You’re the Best Thing That’s Happened All Day

Hey guys & gals! I hope everyone’s started off on the right foot for their week and Monday went off without a hitch. If you started it with carrot cake barley, like I did – you’re bound to be golden for the week 😉

Cake for brekkist.

I don’t know why I let such long lengths of time pass between each bowl of carrot cake oats that I consume. I think it is, hands-down, my favorite combo. I think my mind says shredding carrots for oatmeal in the morning is just too much of a process – but for some reason, it’s actually much quicker than making my usual bowls? Not sure why – but the base this morning was loaded. I think Food Network was having effects on my brain while I slept – the Ultimate Recipe Showdown was on, and they were making cakes and desserts. Carrot cake was one of them.

What a mess. A beautiful mess.

For one loaded barley base:

  • 1 T. oat bran, 3 T. rolled barley flakes (last of the bag! sad face.), 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1/2 c. brewed coffee (+ splash more), 1/2 c. almond milk
  • trail power
  • 1/2 of a thinly sliced banana
  • 3/4s of a grated carrot
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger
  • 1 T. chia seeds

And for some super-yummy toppings:

  • honey chia-acai icing
  • slivered almonds
  • crystallized ginger
  • Dundee ginger preserves
  • chopped dates
  • the last of my Artisana coconut butter [crumbles]
  • and a mixture of grated carrot, chopped banana, and raisins sauteed in some almond milk and a splash of maple syrup


Enjoyed, again – with Timothy’s Sugar Bush Maple coffee. With a splash of almond milk and maple syrup! Can’t go wrong with carrot cake oats 🙂 I was about to bust out frying pan #3 and toast up some coconut and almonds – but I leave the three-pan parties for the weekends, I guess.

Caramel Oikos, Apple-Date Oat Bran Muffin

This caramel oikos and one of my apple-date oat bran muffins made the best morning snack. I still cannot get over how heavenly the caramel oikos yogurts are. Not only that, but – even though I [jokingly] complained about them being too small, they make the perfect snack size. Not so much protein that I wouldn’t be hungry for my delicious lunch I had planned!

Lunch, Phase One

Remember how yesterday I said I was on a roasting roll? Well – I wasn’t lying! I also roasted some more eggplant and red pepper for today’s lunch! I packed the eggplant & pepper with two slices of fresh Dakota bread, mozzarella, tomato paste, and hummus to panini press at work. Out of this world good.

I found this Dakota bread at the Price Chopper bakery on Saturday. I am in love! Probably not as good as a “real” bakery – but pretty good for around here. Usually I just see them selling italian loaf, peasant bread – etc. It’s always good bread, but I prefer hearty. So I figured at $2/loaf on sale for the Dakota – why not give it a try? It definitely impressed! I’d still rather support the Depot – but they rarely have their Dakota loaves made, for some reason.

Lunch, Phase Two and Three. Dessert is missing.

I paired this lovely ‘nini with some pretzel crisps & fig – chevre spread, an ahhhmazing plum, and rounded out the meal with a cherry-orange date ball. I also snagged the Elderberry Kombucha from yesterday, and still have some left for Wednesday. I make those four servings into four servings…gettin’ my money’s worth!!

There must have been eggplant in the air today – my boss ordered the same thing for lunch, just about! This was before he even knew what I had. The quip of the day? Him saying “I bet mine was healthier – my eggplant was fried, and in a foot-long white hoagie roll.” We laughed. Though – his eggplant was soaked in balsamic vinegar – why didn’t I think of that?!

Afternoon snackage.

I broke a couple teeth while snacking on this Nut Delight Kind Bar. No me gusta. Too hard for my liking – honestly, I’d rather just…well…grab a handful of nuts. For lack of better words. Maybe the coconut macadamia will impress me more? Let’s hope. My hunger has been like clockwork lately. 10-10:30? time for a snack. noon-12:30? time for lunch. sometime between 3 and 4? snack would be nice. And when I roll in the driveway for dinner around 6:15, I’m ready to cook. It’s kind of nice, actually, hah. Do you tend to have the same eating patterns daily, or are they always different?

Event of the Day?

