Quinoa-Bulghur Muffins

Quinoa – Bulghur Muffins

yields: 12 muffins

Inspired by Veganomicon – The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed
  • 2 T. Sunsweet Lightbake (or 1/4 c. oil)
  • 1/4 c. pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 t. almond extract
  • 3/4 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. spelt flour
  • 1/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill Grains & Nuts Hot Cereal
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t. chai spice blend
  • 1/4 c. cracked bulghur wheat
  • 1/4 c. quinoa
  • 1/4 c. chopped dried cranberries
  • 1 ripe fresh peach, peeled and diced
  • scant 1/4 c. slivered almonds
  • poppyseeds (opt – I used them last time but completely forgot this time)

Destructions:

  1. Prepare the bulghur and quinoa as indicated. I just combined them and cooked until the liquid was gone (the ratio for each is 2:1, btw) but if you like using a lot of pans, feel free to use two separate vessels. As my girl Rebekah would say, it’s your life.
  2. Meanwhile – preheat your oven to 350*. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together your milk and flax and allow to sit for a minute. ish. Whisk in the lightbake (or oil. or applesauce.), maple syrup, and almond extract. Set aside.
  3. In another larger bowl, sift together your flours, baking powder, salt, and spices. Add the Bob’s grains & nuts. Mix together.
  4. Add your wet ingredients to the dry and mix together until just combined.
  5. Fold in the diced peach, slivered almonds, dried cranberries, and 1 1/4 c. of the bulghur & quinoa mixture. (should be most of the mix.)

Spoon into a greased/sprayed muffin tin until full to the brims and bake about 22 minutes – until some pointy object inserted into the center comes out clean. And don’t be non-environmentally friendly like I was and use muffin tin liners. I need to go grocery shopping, I have no spray and was too lazy to grease every single one. Oh and to add to the excuses my muffin pan is old and not very non-stick. At all.

You might want to smooth off the tops, too. I guess I didn’t feel like making them pretty today. Tuesday I did! (see first photo 😛 )

also a Tuesday photo

The first time I made them with all white whole wheat flour, no spelt. Do whatever makes you smile.

Also – you could probably sub a processed mix of oats & some nuts for the bob’s red mill hot cereal. That’s what it is, basically.

Annnd, if you want to get really mathematical you can figure out exactly how much dry quinoa and bulghur yields 1 1/4 cups cooked. I try to avoid mathematics at all cost, and hey. A spoonful of leftover bulghur & quinoa never hurt anybody. Go ahead and add it to the muffins if ya wanna, even.

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, recipe, Uncategorized

13 responses to “Quinoa-Bulghur Muffins

  1. Those look tasty!
    I love your laid back measurements. I’m the same way. I don’t usually measure exactly 🙂

  2. They look great! I feel like I can smell them. Or someone is baking downstairs. Either way, I really want a quinoa bulgur muffin!

  3. Yay for this recipe!! I can’t wait to try it out some time [soon I hope!]. Thanks for posting it 😀

  4. I need more quinoa & bulgar in my life STAT! Im still a little intimidated by them, but Im working threw it.

  5. this is such a good way for me to sneak in some quinoa (hate those little buggers…)
    love it love it!

  6. thanks! they look so tasty.
    i just neet to find out where i get quinoa 😀

  7. Mo

    Finally! 😛 These look awesome. I almost never make anything with peaches, ’cause I don’t mind the skin so they always end up eaten before I can do anything with them. 😉

    I saw a recipe in that Big Green Cookbook I talked about a few days ago that I thought you might like. Basically it was saying to take two pieces of multi-grain bread, slather them with almond butter, and then make a toasted sandwich out of them with very thin peach slices, kind of the way you’d make a grilled cheese sandwich. The skin probably wouldn’t be an issue in this. 🙂

  8. Dee

    ooh! thank you for the recipe! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Test-Driving « Healthy Exposures

  10. Pingback: Where’d It Go? «

  11. Pingback: Blueberry-Coconut Bulgur Muffins «

  12. Pingback: Power Muffins!

  13. Pingback: Project Food Blog: Challenge 1 « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

