Why Not Pasta?

Oh boy, I am an old lady lately – last night, I totally crashed around 8:40. I guess I’d had a busier day than I’d thought, even though I did nothing all morning! Of course, sometimes doing nothing for that long is more difficult than doing everything for just as long – for me anyway! haha. I always definitely feel more worn after a day (er…two classes worth) of class than I am after a day of work. Does anyone else find that to be true for themselves, too? Of course, one of the ponies I rode yesterday just about killed me – not in a dangerous way, in a “if I use any more leg muscle to get you to move, I’m going to be arnold schwarzenegger by the time I’m through” kind of way.

I woke up excited for my oat ritual that I so dearly missed yesterday morning. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who just loves the whole process of the morning! It’s gotten down to a science. Funny, because I hate science. I know when I need to start the oats, when I need to brew the K-Cup, when I need to start the topping, if I’m toasting anything, toast it now…oh, it’s great. And then the whole process of eating. I know it’s said to be bad to “do stuff” while you’re eating, and I used to do nothing. But now, I just enjoy sitting in my big comfy chair with my big fluffy quilt that my sister made herself, and reading blogs, e-mails, looking at horses for sale, finding interesting foodie finds, and the whole lot. I guess it’s more of a “surf and eat” rather than “surf while eating,” since I still make sure the oats get my full attention rather than eating them mindlessly.

I had pineapple on the brain since I had to open a whole can for last night’s dinner. Pina Colada oats crossed the mind, but after yesterday’s overnight carrot cake oats, I sort of felt like I needed to put love in a “real” bowl of carrot cake oats!

And that’s what I did. In the base of my tropical carrot cake oats:

And then of course, there’s the toppings. Ohhh, the toppings!!

  • chia-flax icing
  • toasted coconut & slivered almonds
  • crystallized ginger
  • Mae’s Tropical Toasted Coconut Butter (gahhh, I can’t say enough how amazing this is. I need to expand my vocabulary, but my mind is just too focused on the pure bliss that it is, that nothing else comes to mind.)
  • and a compote of grated carrot, sliced pineapple, and golden raisins simmered in almond milk with a drizzle of maple syrup and some cinnamon.

and then, you guessed it…I blog surfed and enjoyed my Sunday morning with my mom, chatting about animals and random tid-bits of life, sipping on our Timothy’s Sugar Bush Maple coffee, listening to Henry’s waspy snores from the living room.

Ahhh, such is life. Someday, I’ll learn to sleep in on a Sunday morning. Someday, I’ll go back to Pancake Sundays. I wonder if someday, I’ll look back and think I was crazy. Do you ever think about what you’ll think of yourself 20 years from now? I do. I mean, just this time last year, I’d still be sleeping, and maybe roll out of bed around 10:00. Have a slice of toast. Frantically do some homework. And then I don’t even know what. I’m happy with where I am now.

Wow, I’ve been getting sentimental lately. Sorry folks. Anywho, after eating I went on a crazy kitchen-cleaning rampage and organized just about everything, including putting open things in tupperwares for easier access to sneak a snacky hand into. I feel so accomplished after organizing, but I’m totally one of those people that gets way too involved and has way too high of hopes, and realize halfway through that I’m sick of cleaning and want to move on to bigger and better things. Like horses, on this beautiful Spring day.

Luckily, though, today didn’t quite follow that same predicament and my mom and I successfully and happily accomplished our mission. We put together a food shelf bag, too! I definitely encourage everyone to check out their cupboards – there’s probably more in there than you know 😉

What’s your “organizing method” entail? We weren’t a mess/wreck by any means, but since I have so many bulk-purchased dried fruits and nuts, it’s easy for me to get kind of lazy with re-sealing them properly, especially since they’re just little baggies with a twist-tie to close. I tend to just twist the plastic shut and call it done. With the warmer months approaching I know that’s going to get bad since bugs will be more attracted, so I put everything in resealable containers or resealable baggies. Maybe not too environmentally friendly, but I figure it’s not wasting toooo, too badly since I’ll just keep re-using them in this way, and I’ll definitely close them properly rather than the “lazy way.” I also limit the amount of oats/breakfast grain open at a time, too so that the open bag can always have a home in larger, airtight ceramic containers I have. I would like to get even more, though, so I can do the same with the flours we have. I have 6 different kinds alone! My mom, on the other hand, is normal. She has one. It’s all purpose. Where’s the fun in that? 😛

After our mission was accomplished I was ready for snack. My stomach tells me what time it is, and so I made up a protein cake with the last of my protein powder, topped with Crofter’s Europe and some cottage cheese. And cashews, that – may I say – were easy to grab from my newly organized “nuts & seeds cupboard.”

does this make anyone else laugh?

