Foodin’ It

I actually almost titled this post “Foodler,” and then was instantly reminded of my Boston days, where good ol’ Foodler saved the night many a time. Oh, how I love the city. Buffalo chicken wrap? Sure, we’ll deliver! Waffle fries with cheese? Okay! A bagel and cream cheese? It’ll be at your door in ten minutes! Anyone living in Boston – I’m jealous of you. If I lived there now, I’d be browsing Foodler non-stop to get the newest veggie and hummus platter the second it was posted online. I guess it’s a good thing I don’t live there, eh? Here in los mountainos verdes the most I can get delivered is a bad pizza. Oh, the trials and tribulations I face. (Confession: Everytime I was in Boston I made sure to go to this ridiculous waffle fry place. We’d all go in and share two different kinds – both loaded with cheese, of course – but two different seasonings, too. If we were feeling adventurous maybe it’d be three.) What’s your foodie confession? I can’t help but think of waffle fries when I think of Boston, haha. I wonder what I’d think of those fries now! I’d probably ask for sweet potato waffle fries with curry powder and get thrown out of the joint. That being said, I also think of bagels. I’d probably still enjoy the bagels :) Yesterday’s reminder of how much I love plums was still with me this morning, so I did it up. Plums are so, so perfect in oats, in case you haven’t tried yet. Just as long as you’ve got a really ripe one! And this baby certainly was. Except, remember when I kept getting plums that were this vibrant? I don’t think I’ve had any that magenta ever since. So – while less than gorgeous, this bowl was seriously killer. Because I’m vein and love good food and am not afraid to say it. (the vein part was my making fun of myself- the food part was not. I’m really not a vein person, but why am I when it comes to food?!) Le Base:

  • 1 T. oat bran, 3 T. Rolled Barley Flakes, 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1/2 c. brewed coffee, 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 3/4s diced ripe plum
  • trail power
  • 1/2 T. chia seeds

Le Toppings:

  • pomegranate-blueberry flax oil chia-acai icing (I had a bit left over from yesterday)
  • toasted coconut
  • toasted slivered almonds
  • crystallized ginger (I had to bring it back…two days without was far too many.)
  • Artisana Coconut Butter
  • and a compote of the rest of the diced plum and some dried sweet cherries in almond milk with a splash of agave.

Enjoyed with some Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Rain Forest Nut, if my memory serves me correctly. And yes, that is coconut butter, not peanut butter. Remember how I burnt my coconut butter? Still tastes fine, and I’m almost done with the jar anyway. Rut roh – Artisana order coming up? Spells d-a-n-g-e-r for my wallet. Why did I forget how much I love toasted coconut and almonds as toppings?! Probably because using three burners on the stove for breakfast is a little bit of overkill. It’s Saturday – that’s my idea of a party, I guess.

Guys, don’t laugh – but, I went to the grocery store again today. But wait! Before you think I have a serious problem, I do have a reasonable explanation. It was all my mom! I had no intentions or needs to go, but she did, and asked me if I wanted to come along for anything. Since I could use a couple things since I planned to bake all day, I figured, why not? That, and – the nice folks at Stonyfield Farms asked me a little bit ago if I wanted some coupons for Oikos Greek Yogurt. Um, who says no to free greek yogurt? Definitely not me. Since they arrived last night and I kind of needed more – why not use them?! Thanks, Stonyfield! They enclosed the nicest handwritten, personal letter. Not to mention they have yummy yogurt :P

And – happy cows! Quoting Kristina’s e-mail to me: “Oikos is organic, which means it’s made without artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners, and it’s made from organic milk produced without the use of toxic persistent pesticides, chemical fertilizers, antibiotics, or artificial growth hormones (rBST). Through our purchases of organic ingredients, annually we support over 130,000 acres of organic land. In the past 11 years through our (and you, the customer’s purchases) we have prevented the use of over 1 million treatments of animal synthetic drug treatments. The cows thank you!”

The rest of the morning was spent baking and cooking up a storm! Let’s review:

Upside-Down Banana Cream Pie

My mom’s request was a cheesecake-type dessert, and I asked if she would prefer the cheesecake she was eyeballing from my Moosewoods book, or this Upside-Down Banana Cream Pie from the latest Clean Eating issue (one of the only recipes that caught my eye, unfortunately.) I may or may not have influenced her decision since she knows I dislike cheesecake, but the banana cream pie won.

Aaand, anyone else know that antioxidant levels increase as fruit ripens?! I didn’t! Too cool, though – I prefer really ripe fruit!!

