They’re Baaaack!

Remember that, oh…what was it…solid week in which I rediscovered some dried turkish figs that had been hiding in my fridge for quite some time? Yes – think hard…it was a while back. Well…they’re baaaaaaack!

Knowing what was hiding in my cupboards, this morning I opted for figgy plum oats – and it was the perfect way to continue on with my lovely morning after a really great night’s sleep.

The Base:

The Toppin’s

  • flax-chia-acai icing
  • pecans
  • Naturally Nutty Mocha PB
  • and a compote of the rest of the plum and a chopped dried fig, simmered in some almond milk and a drizzle of sizzurp.

And oh, yes – figs in oats were just as good if not better than what I remembered. In fact, fig oats may take the lead for favorite oats combo. I’m not sure what was leading before…but I’ll bet this time tomorrow I’ll think I have another new favorite ;) What’s your favorite? Anything new lately? Does anybody know of a company with a figgy peanut butter? Maybe I should get on that…sounds like a good idea to me, no? Am I the weirdest person you’ve ever “met”? Would you like me to stop asking questions? Yes?

Moving on, this overflowing bowl was enjoyed with some Green Mountain Rain Forest Nut coffee. And a side of fog! We got quite the storm last night.

I snagged a quinoa-bulghur muffin from the freezer and paired it with a banana for my morning snack. The muffins freeze great! Nicole mentioned doing so to preserve freshness – and I don’t know why, but I completely forgot about that until she mentioned it! I used to always freeze stuff right out of the oven since I never know how long they’ll be sitting. With the heat and humidity it had been up until yesterday, it was a good idea, too. Especially since this was a full batch – not a half one.

The weather today turned out to be absolutely, 100% perfection. Go figure – of course it would be, because I had to work, right? It’s probably a good thing – I get too tempted to just say “ehhh, class? what class?” when the weather is this nice on a “school day”. Of course, I do the same thing when it’s raining. Who wants to walk to class in the rain? Somehow, I make it through alive, though. I had a gorgeous walk down to the post office – it was crazy how much spring is in the air – literally! I smelt blossoming flowers the whole way down.

For lunch I had planned a red pepper repeat of yesterday – but upon opening the fridge the spinach and strawberries jumped out at me. And I thought “goat cheese, balsamic strawberries, spinach, and walnut panini!”

And then I thought “right, Jess. With what goat cheese?” so – there’s one I need to remember for the future. Instead, I had the next best thing. Crofters, spinach, and tempeh on delicious Dakota loaf. This bread is so amazing. I love just toasting it and spreading it with some butter, too. Tastes just like an everything bagel, I jest you not. When I fried the tempeh this morning, I sprinkled some cinnamon on it, too. Panini’d this baby at work, because, as you may well know – I feel the need to panini everything.

I also picked up some new Dr. Krackers yesterday – the 3 seed kind. Look at that baby! (p.s. print out the coupon on their site before ya go shoppin’!) The verdict? Beyond amazing. Some TJ’s Sunbutter tagged along in case it was necessary (okay – when is some sort of nut/seed butter not necessary?) and lunch was rounded out with some fresh strawberries.

Yes, I realize I had a “no buying strawberries/blueberries/blackberries until you can pick them yourself” rule since I eat them so fast – but I figure at $1.69 for a pack it doesn’t matter how fast I eat them. I am beyond excited for blueberries, though.

This pecan pie larabar jumped into my hand this morning when I was deciding on a bar for my afternoon snack. This was my first time trying this flavor. Is it wrong that I was pretty excited all afternoon until I was ready to try it?

…maybe you shouldn’t answer that. BUT! This bar certainly lived up to my hopes and dreams. Pecan Pie Larabar? Yes please! I am dying to try the cashew cookie. Hmph.

Work slowed down in the afternoon and I left a bit early – it was quite nice…even just that half hour makes a lovely difference in the night, don’t you agree? Of course – I had plans set for a quick simple dinner already, and didn’t bother changing them.

Are you getting sick of my naan pizzas yet? Sorry! But I had to use my last half (plus a little) of naan – and thought to top it with a mix of cottage cheese, tomatoes (sundried and fresh), fresh basil, roasted reds, and mushrooms as well as some baby spinach and topped with just some salt and pepper. So ridiculously easy, and so ridiculously good. Maybe not the picture of a perfectly balanced meal, but I have no regrets :P

Hopefully my repetitive meals are making anybody crazy – I feel like I’ve been lazy lately! haha. Oh well…tomorrow’s breakfast is in for a big surprise – I can hardly wait for it myself!!!


Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

22 responses to “They’re Baaaack!

  1. Sara @

    Figs in oats = DELICIOUSITY!! And I’m glad someone else sees the beauty of jam and cheese together in a sandwich. So good.

    Question: Have you ever done sweet potato in oats? I think it could be a nice sub. for pumpkin, but then again that could backfire on me. Since you eat a lot of delicious oat combos, I thought I’d ask!

  2. I love seeing all of your food especially because your pictures are always so gorgeous so do not apologize! I’m glad I reminded you of freezing muffins and such, doesn’t it make them stay so much better?? I have to try the pecan larabar, the cashew one is my favorite I think!