There was forecast for rain this afternoon, so my mom and I set out for a ride right about 10:45. It was beautiful out! Everyone behaved themselves quite well, and we were able to really enjoy ourselves.

Pardon the B&W. Henry accidentally had his camera in BW mode 😛

And we didn’t get back until 1:15!! Neither of us could believe it. We were both starved though, and since I didn’t feel like taking the time to cook up a bunch of veggies, made up a repeat of yesterday’s lunch. No complaints – it happened to be what I was craving, anyways! I’m feeling a tempeh and jam panini obsession coming on strong!

I mixed in a little bit of TJ’s Sunbutter that Kelli sent me this time, too. I needed some salty to go along with it! Paired with some everything pretzel crisps with some almond mozzarella melted over – this hit the spot, but wasn’t quiiiite enough.

After doing some quick schoolwork, I cut up a plum with some cottage cheese … I swear, plum + cottage cheese + cinn + tiny drizzle of irish cream agave = best combo eveer.

Well, that and pesto-cottage cheese on toast. I forgot about the pesto I made…and needed to re-do pesto cottage cheese just as soon as I kicked butt on the last of my presentation. Just as good on toast as naan, I’d say. I may need to have a pesto-cottage cheese sammie for lunch tomorrow!!

Although…the combo also made an appearance in my less-than-aesthetically-pleasing dinner.

I gutted the fridge of random veggies, and was planning something ratatouille-esque, but with the veggies I had and some other elements I added, I sort of missed the mark. No less, it was quite tasty. Is anyone sick of my italian-esque veggie-packed meals lately? If so, I apologize. I can’t say I’ll be changing it, though.

In the bowl is a serving of whole wheat penne, mixed with a combo of broccoli, carrot, eggplant, roma tomato, and a portobello that were sauteed in balsamic vinegar, olive oil and minced garlic. Once the pasta was cooked, I mixed it with some of the pesto and a good spoonful of cottage cheese before combining everything.

Mmmm – diiiiiiiivine! I’d had this planned in the back of my mind since my last ratatouille (well, not exactly – I had another ratatouille on my mind, not this) but hadn’t craved it until tonight. Hey – cottage cheese and pesto works on bread, why not pasta? I wasn’t sure if it would be completely gross, but hey, go big or go home, right?! So I went big, and it was far from failure.

I hope everyone seized their Sundays and is oh-so-excited to go back to work and school tomorrow. We’re slated for another week of rain – no me gusta, once again. Ya’ll (yes, I just said ya’ll) are supposed to keep your rain, not send it east!!

16 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Why Not Pasta?

  1. Once again with the amazing food and photos….(that compote thing? I am TOTALLY doing that tomorrow!! It sounds DIVINE!). Love the horsie pics too of course 😛
    I’m the same organising…I have some Huge Plan where I’ll get xyz done – then I get to y, and I’m bored and want to move on. Tis the way of the world!!
    And your little breakfast routine – I do exactly the same 😀 Breakfast is the best meal of the day, without fail 🙂
    (PS – PLEASE come and take pictures of my food – you are so amazing with a camera!)

  2. Love the oats…that combination looks delicious! I am going to have to get on that carrot cake mixture! I have almost devoured my jar of Crofters in an embarrassing fast speed! So glad you got to enjoy your oats in peace. It has been a great Sunday. Oh and the pasta combination…I so miss cottage cheese in my pasta. It is so tasty!

  3. I try to be pretty organized, but I could work on my kitchen. I want/need to get those big storage containers to put all my flours/sugars/every other baking item I own in them. I saw them today at Crate and Barrel for $100 but I was in the city and 1: didn’t want to spend the $$ and 2: didn’t feel like carrying it! I’ve never had cottage cheese in my pasta, but believe you when you say it’s good! btw what is almond mozzarella and where do I get me some!

