Brighter

‘Ey babes!

I was torn between exhaustion and sleeplessness this morning. My mind kept waking when I normally would for work – but my body wanted more sleep. I get an extra bit of sleep on class days, but didn’t really get to utilize it. And usually don’t…but of course on class days, I never want to roll out of bed – even if I do wake up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 6:15 on a Sunday. Of course.

One of the fruits my mom picked up yesterday were pears – and it was no issue choosing what I wanted in my oats this morning. Love that! I find pears to be best when they’re really firm – when they’re really ripe, they get wayy too watery and tasteless. This pear? Ohhh, this pear was perfection.

The Base:

The Top:

  • chia-flax-acai icing
  • pecans
  • PB & Co Cinnamon Raisin PB
  • and a chutney of the rest of the diced pear and some frozen cranberries, simmered in almond milk and maple syrup.

It’s almost the last of my Cinnamon Raisin PB! That will make for a sad day – and normally you’d expect to see an OIAJ coming up. But, alas, I’m not that kinda girl. I’d rather scoop it out to the last drop like Megan! Sorry, kids – I think that’s a cardinal sin in the blog world, eh?

I enjoyed this amazing bowl with Green Mountain’s Southern Pecan. This was a great change! Haven’t had pear oats in a while 🙂 And has anybody else tried the Bob’s Grains & Nuts yet?! You must. Yep!

I was still a little…down…this morning…but was determined to make it a better day. And I did find something in my inbox [you guys and your wonderful words!!] to brighten me up a little. I still would have much prefered to doze off to sleep – but of course I had some world regions calling my name. Actually, it was more like screaming my name. In a shrill, high-pitched whine accompanied by fingernails down a chalk board, because that’s how much world regions hates me. The feeling is mutual.

Anyways – I didn’t mention it last night, but another thing that I was pumped to see upon arriving home yesterday was my Tera’s Whey order!!

I first got a sample from Kelli – see how awesome the blog world is?! If she hadn’t included a sample of it in my bloggie-swap package, I never would have given protein powder a second thought. But, I looked into the company and was quite impressed with the morals and stance behind it.

..and so I took a shake to my morning class! Okay, so it’s just almond milk and some bourbon vanilla powder, but I digress. The sampler pack I ordered came with a big thing of vanilla, a couple samples, a “recipe” booklet, and this handy shaker! I ended up just leaving it in a cooler in my car, but by the time class was over I was hangry and enjoyed it with a banana.

It was delicious. Sure, it was just almond milk and half a scoop of powder (I was too lazy to venture out, and didn’t want anything huge anyways) Has anyone else tried Tera’s Whey? I love the little info sheet I got on whey protein, too. I didn’t know it was so beneficial!

After being made to feel like I was slowly dying on the inside through that 90 minutes of class, I boogied into “town,” stopping at “the barn” on my way in for a quick visit with my favorite barn chicka. Our visit turned into a pretty good gab fest, but that’s okay. It made my day even brighter still – reminded me of how excited I am to be there every day. I eventually made it to Hannafords. And you best believe I bargain shopped like the best of them. Yes, I definitely scoured company websites for coupons last night. The lady who checked me out even did a little “woo, good for you!” comment, haha. I bailed on the co-op because it was getting late, though you better believe I stopped at P. Chop and got ten Larabars for ten dollars 😉

I had two last pieces of harvest grain bread to use, and driving home settled on a panini with roasted red pepper, spinach, butter beans, and feta.

I had some parsnip and carrot fries cooking in the oven while eating. I was too impatient and hungry to wait…and my impatience reared its head again when I was done with the sandwich and the fries were still a little undercooked but I was tired of waiting. Oh well.

I surfed the web and watched a storm brew for a bit, and decided it was time to try another kind of Tera’s Whey…dark chocolate! Don’t worry – I’m not going to go on protein overdrive now…but I made a version of April’s protein cake with just a teaspoon each of protein powder, coconut flour, and applesauce, with a dash of baking powder and an egg white.

Paired with crofters, sunbutter, and cottage cheese! The perfect snack – but I prefer vanilla, I must say. Just that kinda gal 😉

Dinner was another take on the quinoa apricot salad that I love so much…but had to make some subs. Since I didn’t go to the co-op I had no apricots, so I used raisins.

And I mixed a bit of applesauce into the dressing rather than honey. I think I prefer it with honey – but you never know ’til you try, right?! In the quinoa was some chopped red pepper, carrots, and raisins, and then mixed with a dressing of greek yogurt, lemon juice, applesauce, curry powder, paprika, salt, and pepper. Topped with some toasted pine nuts. Sounds like a crazy mix, maybe? But good! I definitely like the apricot version better, though. I am an apricot junkie, what can I say?

I also took a stab at low and slow sweet potatoes – but my mom was cooking her chicken at 350*, so rather than 40 minutes at 375 and 20 at 400 – I did 40 at 350 and 20ish at 400. They cooked fully but weren’t quite as pillowy. Luckily, sweet potatoes are good no matter how you cook them! What’s your favorite way to eat a sweet potato?!

