Winner, Winner, Veggie Dinner

This morning started off on two feet. But Jess…doesn’t every day start off on two feet? Okay, okay…a right one and wrong one. Right? This bowl of blueberry-cherry oats. Wrong? this weather. Yep – I, unfortunately, had to pass on photographing the horseshow. A bit of a bummer – it would have been fun if the weather was. But I’m not risking my equipment. (And health! Outside, cold & wet all day = bad news)

Back to the right foot, however, was this bowl. Of oats, of course!

Topped with:

  • flax-chia icing
  • toasted slivered almonds
  • crystallized ginger
  • Crofter’s Europe spread (thanks Kelli!! This stuff is amazing!!)
  • Naturally Nutty White Chocolate Cherry Almond Butter
  • and a lil’ compote of frozen blubs and frozen sweet cherries, simmered in some almond milk with a drizzle of sizzurp, and some coconut flour thrown in to help it thicken.

Also right? This Crofter’s jam! I have so many jams in my cupboard and open in the fridge due to my obsession – but with a description of black currants, pomegranate, and morello cherries, there was no way I could wait to open this until I finish another. It went perfectly with this bowl! And don’t make fun of the coconut flour idea – I accidentally added too much milk to the frying pan and my fruit got really liquidy; I thought maybe I’d use coconut flour like cornstarch. It made it ugly (matte finish, anybody?) but hey, it worked. And tastes kinda coconutty – that’s never a bad thing.

Yeah, paired with some Green Mountain Wild Mountain Blueberry, it’s a safe bet that this may have been bowl of the week. I cannot wait for fresh blueberries, though. I was tempted to buy some yesterday – but at $2 for a tiiiiny tiny container, I just couldn’t do it. I knew they’d be gone in a matter of minutes once I got them home! Between blueberries and strawberries, I learned last summer to just wait until you can pick them yourself, and you’ll have much more money to your name 😉 Luckily – there are great places to go picking around here. Do you enjoy picking your own fruits when you can – or do you always buy in-store?

Also, I have another confession: I was up at 6:15 am this morning with no logical explanation as to why. When I scoped the weather, I wanted to will myself back to bed, but I was just ready to be up and at-’em. I am crazy. That being said – I knew I would be in danger with making more date balls than hairs on my head, and tried to busy myself with other things until the baking bug finally took over.

Enter: cleaning mission. After cleaning mission I set to work on coconut-macadamia date balls and peanut-butter banana date balls.

This is before three date-ball obsessed individuals had their way with them.

How to Drive Your Family Crazy, In Four Easy Steps:

  1. Become obsessed with banana soft serve, using the food processor.
  2. Become obsessed with date balls, using the food processor.
  3. Become even MORE obsessed with making the date balls because it’s too much fun thinking of combinations, leading to the date balls needing to be made approximately every other day. During evening news. Or in the wee hours of the morning.
  4. Smile, knowing they love them far too much to ever complain.

(okay, so I try to do it at reasonable times. But sometimes, I just gotta do what I gotta do, even if it means taking my processor into the bedroom.)

What can I say. I have a problem. I should seriously consider limiting my intake, but where’s the fun in that?! These things are better than chocolate chip cookies. Or cake. I promise you. They’re probably better for my desire to live long and prosperous than cookies would be, too. (Okay, so maybe as a student striving to be photographer, prosperous is wishful thinking.)

You know what else I should consider limiting? Carbs. But once again, where’s the fun in that?

This snack was Mo-inspired -she kindly suggested a use for pesto involving mixing it with cottage cheese and spreading on toast. Lets just stop and think about that for a minute. Have you thought? Okay, good. If you thought hard enough, you understand how this idea could become even more amazing with a whole-grain naan. I went there. And I am oh-so-glad I did, because that lead to lunch, too.

Naan with pesto-cottage cheese, topped with roma tomato slices, red pepper, and artichoke hearts.

Enter: pesto-cottage cheese naan…uh..pizza? And more inspiration! After seeing carrot  fries from my girls Jess and Katie, who would I be if I didn’t jump on that bandwagon? And in case you’re wondering, you’re definitely seeing some asparagus fries in there, too. What can I say? I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not a fan of asparagus anymore, so I’ve still got some. Why not try making fries?! And they’re quite possibly the only way I’ll enjoy asparagus. I pretty much want to make any sort of veggie into a fry now.

And am I the only one that, when starting a crazy cleaning mission – hates to finish it? I mean, I love cleaning and all…but the whole “Oh, crap, I forgot about the laundry. And I really don’t feel like making my bed right now.” is sort of a pain. So other than that nonsense and recipe-browsing, date-ball snacking, sahale snacking, and chillin’ by the fire, I’ve been relatively useless today. I guess I could say I’m a better person because I’ve stumbled upon recipes I’d forgotten about and grown rather fond of Rachel Ray once again – but I’ve no shame about that. I did clean my saddle and a bunch of random useless tack that I’m sure to not use ever since I have much nicer tack, but the sentimental memories were nice, if not a wee bit depressing.

Obviously, I only made the bed so Mouse had a place to nap.

