Reunited

Hey punkins! Hope everyone’s day has been bangin’ and didn’t have too much trouble getting back to the bump-n-grind of work, if you’re like me!

Naturally, mine wasn’t so bad since that also meant I was to be reunited with my lover.

...and by lover, I mean oats.

I was so ready for mango-raspberry-coconut oats this morning. One day without is far too many for this chicka! I’m a little ridiculous, I guess you could say.

The base this morning? Oh, well, since you asked…

Le toppings

  • chia-acai icing
  • slivered almonds
  • crystallized ginger
  • Dundee ginger jam
  • Artisana coconut butter
  • and a compote of ~1/4 of a diced ripe mango, a couple frozen red raspberries and shredded coconut, in almond milk and agave.

I've done this before. I'll do this again, too.

…because mango is just that good. I’ve started mixing the flax in with the base the past two times – Saturday, I couldn’t tell much of a difference – but today it was almost glutinous. Which, makes sense – it is used as an egg replacer, after all. This is what I thought would happen, and why I would usually just sprinkle it on top. It wasn’t too weird – but I think tomorrow I’ll use more liquid.

Although, really – I’m not sure if there’s much point to using flax when I use so much Chia Seeds? Do you use both flax and chia, or has one or the other sort of “eased out” of your food as the other has eased in? I am interested to hear thoughts!

morning snackage.

I had the weirdest sleep last night. I went to bed sort of early – and woke up ready to be basted around midnight. I know, no one wants to know that. It was gross. And yes, I also use the phrase “ready to be basted,” whenever I am remotely warm. Regardless – I still felt pretty rejuvenated when I woke up until I saw the weather forecast: rain all week. Yuck. That’s not supposed to happen. All random-ness aside, my morning snack consisted of a lovely banana and an equally as lovely mixed bag of dried organic apricots, Sahala Snacks valdosta pecans, and sea salt almonds.

That's not a sweet potato. And kale. And mango. That's HEAVEN.

Gahhh – see? I wasn’t lying last night when I said that loaded twice baked sweet tater was so good I made another right after I finished eating my dinner. Unfortunately – I ran out of almond mozzarella, so instead used a little bit of feta. It’s a pretty mellow feta, so it still worked – but I did miss the cheesiness of the one I had for dinner! Otherwise – exactly the same. Minus the fact that this sweet potato was gigantic so I just took half. And was full.

Funny side note? When I took off the lid of the kale and apple sautee I thought to myself “huh, that’s funny – I don’t remember putting ham in that.” I thought the apples on top were ham! They look it in the photo, too. Shnoopsies.

GINGAHHH!

I also grabbed my almost forgotten about second Kombucha I bought a little while back. So excited to try this flavah-flav!

Totally tasted the love. Or maybe that's fermentation...

Gahhh – this Gingerade GTs Kombucha was fan-freaking-tastic. I am not kidding you. It definitely exploded a little bit in my bag (Nicole – I may or may not have spilled a little on your box!) but thankfully, it was just a small amount and I still got to enjoy its’ gingery deliciousness. I was a little concerned it would be too much ginger (hello, 100% pure ginger juice, goodbye any form of sweetener) but that was not the case! If you like ginger ale, definitely give this kombucha a try. It’s like ginger ale…except way, way better.  If only it wasn’t nearly $4/bottle 😦 I just drank half – the other half is waiting for me for Wednesday!

Another victim of the Kombucha leak?

Long-awaited.

Everytime I’ve seen these Luna Protein Bars reviewed – they seem to be either loved or hated. I’ve had this one sitting around for a couple weeks – and finally decided to put it to the test myself!

Peep the goods.

After scoping out the ingredients after picking it as my choice for the day – was not impressed that soy protein was first in the ingredients list. I’m still not super paranoid about non-fermented soy in my diet, but I’m also going to avoid it where possible, at least in large quantities. I’ve noticed it’s far more prevalent than I ever would have thought!

But anyways – the bar. Not too impressed. Too candy-like for me, and honestly – my jaw got tired of chewing it. It didn’t taste so bad, especially if you like cookie-type bars – but it’s just not for me. I would love to try the other flavors, but then there’s the issue of the soy protein and chewy texture. So, I think I’ll be passing. Sorry, charlie.

Luckily, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth in the morning (says the girl with fruit oats every day) so resisted any taste-test prior to 3:30 in the afternoon! I just wanted a shot of the bar itself – I was looking for some action shots before I finally made the purchase and couldn’t find any. So, if you’re like I was – here ya’ go. This meant that it was tossed in my bag partially wrapped and some Kombucha leaked onto it. hah.

Waffleesss!!

Simple dinner: but I was soooo craving ham, eggs, and waffles! So – I of course made what I craved and got to test-drive my Bob’s Red Mill cookbook too! Well, sort of. That whole “gahhhh I can’t follow recipes” issue sort of reared its head. Sort of.