Snack of Champions.

Confession? Pretty much anytime I’m in the kitchen, I grab at least one dried apricot. Dates would be the same problem if the bag was as easy to open as the apricot bag.

Not so cute.

Once the Banana Cream Pie was almost completed and just setting up in the fridge, I set to work on homemade Larabars. I couldn’t decide on a flavor, and finally settled on giving cinnamon-raisin a go. I just made a small batch. They worked well, but I have ideas for making them even better, and may play more tomorrow. Until a recipe is set in stone, here’s a sneak peak:

I used the Moosewoods truffle recipe just so I would have a starting point for the dried fruit to nut ratio…otherwise it was hardly similar, haha.

I polished off the last of my strawberries before setting to work making a half-batch of the same tempeh-quinoa burgers as Thursday night. Luckily for my mom, it was nearly perfect timing! They were coming out of the oven as she was getting hungry for lunch – when I asked if she wanted one, she was more than glad to take one off my hands. I didn’t bake them with the intent for lunch or dinner anytime soon – moreso to freeze and have on hand – but it just worked out that way!

While the burgers were baking, however, I made up a new version of apple-date oat bran breakfast muffins. There were only three (!!) apple-date muffins left, and I enjoyed having it for a work snack yesterday, so I figured – why not make another half-batch?!

pre-baking

I used bananas this time, rather than apples. I also added some flaxseeds, and used maple syrup rather than molasses. And while thoooseee puppies were baking, I realized I was starving for lunch. I think I forget to eat while I’m baking because I’m dealing with so much food that I don’t realize I’m not actually eating. I doubt that makes sense, but oh well?

I ended up needing to eat and finish up in the kitchen in a hurry, because my mom asked if I wanted to go to a horse auction with her. It ended up getting sunny and warm – so of course I said “Why not?!”! Of course, then I found out we were leaving at 1:00 – it was 12:30, I had a mess in the kitchen, muffins in the oven, and hadn’t eaten! Yikes. Luckily – the decision for lunch was the easy part. Obviously, I wanted toast with fig & chevre spread!

I also threw together a quick salad with tomatoes, feta, and hummus dressing and cleaned up the kitchen while I toasted my bread in the oven. My mom accidentally bought escarole lettuce, and didn’t like it. I don’t think I do, either. The bread & spread certainly didn’t disappoint, however! A little more time to savor the taste would have been appreciated, though…

I grabbed a muffin hot from the oven, and we were on our way! I liked the revisions I made – but, for some reason, the oat bran I purchased most recently is kind of…well…more grainy than usual? As in – crunchy? It was a little too noticeable (I thought this about the apple ones, too). I’m not sure if it’s a bad box I got, or if Hodgson Mill is changing their oat-bran technique or what-have-you. Usually, I love the texture oat bran gives to baked goods, but it was much different these past two times. (I’ve also noticed this texture difference in my morning oats.)

We had a lot of fun at the auction! There were…uh…quite a few characters there, to say the least. I think half the entertainment of going to these types of auctions is to people watch, the other half is for the horse watching. And there was definitely one guy that tugged on both our heartstrings! By guy, I definitely mean gelding of the four-legged variety. He was thisclose to coming home with us…but there’s just too much grey area when it comes to buying horses from an auction. As in – too much uncertainty as to their background, health, temperment, etc.

We were there pretty much all afternoon, and I was, once again, more than ready for a meal when I got home.

Naturally, I got right to work in the kitchen for what – the fifth time today? What can I say – I really do love it! I was on my own for dinner – my mom and Henry were just going to grab dinner out on their way to their weekly Saturday-night auction.

Enter: eggplant rattatouille. I don’t know how to spell that, and the closest spell-check gets me is rattlesnake, so hopefully you’re still pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down.

While preparing one serving of whole-wheat penne, I sauteed

  • peeled, cubed eggplant (1/4 of it, approx.)
  • cubed zucchini (1/4 of it, approx)
  • minced garlic clove (one large)
  • a few sprigs of broccoli raab
  • one whole chopped tomato
  • chopped red pepper (unfortunately, not much!)
  • two sprigs of chopped scallions
  • two biiig leaves of minced fresh basil

in some olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Once the penne was al dente, I tossed it with the veggies, and melted in a little bit of fresh goat cheese.

manja!

mmm – sooo good and veggie-rific!