Oh, and of course I played with the horses in between rain storms, and snacked. Because it’s what I do best. So, here’s some proof that not everything I eat is beautifully plated. In fact, “after hours” often looks a lot like this.

Last bit of cottage cheese, spoonful of greek yog, galaxy granola, trail power, dried apricots, almonds. Oh, and chia seeds. And a date ball.

Doesn’t that look delicious?! No?! Uh, okay. Guess you’re right.

What, pray tell, is “after hours”? After hours is anytime between when I sit down for dinner and the time I go to bed. What else have I been enjoying after hours that doesn’t usually see the blog? (because, it goes without saying that I still have date balls. And cottage cheese. And stuff.)

  1. So Delicious Coconut Ice Cream
  2. Kashi Heart to Heart
  3. Random bowls of oatmeal before bed
  4. copious amounts of dried fruits & nuts

And also, I just figured out how to see responses to any tweets I’ve done. So, uh…I haven’t been ignoring anybody. I’m just not the brightest crayon in the box, as the story goes.

But anyways. Back to food and stuff.

Dinner tonight was a total hit. Never would have thought my mom and Henry would love it – I had to bust out a tupperware before it all disappeared so I could save some for my lunch tomorrow! Sort of a mood killer, but hey. Girl’s gotta do, right? It’s not my fault their kielbasa was miserable. I warned them! They planned on grilling up the second Bilinski’s kielbasa – aka the “bad brand” that we had alongside the “good brand” on easter. Needless to say, I ran the other direction, but my mom said she’d still love to have some barley as a side.

I figured I’d make two servings – one for me for dinner (which, I think I took more like a third of it, not half), and the other for her, with the leftovers for my lunch. I ended up just gutting the fridge of veggies left over from last shopping trip – this included kale, a random zucchini, and the last of the asparagus. Didn’t want to overwhelm it too much with too many veggies, so I restrained from busting out most of my new ones 🙂

Regardless, as I said – Pesto Primavera Barley = major hit. Yumlicious. Whatever you want to call it. And luckily I saved some to have for lunch.

I hope everyone enjoys their night!!

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

13 responses to “Winner, Winner, Veggie Dinner

  1. YAY happy you liked it 😀 … enough is enough tomorrow I AM MAKING DATE BALLS. So excited. I made a walnut almond pesto with spinach today yummmmmmmmm.

  2. Actually, I think that yogurt concoction looks great! Have a great night!

  3. ahh girl all yoru food looks great!! date balls is something ive YET to make! i need to tho! YAY FOR CARROT FRIES 🙂

  4. Ok so just so you know, my cat looks EXACTLY like yours. No joke.
    Anyways, carrot fries are amazing aren’t they!! I am also convinced that any veggie is awesome if you only add “fries” to the name. I’m not a fan of asparagus though, I’ve had it cooked tons of ways but I just can’t seem to really enjoy it. It’s not bad just not… great you know?
    As for the blueberries, I understand!! Believe me. If my dad didn’t bring home free strawberries and I didn’t get a discount at the farm that I work at in the summer on the copious amounts of peaches I eat, I would be broke. You just have to get the hook ups Jess 😉
    And I so knew you would love the Crofter’s!!! The North America one is my favorite so far.
    The barley dish sounds SO good!!!!!!! Yum!
    Have a great night love!

  5. so glad you FINALLY got to taste the crofters!

  6. I haven’t had Crofters yet but I think I need to when I get home! Looks delicious, as does your primavera. I wish I could have you come over and cook for me. And take beautiful photos for my blog!! You are one talented girl.

  7. Oh you’re oatmeal is beautiful 🙂
    Haha, $2 for a pack of blueberries? That’s NOTHING! When they’re in season over here, they’re still at least £3 for 250g! That’s like…$5!? Crazy world.
    DATE BALLS. LOVE the sound of the,, I’m going to look up the recipe now 😀

  8. Mo

    I kind of did a little excited dance in my seat when I saw my name… because I’m a dork…

    The pesto-barley primavera looks AMAZING. Do you think a bean (maybe chickpea) could substitute the tuna? I’ve inherited my parents’ dislike for tuna, unfortunately. 🙂

  9. I’ve never picked my own berries. I’m definitely going to look some places up now!

  10. Oh, making nut butters totally drives my family crazy. For some reason, they always want to talk to me when I turn on the processor…really, can’t it wait? I also, consume a massive amount of random bowls of oatmeal at night. My latest obsession is oatmeal with peanut butter and Crofters…so good! I blew through that Europe one in two weeks…love that stuff! Have a great day!

  11. coconut macadamia date balls??? Unbelievable! I would love one or eight of them right now!! And how delicious does that naan with pesto and cottage cheese look? I am so so inspired to make delicious meals from this post! Delicious, as always, love!

  12. That barley! Those balls! I’m the same way with the food processor, and even worse with my exploding pantry! They’ve learned to love it (I hope!).

  13. I think I’m one of the few people in the blog world who still hasn’t made date balls! That’s my weekend sorted! Hehe.

Leave a Reply

