Gettin’ Figgy With It

…ahaha…sorry guys. You didn’t think I could possibly resist a title as corny as that, could you?! I mean, look who we’re talking about here. The girl who laughs at the silliest of things and, oh yeah – gets in food ruts.

Okay, so I don’t think this is going to be a food rut (but only because I have just two more figs left), this is more my rebellion against frozen fruit (while still loving dried!) and the desire for warm, hearty breakfasts as pick-me-ups from sludgy weather. And exhaustion!

All of a sudden last night, before it was even 9:00, I felt like I’d hit a brick wall. I was exhausted! Having nothing really to stay up for, I just decided to call it a night early, figuring I would feel quite rejuvenated in the morning with 9+ hours of sleep.

Not quite. For some reason, I was still zonked by the time my alarm went off at 6:00, and woke with a slight headache. Not sure what that was all about, but I was also hangry. early bed = no bedtime snack, and I was ready for breakfast. Continuing on my “I want fresh fruit in my oats, dammit,” mindset, I grabbed a beautiful gala apple from the fruit basket and thought I’d put a new (for me) twist on apple pie oats with the addition of some dried figs. GUYS!!! Figs in oats is life changing. Do it. Right meow. For me?

Le Base:

  • 3 T. Bob’s 5 Grain + Flaxseeds, 1 T. Oat bran, 1 T. Wheat bran
  • 1/2 c. coffee, 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 gala apple, chopped
  • 1 1/2 chopped dried figs
  • ground cinnamon, quick drizzle of pure maple syrup
  • 1 T. chia seeds

Made complete with:

  • flax-chia icing
  • candied pecans (using the same method as yesterday’s walnuts)
  • PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin PB
  • and 1/2 a chopped gala apple and 1/2 chopped dried figs, simmered in some almond milk and maple syrup

I also enjoyed the company of a honkin’ big hornet while simmering away on my stovertop.

….A hornet?! yeah – the big guy must have smelt the wonderful aroma of a fresh Keurig-brewed cup of Green Mountain’s Southern Pecan and, like you see Mouse doing, came out of hiding within the corners of my house. I decided to just be at peace with him rather than kill the bugger. I didn’t think killing things or getting myself killed would be the way to start my day. Imagine that.

All that being said, this wonderful breakfast certainly started my day off on the right foot, and my hint of a headache was gone before I’d even remembered I’d had one. I threw some foodskis together for lunchski, and was on my way to start mah dayyyy. And yes, the hornet helped me pack lunch, too.

I wasn’t sure what to expect at work today – I was afraid (and hoping) we’d be swamped since my boss was out again yesterday – and my expectations were correct. The people of this town came out of the woodwork and everyone wanted photos. At the same time. Such is life at the factory.

Mid-morning, I snacked on a pumpkin-raisin muffin that I’d packed along with some honey-roasted almonds that I cannot get enough of lately. These puppies are fabbb. Actually most fruits, dried fruits, and nuts I can’t get enough of lately. What’s a snack that you constantly find yourself gravitating to lately?

Lunch was thrown together quick, but I hoped it would work! I packed a slice of 7-grain bread with some of the curried-carrot spread that I made up yesterday, along with some baby spinach and sliced red pepper. Okay, so maybe the “sliced” part of that is a lie, since I just sliced off abig ole slab and lad it on the bread. It’s how I do. I also fried some tempeh, while cleaning up my brekkist mess. Yum.

Loved this – It worked really well! I love the curried carrot spread. It’s a take on a Veganomicon recipe which is why I didn’t post it – but it’s basically carrots processed with some pepitas, curry powder, and cumin – and I decided that instead of making it oil based, I’d prefer it more spread-like…so I opted to mix it with some greek yogurt and a tiiiny drizzle of honey. I love the honey to balance out the very slight sweetness in the curry powder I have. I love a mild curry powder – just enough kick, but that sweetness in the background.

I was also talked at for what felt like eons. I hate pigging out when someone’s talking to me, especially since I’m such a messy eater. It was incredibly difficult to listen to my boss’s story when I had the wonderful aromas and thoughts of curried carrots and tempeh in a sandwich right in front of me. Also – just a quick vent that I hate real panini presses. Seriously. The innerds of this sandwich were still cold even once the outsides were toasted. I had to microwave it. Not acceptable.