  4. Love the eats. I must tell you I have an unhealthy obsession with balsamic vinegar. I need to buy a new good one, The few I have are less than par. I have been on a portobello mushroom kick lately too. I bought some huge arse ones today<3

  5. This post reminded me that I really need to organize my pantry too. It’s just such a daunting task! I’ll get around to it… someday. 😛

    That pasta looks random but delicious! Sometimes the weirdest combinations turn out to be the best ones!

  6. I love the relationship you have with your mom..too cute, I love to wake up early on sundays..it’s the best day…and sip coffee and have brunch..i hate those resealable bags they irrate me..

    sweetlife

  7. Aw…sleeping in is for silly people. Embrace your oatmeal mornings! Have a great night, girl!

  8. I ALWAYS surf and eat. The mornings are the perfect time of day to have a little peacefulness, and do the things you enjoy. I feel like the rest of my days are on super speed and filled with work and things I might not always LOVE doing. If I have my morning of peace then I feel a little more “grounded” for the day.

  9. girl, i think you posted it, but can you give me the rundown of what you put in your pesto? our basil plant is ready to use!!!
    -r

  10. Pineapple and crystallized ginger on oats sound amazing. I love surfing and eating – its part of my morning ritual and helps me wake up and clear my mind before the day begins.

  11. Nicole

    I love your morning routine! Sounds very relaxing.

    Good for your for being happy with where you’re at! It is really fun (and eye-opening) to stop and think about how things have changed. Health-wise, I am much happier with where I am at now than where I was a year ago. (I can only hope that next year I will think the same thing!)

    The horse pictures are making me happy! One of my goals for myself is to get back in the saddle. I’ve taken some steps toward setting it up, and this is just making me want to go even more!

    Love the pasta… and the panini!

  12. I can never sleep in on weekend either! I don’t mind though because I enjoy my Mom time too. She works during the week so it’s the only time we really get to chat!

    What are you talking about less-than-aesthetically-pleasing? I think that dinner looks absolutely amazing! A lot of dieters use cottage cheese in pasta instead of ricotta. I’ve always wanted to try it!

  13. Please come make some carrot cake oats for me, k? Would be FANTASTIC. I am the same way with enjoying my oats in the morning. I enjoy them more if I’m doing something like blog reading or watching tv than if I sit and eat them in silence.
    Ahhh organization. I do the same thing, I get in these moods where I want to tackle this BIG organization project and then half way through I get tired of it. But I like things to be organized, it makes me happy.
    Sounds like a perfect Sunday morning to me! A year ago, I was completely different as well. If you would’ve told me a year ago I’d be where I am now, I would’ve laughed in your face. It’s crazy how life changes.
    Your dinner sounds divine!!!
    Love ya!

  14. Mo

    “Do you ever think about what you’ll think of yourself 20 years from now?”
    I reckon I’ll think I was lame or something. I figure this because every year I look back on how I was a year ago and I go, “Eughhh.” You know, melodramatic or immature or ignorant or whatever else I like to call my past self. 😉 But I actually like it because I know next year I’ll think the same thing, and the next and the next, so I really just see myself as constantly improving as I age. I’m with you on the sleeping thing… I used to sleep ’til noon on the weekends and now I wake up at almost the exact same time, without an alarm clock, every day, unless I’m really tired and need some more sleep. And when I wake up I actually do productive things as opposed to sitting around all day doing who-knows-what.

    I usually set ambitious goals for myself regarding cleaning and organizing and then I sort of get tired and tell myself I’ll finish it later. Which never happens. (Which actually makes the organization I did pointless because I at least had some vague idea about where my stuff was before I organized it.) But my favorite thing to organize is food. I love finding containers to put my bulk items in. It’s a little bit of an obsession. I have all my flours in these flour buckets my mom bought *ages* ago when she went through a bread-baking phase, and they’re quite handy. I hate measuring flour out of the bag. http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/small-flour-bucket (I had no idea they were $10/bucket, though… we have 10 or something. Jeesh.)

    Your dinner looks beautiful! 🙂

  15. What beautiful appaloosas! I am obssessed with your photography by the way =D

Leave a Reply

