Presto, Pesto!

I figure anything that keeps making an appearance in my meals, should probably be given a place on the recipe page so you guys can figure out what on earth I keep stuffing my face with. So maybe I’m a little…uh…absent-minded…shall we say, with keeping the recipe page updated – here’s my attempt to get a move on it.

Pepita & Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto – adapted from Moosewood’s Cooking for Health

(or, if you’re like me and think Pepitas are Pepitos, feel free to call it Pepito Pesto. I won’t laugh.)

Makes a lot. As in, if you’re the only one eating it, you’ll be eating pesto-everything in attempts to finish it before it spoils.

(Okay, all joking aside – you should get about a cups worth of pesto)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. Sun Dried Tomatoes
  • 1/4 c. pepitas
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1.5 T. olive oil (this is not a lot of oil for a pesto – feel free to add more)
  • 1/2 c. fresh basil
  • 1/2 c. wilted (steamed) kale
  • 1/4 c. chopped roma tomatoes
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 T. nutritional yeast
  • black pepper, to taste

Destructions:

Sun-bathing the Sun-dried.

  1. In a small pan, cover the sun-dried tomatoes with water and simmer until softened. Should be around 5 minutes.
  2. Process everything in a food processor until you reach the desired consistency.

I went for "slightly chunky."

Enjoy on many paninis to come. Or, my new favorite – mixed with cottage cheese and spread on a toasted naan. Yum.

7 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, lunch, recipe

7 responses to “Presto, Pesto!

  1. Oh my days, that sounds DIVINE! And is something I could make cos for once, I have all the ingredients…!! You made that up yourself? Do you plan on releasing a cookbook soon?? Cos I’d like a signed copy please 😀

  2. Wow that sounds amazing! Definitely giving this one a try!

  3. That pesto looks AMAZING. So colourful. Thanks for the recipe, I’m definitely going to make it.

  4. Mo

    I’ve never had sun-dried tomato pesto. It’s very colorful! And since I’m in love with pepitas I will try to make this when I can get tomatoes that aren’t all mushy like they are right now, at least in my area. 🙂
    I’m glad you liked the cottage cheese suggestion! The naan probably takes it up a whole other level, too.

  5. I love your use of the kale 😉 lol.. I’m actually gonna make a pesto with sunflower seeds see if it works! Also there is a pesto in the low-fat moosewoods book I might try it has like no fat in it..idk if it will be good or bad

  6. mmm…pesto looks AWESOME! I love adding things like this to sandwiches because it packs so much flavor and a little bit goes a long way. LOVE the date/cherry/almond balls! I MUST get a food processor ASAP.

  7. Mo

    So, I just made it… I’m pretty sure it tastes better than plain basil pesto, which I never thought I’d say.

Leave a Reply