While at work today, I was presented with the opportunity to work with quite possibly the most frustrating customer on this earth. Let me just say, I’m pretty laid back, and tend to get along with everyone well enough. I don’t let people get to me, either – for the most part. I feel, if they’re aggravating enough to even get close to really upsetting me – they’re not deserving of my time dwelling on how much they irritated me. That being said, there’s two types of people who really get to me: those who think they know everything, and those who think the world revolves around them. Unfortunately, these two traits tend to go hand in hand. Unfortunately, if there was one person to finally make me lose it, she walked in the doorway at work today. Yeah – both personality traits, times five thousand. Basically, I don’t know what I’m talking about, she does, and anything wrong wasn’t her doing – it was definitely me. Ugh. After dealing with her, my boss let me know the reason he exited the entranceway so quickly was because he saw her coming.

That being said, she rubbed it in even more as she was leaving, putting me through hello and back – telling me “You’re the best thing that’s happened to me all day.” Thank you, I wish I could say the same for you. What’s the best thing that’s happened to you all day?! And, are there any traits or things that make you really close to thinking you’re about to lose your mind on someone? -End of rant – back to happy times!

Difficult customer aside, I really had a great day. We were so busy. I was able to sit down to eat, but that was it. I am beat! Sitting down driving home was like a breath of fresh air, hah. I do love the days I’m running around crazy, though…but let me tell you, I was a starvin’ marvin’, and threw together a killer quinoa and apricot salad once home.

I smell a Quinoa obsession brewing.

Quinoa, red pepper, scallions, asparagus, tempeh, dried apricots, fresh basil, and toasted pine nuts tossed in a yogurt-honey-curry dressing and served on a bed of baby spinach 🙂 Hit. the. spot.  I just wanted it as my main meal rather than a side for something – so I chose to just beef it up with some tempeh for le protein. Loving quinoa!

I also have the opportunity to be featured in a magazine, and need to narrow down to one-three images. I am my own worst critic, and am cringing at the thought! So, in your opinion – do you prefer (on average) my breakfast, lunch, or dinner photographs?

I have sooo many blogs to read. I went to bed early last night, so my google reader is screaming! Have a great night 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

20 responses to “You’re the Best Thing That’s Happened All Day

  1. Congratulations on the magazine! Your breakfast pictures are always mouthwatering, so I would choose those! Have a great night!

  2. Mae

    1- CONGRATS! The magazine feature is AMAZING! I would vote either bfast or a waffle dinner shot… they make my mouth water!
    2-Dakota bread=my first love. This is what I made with the dough: http://ohhmay.com/2009/08/21/scallop-dakota-pizza/ best thing I ever ate.
    Try toasted Dakota with almond butter and fig jam. Tis amazing!
    3- I’m sorry about your frustrating customers… that’s no fun!

  3. yikes! sorry for that customer. I get that a lot too, and it boggles me whether sometimes people realize how mean and difficult they are. I work at a swimming pool and we close at 4pm. When I told this man at 4:05 we were closing, he told me I was wrong! when he realized that he was wrong, he rolled his eyes at me and walked away. haha, wth! I laugh about it.

  4. Ooh a magazine! That’s exciting! Congrats!! I would definitely say I love your breakfast shots but dinner ones are usually amazing as well … also lunch… haha!

    People are jerks! I would definitely be frustrated too! Oh well. Nothing to be done! Have a great night!

  5. How exciting!!! It’s a tough call, but I am usually through-the-roof impressed by your breakfast shots. Today is no exception! 🙂

  6. Ahhh so many things to comment on girl!
    Congrats on the magazine opportunity!! That’s INSANELY awesome! I’d say breakfast because your oat pics always make me drool practically.. But really, all of your photography is amazing. You can’t go wrong, whatever you choose.
    Difficult customers…fun times. I can’t STAND people who think they know everything.. oh wow. Drives me insane. I have my share of difficult customers at my summer job. But most of my customers are over the age of 50 (why? I have no clue) and so the biggest thing that gets on my nerves is their slowness. Ok, don’t get me wrong, I have a giant respect for the elderly and I love them. But do you know how annoying it is to have an old lady count out how much she owes you in pennies… PENNIES… while there is a huge line behind her… talk about working on your patience… I’ve had some pretty insane customers as well, i’m sure we could swap crazy stories 😉 working with the public is never boring!
    I get hungry by clock work too and I like it like that! Allows me to plan my meals nicely.
    Love you!