17 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

17 responses to “Brighter

  1. Sara Sheridan

    Geeze, I’d love to follow you around for the day just to eat all of your food! It’s all so simple, but the combinations look delicious! And you use such healthy ingredients. I ooze jealousy right now.

  2. Dee

    ooh, Tera’s Whey Protein sounds VERY interesting! And bourbon vanilla? well then, you can’t go wrong with that, can ya? 😉

  3. I hope you were able to pull yourself out of blah-ness…I’ve kind of been feeling the same…but trying to pull myself out by saying summer is almost here!! That protein powder looks intense (and GOOD) I have to give that brand a try when I’m done with the amazing grass. Parsnips are a new fav of mine…I had never eaten them before last week! I have been loving the low and slow anddd nut butter fries for my sweet potatoes!

  4. I hear Tera’s Whey Protein sounds great!

    Lady! This quinoa apricot salad sounds all sorts of amazing!! Come make me dinner!!

  5. I love that you ordered it! Yay I picked out good stuff :P, wish I could tolerate the whey.. I am gonna try I different kind or protein powder. But yeah when I saw that protein powder it definitely stood out. And I forgot to mention It was my first time trying seitan tonight!! It was definitely good! And you are a sinner NOT EATING OIAJ…just the thought makes me cringe! ahah. and mmmm love raisins.

  6. I hate waking up before I have to! I makes me mad…unless I have a big cup a joe and a nice bowl of oats to enjoy! I have never tried the whey stuff since I can’t have dairy, but I like trying protein powders when I get the chance! I love baked sweet potatoes plane jane. I need to try the low and slow method. I need some pillowy potatoes!

  7. Can you elaborate on this apricot quinoa salad?! You do such a good job with the presentation of your food. And I hate that feeling of your mind being away and your body being exhausted. So frustrating!

  8. I have to say, I’m disappointed to read that you don’t do the Oats in a Jar thing, only b/c I’d love to see how you photographed it! I have such trouble getting a good OIAJ shot!

  9. i love how u prepare everything so daintily and with such beauty! its not food its art 🙂

    im captivated by the little blobs of nut butter swirled ontop of ur breakfast hehe YUM! ❤

  10. You’re so creative with your food! That dinner/lunch sounds amaze 🙂 and those little protein cake things – too cute! If I had protein powder, I’d without a doubt make them.
    I always say sweet potato fries are my favourite..then I have it baked and I change my mind, then back again…you just can’t lost with sweet potato 🙂

  11. Claire

    I snagged some of the sampler packs (Bourbon Vanilla, Chocolate, Blueberry) from Healthy Living Market before I hopped on the plane back to Paris. The French really haven’t caught on to the idea yet, so I stocked up on some basics before I left. I made my first smoothie with the blueberry packet, and my oh my, Tera’s Whey is by far the most delicious brand of protein powder I’ve ever tasted! I have a pretty sensitive stomach, but this went down well and gave me lots of energy! It actually tasted like I put blueberries in there, not a chalky powder like some can taste like. I can’t wait to get back stateside and try the other flavors. Definitely recommend Tera’s Whey to everyone.

  12. My favourite way to cook a sweet potato is hands down baked. It gets so mushy and sweet!

    I love the idea of those protein cakes. They look pretty easy to make too!

  13. A perfect pear IS indeed fabulous. I haven’t had a really GOOD pear in ages and ages..
    That class sounds like a bummer.. And reminds me of my business classes. Well, some of them. I think it’s so crazy that colleges make you take certain classes that you couldn’t care less about instead of classes that you are interested in. I mean, you are paying THEM, you know? But I digress…
    I have never heard of that protein powder before but you know, the starter kit is a REALLY great deal!! And it’s a comparable price with many other brands. I may just have to take advantage of that..
    The apricot quinoa salad sounds so good.. as for sweet potatoes, my favorite way is any way. Ha. It’s actually probably a baked sweet potato with a bit of cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter. I love sp fries and the low and slow rounds but give me a good fluffy baked sweet potato any day.

    As for your comment on my blog, I completely agree with you. I can’t imagine having a husband/kids/ or even boyfriend either. I mean, I kind of want it on one hand but I also kind of want this time to myself to figure myself out. Because how can you know what you want in someone else when you are just now figuring yourself out, you know?

    Anyways, have a fabulous day love!

  14. that protein powder sounds really good.

    oh, I LOVE OIAJ. You can send your almost empty jars to me if you want 🙂 I love that cinnamon raisin pb.

  15. yikes your oatmeal looks better than mine hahah i would of never thought to put carrots and things like that in it 🙂

  16. Another beautiful and healthy day of eats! I love looking at all of your pictures…you truly are talented, and I’m excited to watch where you go with it. I love the idea of mixing applesauce into your quinoa. I often use honey myself, but I’m going to have to give this a try. Those protein cakes also look amazing! I’m always trying to find ways to incorporate more protein into my diet since I don’t eat meat. Thank you for sharing love!

  17. stop making such beautiful food and not living in charleston, sc with me! AHHHHH

Leave a Reply

