oil, and refrigerate for up to two weeks. Score! I roasted three while I was making the seitan. I tried doing it over our gas stovetop, but that scared me and my mom told me it “smelled like I was smoking pot.” Direct quote. She works at the college – she said she felt like she’d just walked into a dorm room. Oh, goodie. Then it made me realize that this blog could probably find some trouble with law enforcement over how many times I’ve declared “this was a great bowl” after a delicious bowl of oats, and offered to “hook people up with a bag” when they can’t find Green Mountain coffee.

Wasn’t I talking about dinner and stuffed peppers? Oh, yeah, thought so. Anyways. I prepared a serving of bulgur with some kale, tomato, black beans, garlic, feta, salt, pepper, and basil and then mixed in a dash (and I mean a dash!) of BBQ sauce and some balsamic before I spooned into a raw red pepper before baking at 350*. I was a little concerned the BBQ sauce would be a little too out there since the flavors were otherwise italian-esque. But, it provided just the right hint of sweetness! And yes, you are correctly seeing cashews crushed on top. I love adding nuts for crunch!

This was a lot of food – I had to pass the last bit off to my mom. She quite liked it, as well – I was proud :P

So, all in all; turned out lovely! Fun fact? Stuffed peppers were a meal I dreaded as a kid. I hated peppers. And rice. Gosh, I was an awful child.

What is everyone doing for their mothers tomorrow?! And if you are one – Happy Mother’s Day!

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

20 responses to “A Moment of Silence, Please

  1. Mo

    My apologies about your PB. I finished mine this morning and remedied the situation by, uhm, getting more. Quick thinking, I know. Oh, I also got figs while I was out. I didn’t get much since apparently figs are next-to-impossible to scoop out of a bulk bin… I like ’em! Not as sweet as I was expecting, but that’s actually a good thing. :)

    I hope the seitan turned out well! I’m interested in how it tastes as chicken.

    I’m not gonna lie… I started laughing out loud quite noisily when you made the connection between pot and your quips about food. One might describe it as a chortle.

  2. Haha the pot bit made me laugh… so funny. And indeed, how does your mom know what pot smells like? ;) I kid, I kid. I can’t say much. Our family discussions (as in the ladies in my family – great aunt and cousins) always end up talking about drugs of some sort… gah, don’t ask. And in fact, we were just discussing pot brownies the other night. None of us actually SMOKE pot, though.. just in case you were wondering lol Ok enough about pot…
    So sad about the pb jar :( I had that flavor a looong time ago. Maybe it will be the next flavor I purchase and add to my ever-growing stash? Because you know, you can NEVER have too much nut butter.
    That sandwich with the strawberries… oh my gee girl… That sounds AMAZING.
    I used to dread stuffed peppers too… now I like them. But my tastes have done a 180 over the years.
    Have a great night love!

  3. Have I asked you before what the heck seitan is?? Is it a soy product, I’m kind of assuming. That stuffed pepper looks amazing, another grain I need to buy. My pantry is out of control exploding right now, so I can’t buy another thing until I clean it out. I think I’m going to fly you down to NY to take pictures for me…you are so incredible!

  4. Dee

    Gosh, your photos are super amazing. I know I’ve already said it before, but it’s totally worth saying again! WOW!

    ps. everytime i see a bowl of oats from you, I want to reach out and be able to magically pick it out of my computer screen to enjoy. Is that weird? ;)

  5. haha love the humor! made me laugh!!

    that dakota bread sounds fantastic!!! looked so good paired with the banana. yum <3

    and id kill to bite into that sandwich. bet it tasted like heaven:)

    xoxo

  6. Your stuffed pepper look delicious! As does the oatmeal but that always goes without saying. RIP cinnamon swirl. That’s the next nut butter I’m purchasing!

  7. I need to try C-bars, they always look so delicious but my bar stash is already out of control!! That panini looks to die for, I love that you put strawberries on it :) I hope you have a wonderful mother’s day girl!!

  8. I’m actually always relieved when I finish a peanut butter jar. That means I get to open a brand new one! I cannot wait to open my next one – naturally nutty chocolate butter toffee. How good does that sound!?

    My Mom is waking up at the crack of dawn to come watch me race tomorrow, and then we’re going to dinner at my aunts later in the day :)

  9. You are so funny…love the funeral service for the empty jar. :) Your pictures are gorgeous and so clear as always!!

    I hope you have a fantastic Mother’s Day. All I want is some peace and quiet but we all know that isn’t going to happen!

  10. omg, i buy LOADS of red peppers when they are on sale. one time i bought like 15 of them when they were on sale for $0.99/lb. they’re normally sooooo expensive!!!

  11. ooooh your pb jar is like a kaleidoscope! haha

  12. wow dinner looks fantastic! I have definitely mad a version of that sandwich before. Actually…ALL last summer, sometime substituting basil for spinach. It’s delicious..goat cheese is amazing! As always, obsessed with you oats! I might have to make more tomorrow… I sweat nothing else satisfies me, not matter how much I pretend! You have to do oats in a jar!!!!!

  13. I feel silly…but what is seitan? I feel like I’ve heard it before but I can’t place it :s
    That sandwich looks loveeeeely :) and :O have you found a horse!? Is that why you were just buying tack!? I feel so excited for you!

  14. Oh! I was also wondering what sort of camera do you use? My camera is old and crappy and I have a birthday coming up…:p

  15. What a beautiful, beautiful blog. Seriously. Your pics are gorgeous and your recipes are so unique and fun!! Keep it up! :D

  16. That first picture is amazing- I couldn’t figure out that it was an empty PB jar at first because it looked almost 3D. LOVE it! Also, what is dakota bread? I have never heard of it before but it looks awesome! Do you buy it? If so where?

  17. Um, I would like to order one of everything you prepared! Good grief that all looks amazing!!! I wish I could find red peppers for that cheap! I would love to have that for dinner! We are relaxing today. I made an angel food cake that I am waiting to enjoy…maybe for dinner, cause I am just that crazy! I hope you have a great day with your mom!

  18. that picture of the Pb jar almost tripped me out! ha, until I realized it was a pb jar. cool nontheless! I’ve been keeping an eye out for seitan, I want to try it. Just need to look hard enough. Everything looks delcious!

  19. Susan

    Peppers looks so good right now and I have plans to make stuffed ones this week as well! Love that you added BBQ!

    I’m keeping your peanut butter in my prayers tonight.

  20. Wow, what a neat pic of your PB jar :0)

Leave a Reply