  7. WOW CONGRATS GIRL!! you are so wonderful!! i am so incredibly proud of you!! you are truly talented in SO MANY WAYS!
    ahh caramel oikos- i MUST GET MORE! i love freezing it for an hr before i eat it!
    beautiful tasty eats as ALWAYS

  8. WOW!!! That is amazing…you know I always love your oats pictures 😉 The nut delight is a bit hard. You HAVE to try the fruit and nut delight and the walnut and date. My two favorites, I know you will love!

  9. Jen

    Every time I check out your blog I want oats. Period. Your breakfast pictures are insane in the best way possible! ANDDDDDDDDDDDDDD Kind bars are tasty but the best ones hands down are the Almond & Cashew ones!!!

  10. Wow! Congrats on being featured in a magazine! I love all your photos, but you breakfast ones are especially mouth-watering. I love you carrot-cake oatmeal picture at the beginning of the post. Really, your photography is so gorgeous. Your pictures on your About Me page are just stunning. May I ask what kind of camera you use? You certainly have the photography skillz, that’s for sure!

    I’m sorry about the annoying customers 😦 I agree with you that people who think they know everything, especially the ones who try to “help” you but are really just showing off, are some of the most annoying out there. Grr, my blood pressure is rising just thinking about it. I hope you have a better day today!

  11. Oops! That’s supposed to say photography skillS, not with the Z. I’m not that ghetto 😉

  12. Whoa whoa whoa….rewind!! What’s this about a magazine feature?! I want deets, baby girl!

    And where on earth did you find the caramel Oikos?? I’ve been holding on to my last coupon waiting until I find it! I had the chocolate a few weeks ago, but wasn’t incredibly impressed. I have a feeling that the caramel flavor is majorly inhale-worthy, though 😛

  13. Ugh, I know what you mean about customers. I worked part-time as a cashier in high school and I had to deal with some real cranky-pants customers! Not fun!

    Congrats on the magazine! That’s so exciting. 🙂 I would have to agree with everyone that your breakfast photos are always beautiful!

  14. I feel the same way about carrot cake oats! They seem too time consuming, but really they are not. I love eating what tastes like cake for breakfast…I think I will have that tomorrow! I hate arrogant people that know everything. I don’t do conflict, so I am pretty reasonable in the way I act with them and then I vent it off like crazy afterwards!

    Congrats on the magazine…I love all of your pictures…that is way too hard to choose!

  15. Congratulations! Your photos are so gorgeous… I always lust after the oaty ones!

    I’ve never tried carrots in my oats but I’ve been meaning to for so long… SOON!

  16. you totally need to be a food photographer! thats it is what you were made yo do (or well atleast I think). Your eats are delicious as always! I need to try carrot cake oats…never had carrot cake..but like carrots. Love the dinnerrrrrr. Tonight I’m making black bean quinoa mexicany stuffed peppers..maybe topped with almond cheddar?? idk I’ll have to see…hopefully picturas. I tried making a green smoothie today epic fail, either I put too much spinach…not enough apple…or the carrots didnt belong. Next time maybe I’ll try one with vanilla protein powder to make it palatable.

  17. oh my gosh you’re gonna be in a magazine!!! that’s so awesome. i totally vote breakfast.
    and ps – guess who was your food twin and watched food networkd and was totally dreaming of carrot cake? haha
    – r

  18. That is SO amazing you are being featured in a magazine!! Is it for your photography? I say breakfast because it is always so incredible looking. People that get to me are people that have NO follow through. They come up with an idea do it and then it goes away within ummm…a day!

  19. Susan

    OOOOOh congrats on the magazine oppotunity! I love all your photos, but I especially love the dinner ones. Your recipes are unique and I often wonder before reading “what’s in there?”. Plus, the lighting always looks fab at that time of day.

  20. congrats…congrats…breakfast for sure

    sweetlife

Leave a Reply