  3. Figgy plum oats?! That sounds insanely good. And yes I love the pecan pie larabars! Cashew cookie is good too but the coconut cream pie has my heart. Also I always think of tempeh as being a savory thing but I guess it can be anything really! I need to try it with my new superfruit spread :)

  4. I just made plum oats for breakfast this morning, too! Not to mention I recently picked up some dried figs and found out that I love them. If only I had seen this sooner! Luckily I still have one plum left. I’m thinking there might be a new combo for me to try…

    I know how you feel about the berries since I’m a berry fiend as well. Costco and the farmer’s market answer my prayers (oh, and in the summer I’m quite lucky to have a farm right by my cottage. Love.) Oh, and sunflower seed butter and laras are def my fav ways to get some healthy fats in. Have you tried the cocoa mole flavor? If not, it’s a must.

    Have a lovely day!

  5. I beg to differ…everything looks picture perfect! Your food could never look or taste boring! Fig peanut butter sounds delicious. I will have to make some, since I would never be able to afford it! YUM!

  6. I love that you use fruity spreads on savory sandwiches. I’m always too nervous to try it out!

  7. Your breakfasts always look amazing!! And I haven’t tried the Pecan Pie Larabar yet, but it looks like I should :-).

  8. great panini, sunflower seed always find the neatest stuff, I need to hunt that down, we have no trader joes hoo..I love those crackers too, great pic of the strawberries…


  9. YAY! turkish figs!!! nom nom nom <3

    have u tried the coconut cocoa larabar? i love that one! ive had pecan pie too and i know what u mean-SO YUMMY! doesnt dissapoint.

    jam with tempeh? nice!!! what a sweet combo :)

    have a great night!

  10. NAAN pizza, that sounds awesome! I’ve never thought to do that. Though I’ve never thought to eat a Naan bread either, maybe the two go hand in hand….and that lunch looks AMAZING too – tempeh and jam is suuuch a good combinationn!
    I can’t wait to see your breakfast surprise :D

  11. hey girl – thanks for mentioning the coupon for dr. krackers!
    i love a good cheap-ass shoutout.

    and about the fig peanut butter. the other day i was like HOLY GOODNESS I WANT STRAWBERRY VANILLA ALMOND BUTTER RIGHT NOW! and my brain took off.

    if you want to make nut butters with fruit in them, just plump the dried figs first in some boiling liquid then drain and pat them dry. add them towards the end of processing your peanuts and salt and they should mix fairly well. just make sure you don’t use too many or you’ll end up with larabars… not that a fig larabar would really be a crime.
    just sayin.

    and i can’t wait to see breakfast :)

  12. I always want to freeze my muffins, but they all end up disappearing before I get a chance to! I need to spend a whole day baking dozens of muffins to stock my fridge with.

    Thanks for the rice cooker oats idea! It could solve my dilemma :) Right now I’m trying overnight oats but I prefer warm ones!

  13. All of your pictures are absolutely GORGEOUS, seriously!! I checked out your about me too, and you’re very talented!!

    That panini looks incredible…I’m not too into dairy, but if there’s a combo I love, it’s a goat cheese, spinach and walnut salad. Throw some bread in there and it’s even better!!

    Hope you have a great day girl!!

  14. Mo

    I *still* need to try figs. They’ve never appealed to me but your creations have gotten me curious. :P

    And can I borrow your camera and never give it back? Your pictures are, as always, gorgeous. I especially like the 4th one down. :)

  15. Brandi

    I love how loaded your oatmeal is :) I need to add more toppings!

    The sandwich sounds amazing. I’ve never tried tempeh! But I do have goat cheese in my house :)

  16. So yeah I totally bought some dried figs a while back JUST to put into oats and I totally forgot about them… Silly me! I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow! Now if only I had a plum..
    Wow girl, that’s an AMAZING deal on strawberries!! And I thought I was doing good. Haha my dad gets them for free every once in a while with his hook ups and I get an employee discount at work and so I get a gallon for 8.95 of so. Sounds expensive buuuut I love fresh strawberries, what can I say? And blackberries and blueberries…
    I’m currently out of strawberries but when I get some, I’m making a strawberry/balsamic/spinach/cheese panini. Oh, yes.
    And yeah, I can give you the address of the boy and where he works.. and you can go kick his butt ;) Heh. I wish.
    Love you girl! Have a great day!

  17. $1.69 for a pack of fruit is a great deal! stock up sister! love the naan pizza.

  18. I love all of your photographs! Those figs in your oats look tasty!

  19. I’m DYING to try the pecan pie flavor!! I think you’ll like cashew cookie…I love it! Although I know of some (crazy) people who don’t like it, haha.

    What do figs taste like?? I have it in my mind that they taste exactly like dates…

  20. Will you be my official oat maker? Please? Your oats always look so glorious and well, DELICIOUS. Figs. Yum.
    And that panini sounds promising. Definitely different but really good!

  21. Your pics age great!!

  22. Girl you need to try the cashew cookie larabar asap! Ill even send you one, that was the first flavor i ever tried! :) I do really adore figs. A figgy peanut butter would be an awesome creation!

Leave a Reply