I realize this dinner is not aesthetically pleasing. Unfortunately for you, I like burnt broccoli and eggs. And Buckwheat waffles. Which – though delicious – are funkay lookin’.

Chheesyy!

My cheeseless self put nooch to the ultimate test. I wanted cheesy ham, broc and eggs – and only had nutritional yeast! I burnt the broc first with some balsamic and then sprinkled some nooch over while whisking one egg + one egg white, almond milk, maple dijon mustard, s&p, and nooch. Poured in, scrambled, and was quite surprised at the cheesy like goodness that resulted!! Coulda fooled me. Oh yeah, and I added some ham, but you knew that.

And le waffle?

Buckwheat goodness: buckwheat flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, molasses, flax egg, milk, and a drizzle of olive oil.

The molasses = perffff. The Buckwheat = perfff.

I just love experimenting with different flowers, and their different tastes!

Le dessert.

The rest of the mango, some Brown Cow greek yog, and an oat chewie. With a lovely drizzle of honey, of course. And now I have blogs to read! And a day off tomorrow 🙂 Thinking I’ll go to Hannafords and the co-op, though. I’ve got a list made up after browsing my cookbooks! Rut-roh, rorge…

Do you use any random, strange, or unique phrases? Ready to be basted, pickin’ up what you’re puttin’ down, I don’t even know what else!

What is your favorite kind of flour to play with?

12 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

12 responses to “Reunited

  1. You’re blog looks beautiful! Beautiful mouth watering images. Looking forward to trying out some of your recipes.

  2. 1. I still use flax AND chia seeds! The more nutrition the better 😀
    2. I’ve got to agree with the Luna Protein bars…especially the insane amounts of soy :/ I feel that way about regular Luna Bars too, even though I find them to be much more tasty (White Chocolate Macadamia, anyone?)
    3. I’m pretty much the QUEEN of using weird phrases….not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing, haha. My favorite is “not to toot my own horn,” which I seem to use a lot. Wait…does that mean I’m being conceited? hahaha *self reflects* 😛

  3. haha that’s okay you spilled 🙂 I used both flax and chia seeds but don’t usually use them both at once. I don’t eat too many luna bars anymore, but I did have that luna protein bar on the plane home the other night for my dinner/snackish because I was so hungry and I didn’t think it was too bad. It did the trick. I just bought millet flour today, so I have to figure out what to do with it now!

  4. I hate when bars are too chewy! I sort of feel that way about the Kashi PB TLC bar. My jaw hurts when I’m done. Not fun!
    I have no idea what “being basted” means…

  5. I’ve been curious about those bars too but I’m not a fan of regular Luna bars so I’ve resisted thus far. I’m not sure I’d like them either based on your review..
    And yes, 1 day without oats is 1 day TOO long. Haha.
    I actually can’t think of any strange phrases that I use.. but I KNOW they are there. I just have serious issues with my memory..
    That flavor of Kombucha sounds awesome! And reminded me that I have a bottle of that (different flava) in my fridge, yay! Don’t you love it when you forget something and then you remember or discover it and it’s exciting all over again?! Or is that just me?
    And girl, your dinner sounds the BOMB!!!! YUM! I’m totally stealing the nooch and scrambled eggs idea, yummy!
    I used to use flax in my oats everyday but chia seeds have now replaced the flax… maybe I should try both?!
    Have a FABULOUS day off!
    Love ya!

  6. AMAZINGLY delish eats as always, lovely!!! mmmmm that waffle!! SOO good! and the eggie scramble! yum yum yum to the MAX. love mango in YOGURT too!

  7. ugh!! I missed out on oats this morning and have been thinking about them ALL day. I’m not even kidding, Breakfast Of Champions! Those look amazing, and I’m such a sucker for mango. I’m not a fan of protein bars like that either, although I did go through a point when I ate the cookie dough balance bars pre-race day. ew. I actually just read some stuff about soy protien v/ whey and was surprised things I learned about the soy. Cant wait to see your co-op finds! I have yet to get my hads on nooch!

  8. you went one day w/out oats….omg !! hello lovely lady I missed your pics…I bought a waffle maker since I am always craving your waffle pics…haha

    on to read your others…

    sweetlife
    “basted” haha

  9. hey girl – i’ve been a lurker for months, and your question about alternate flours sparked me into action 🙂

    i’ve been baking for my celiac sister for a few years, and one discovery that rocked us is Teff Flour – so good and a SUPERPOWER! check it out http://www.bobsredmill.com/teff-flour.html 🙂
    – rebekah

  10. what a colorful breakfast! 🙂

    and I LOVE that mug.

  11. I’ve been going to sleep early, too… it’s so nice to wake up and not feel angry that I can’t sleep longer!

    I love that you had waffles for dinner. Mighty yummy!

  12. Mango in your oats?! Yum! I usually do banana or berries, but I may try mango tomorrow. I just read recently that the smell and taste of mango elicit calm feelings. How can you go wrong with that? 🙂

Leave a Reply