Anyways – Since I cannot get enough of plums lately, either, I grabbed a plum and some caramel Oikos to go along with the meal. And of course, dessert. I had to make more of those yesterday, bee tee dubbs. I just stuck with the coconut macadamia. Serious winner.

Speaking of winners…look what I received from Katie yesterday!! She’s saving me from my so-far lackluster bar-cleanout mission. I actually felt sort of bad for winning – but I cannot wait to try all these Larabar flavors to find my favorites! Especially excited for Tropical tart. Oh, who am I kidding. I’m excited for them all. Thank you so, so much, Katie!!

I would have grabbed one of these, hands-down for today’s afternoon snack – but I’d actually had a Kind Walnut & Date bar opened that I took to class with me yesterday – but ended up not needing. So, since it was already opened (and looked quite tasty!) I just rolled with that. I photographed it yesterday and apparently deleted them. Use your imaginations 🙂

I had a miserable previous experience with these Kind bars – but other readers said the Walnut & Date and some of the other flavors were quite good. I hadn’t even seen Walnut & Date initially, or I surely would have grabbed that one. So, when I did see it – I snatched it up! And it was really good. Just goes to show not to judge a bar by one flavor, I guess! Nut Delight = no go. Walnut & Date = yes, please! They’ve got great ingredients, too. Soy lecithin brings up the tail end, but I’ve found that to be quite a common occurence. Much better than soy protein right off the bat!! I don’t take back my dislike for the Nut Delight bar – but I will definitely be enjoying this walnut and date one in the future. Far in the future, though – got some cleaning out to do!

Something else I’ll be enjoying in the future, but this time more likely the not-so-distant future? Another rendition of tonight’s dinner. I am loving portobellos. They are perfect! Don’t know why I’d been blind to them previously.

I had an intense craving for marinara driving home, and had planned on using up this ‘bello, too. I thought I’d want it in burger form once again – but as the weather turned stormy I felt a “stuffed” ‘bello with marinara was more home-y and hearty – yet light!

Luckily, my mom has a pasta sauce collection rivaling that of my jam collection. Guess it runs in the fam. There was a jar of chunky Ragu in the fridge already – and it’s actually really good jarred sauce! Simple, but all natural and pretty good flavor! I’m not too picky about my marinaras, but I prefer Newman’s or Ragu if I’m in the mood for somethin other than canned diced tomatoes – which is the route I usually go.

Anyways – I sauteed a portobello in some balsamic and then added some of the Ragu, red pepper, a roma tomato, fresh basil, salt, garlic, and black beans to the pan, too. Served over some cracked bulghur wheat and topped with some shredded almond mozzarella. Gahhh – this was divine.

Annnd, that about brings me to now! They ran me hard at work today – I’m off to enjoy all of your blogs and surf for the night. The good news? I only have enough figs  left for one more morning 😉

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

20 responses to “Gettin’ Figgy With It

  1. So glad you got the Larabars!!! Enjoy!

    And figs in oatmeal sounds AMAZING! I will definitely be trying that – thanks for the idea! 🙂

  2. JELOUS of yo laras girl!!!!!!!! i love the title of this-ahahah hilarious!!!!!! love you girl!

  3. Dang that bowl of oats looks so good! Your kitty looks like it’s about to dive in! Dinner looks delicious! I am a diced tomato kinda girl too! Enjoy your evening!

  4. Sara Sheridan

    Dude, figs in oats = divine. I love how the little seeds pop when you bite into them. Figs are raisins on crack. It’s too bad they’re semi-expensive for a cheapo like me. Your food looks so delicious btw. You’ve got me craving some portobello caps over here.

  5. I’ve been really gravitating towards chocolate lately. Well, actually, I’m always gravitating towards chocolate!

  6. Okay 2 things I need to try…that carrot spread and bulgar. You got me to buy barely (which is unopened….) so now I need bulgar. and …sigh…i won’t try figs in my oats because I have a mental block at the ability to make them…but you know that 🙂 I have been going crazy over the oat bars I’ve been making. They are so addicting I’d rather eat them than dinner.