While at the auction I started getting this insane craving for cottage cheese, and still want some, but am perfectly satisfied, so I don’t know how soon that craving will be met, hah. I’m also itching to try some of the nanner cream pie! But, I only left room for a tiny little sample of homemade Larabar…nanner cream pie might get a chance in a little bit, when the rentals are home :)

On the plate for tomorrow? Wellllll, I never got around to baking more oatmeal cookies (all gone!! My mom asked if I’d bake some more so Henry would eat those rather than the store-bought, high-sugar kind.) and I might play with more date bars, too. I think I bake half-recipes of stuff just so I have excuses to bake more a couple days later! haha. But, in addition to that, my mom and I are itchin’ to go for a ride. Hopefully the weather holds out!

But what about you guys? And exciting Sunday plans?!

p.s. Holy shopping spree giveaway!! Katie is currently having an i-herb shopping spree giveaway…I know you guys love a natural-foods spending spree as much as I do – and while you’re at it – don’t forget about my giveaway for Gnu bars!!

p.p.s. should i admit i just signed up for a twitter acct? HLTHYexposures is my name. I don’t really know what I’m doing.

12 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Foodin’ It

  1. Wow, Lady! You DID bake up a storm!
    If you wanted to make a cheesecake (just for fun of course), I’d be happy to take it off your hands since you’re not a fan :)
    Also, reading this made me want dates… I ate some that are designated for the apple-date oat muffins! Oops!

  2. Good grief everything looks so good! I have been eating and starving all day. I have no idea what has gotten ahold of me. We cleaned and reorganized the kitchen today. I guess going all day really worked up an appetite! I do the same thing when I bake all day…I forget to eat.

    We are going hiking tomorrow and having a picnic with the boys for the last day of Spring Break! It should be a great day! We all need it! I hope you have a great Sunday too!

  3. *Andrea*

    my roomies and i ordered from foodler yesterday haha!

    sunday i have a intramural kickball game lol. and hopefully some baking ;) oatmeal cookies sounds great!!

  4. Mmm, hot muffins *droool* You really baked and cooked up a storm in the kitchen! I love days like that, where you can just cook and bake to your heart’s content :)

    My foodie confession? I used to eat really BAD doughnuts from the college dining hall my first few years because they were there! At least I know better now :P

  5. HEY GIRL!
    thanks so much 4 your honest comment! WOW WE NEED TO BE ROOMIES SO I CAN EAT ALL YO FOOD! oh my-those muffins sound amazing!

  6. Hey girl! Just discovered your blog and I really love it! Your food looks amazing and all your pics look so professional!

  7. Oh and almost forgot… do you have the recipe for your apple-date oat bran breakfast muffins posted anywhere? I LOVE figs and would really love to try this recipe! Thanks!

  8. beautiful photos! loving your blog

  9. Susan

    Girl! I am LOVING what you’ve been cooking up recently. Pollock-y tempeh sandwiches, date muffins, eggplant pasta, tempeh quinoa burgers?!!? I drool and drool again.

    Thank you SO much for your sweet comment on my blog. It made my day so much brighter!

    I hope you and your mama get to go for a ride – that sounds so fun!

  10. That’s an awesome idea to make your own Larabars! I really want to try to make my own because I’m allergic to all of them. :(

    My foodie confession? I’m obsessed with grocery stores! I cannot just go in one to “pick up a few things”. I end up spending hours going up and down every aisle! Hehe.

  11. Hey girlie!!
    I searched for your twitter name but it didn’t come up with any results. I have a twitter follow me button thingamajig on my blog if you want to follow me so I can follow you! (Ok that sounds kinda creeperish but you know what I mean). I will warn you, twitter is addictive. I didn’t like it at first but now i’m hooked beyond reason.
    Call me crazy but the waffle fries sound amazing!!! Fries are something that I love and I refuse to give up. So normally i’ll make healthier versions at home but every once in a while, it’s nice to treat myself. And waffle fries are the BEST ones!
    A day in the kitchen baking sounds absolutely perfect to me!! Sometimes when I’m cooking or baking all day I forget to eat too.. except for the nibbles and tastes of what I’m making. Quality control right?
    Your pasta dinner sounds delicious!!! You are so creative, I’m so jealous.
    Love ya!!

  12. I’ve never heard of foodler but it sounds amazing! I used to use campusfoods.com all the time in college. Sort of the same thing I’m guessing? Anyways, there are so many times I ordered bbq wings when I was living in Pittsburgh. I don’t eat meat anymore and the only thing I’ve ever craved since I stopped was those wings!

Leave a Reply