  7. Oooh are those little Larabars??
    I’m looking out for that size!
    I think your title is hilarious by the way!

  8. mtobias

    Lately I’ve been on a trail mix kick as far as snacking. TJ’s makes this great mix of candied ginger, cranberries, macadamias and almonds! Mm! So good! I also loooove those quaker oats chewy snack bars dipped in yogurt. Ok, smothered in yogurt. Have a great night, girl! Where do you work, by the way?

  9. I need to go out and get me some dried figs, methinks. I am for REAL jealous of your oats, yum!
    Annnd of your LaraBar win!! You’re a lucky girl!
    I can’t stand talking while I’m eating lunch either. When I eat, I’m in my zone. Haha that sounds so weird.. but I hate being interrupted.
    I’ve been gravitating towards smoothies lately, I just can’t get enough!!
    Your dinner sounds delicious! I love marinara sauce, on about anything. Some jarred sauces aren’t half bad!
    Have a great Thursday love!

  10. You have some great eats going on here. Curried carrot spread, yum. Figs in the oats, have not tried. After your recommendation I must! Love the photo with kitty, gorgeous. “Hangry” never heard the term, love it! Without my bedtime snack I am a disaster. xo

  11. ‘Do it right meow’ – that made me LOL!
    Do the figs swell up in cooking?
    And big :O at you, with all those Larabars! Oh, I am rather jealous…if you ever felt like donating to the BritChickRuns Charity, feel free 😛 (I kid !)
    Have a good day 🙂

    • haha, glad I could make you laugh :PThe figs swell up a little bit – nothing out of the ordinary, though. Well, out of the ordinary in that it transforms a bowl of oats into AMAZING, haha.Aww, can you not get Larabars in England?! They’re definitely my favorite – can’t go wrong with a handful of ingredients, right?

  12. haha i totally understand the feeling of being guilty about adding to your bar collection…
    OMG I MIGHT EAT THEM OUT OF ORDER!

    ocd girls unite! 🙂
    we’re crazy, but organized, right?!
    -r

  13. Mo

    This is the second time (I think) I’ve seen you mention almond mozzarella and it sounds better and better each time I ponder about how it might taste. Is there somewhere special you get it or might I be able to find it in my area if I look hard?

    Oh, and I *love* the picture of Mouse!

    • http://lisanattifoods.com/index.php?Itemid=8&option=com_zoo&view=item&category_id=1&item_id=2That's the brand I use…I was actually at the co-op with all intentions of getting really good, fresh, real mozzarella (I’m picky about my cheese! haha)- but when something as intriguing as almond mozzarella caught my eye, I HAD to try it! And it’s really good – so I keep getting it!! The only place I’ve seen it around here is in the local co-op. If you have a whole foods or TJ’s or something, I bet you could find it there, though? I know the grocery stores I’m stuck with don’t stock it though, haha. And thanks! Mouse was quite interested in my breakfast…I had to shoo him away after snapping that, haha. I was worried he’d send my oats flying off the ledge!!

  14. I’ve never even tried figs, but you’re making me really want to try them! Especially your fig and goat cheese spread that you posted about. I will devour anything that contains goat cheese! 🙂

  15. After years of shunning figs I have been getting figgy with it too…I have a couple yesterday and they are just like biting into a Fig Newton, minuts the transfats…

  16. Getting figgy with it?! THAT made me laugh… and now I need to watch some Will Smith music videos.

    Absolutely nothing wrong with going to bed early… sometimes we need it! A few weeks ago there was a solid week I was fast asleep before 9. It was kind of wonderful.

  17. I literally laughed out loud when I read the title of this post….and did a little private dance party singing that Will Smith song…yes, I am that cool. I also have to say that the Portabella looks FANTASTIC! I love all of the things you make! So good!

  18. what a great blog….I’m so glad to have found it….gorgeous healthy food….just perfect for my girls!! that way when they do indulge in something a little decadent, they don’t have to feel as bad
    Cheers
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

