Blue All Around

Hey lurvesss, hope everyone’s enjoying their holiday weekend with friends and family.

And, food!

Blueberry Oats

Is it sad that I’ve been waiting quite a while to have some sort of oats that wouldn’t clash with a blue bowl? I’m not joking. I knew eventually, however, my love and craving for blueberry oats would come back and everyone would be right at home with blue all around. This big ol’ bowl was a supah stunnah today!

This morning’s base consisted of a few changes, mainly due to a new operation I put into action starting today. I’ll get to that!

  • oat bran, Bob’s 5 grain, wheat bran
  • 1/2 brewed coffee, 1/2 So Delicious Coconut Milk
  • 1 t. milled flax seed
  • vanilla extract, agave
  • frozen blueberries
  • 1 T. Chia Seeds
  • and a big spoonful of cottage cheese, stirred in towards the end, until the curds disappeared.

The toppings:

  • chia-acai icing
  • Dundee ginger jam
  • slivered almonds
  • shredded coconut
  • Yogi Blueberry Flax Granola Crisps
  • Artisana Coconut Butter (uhh, toasted coconut butter, I should say.)
  • and a compote of frozen blueberries, some frozen sweet cherries and shredded coconut in coconut milk and a bit of agave.

All together now: "mmmm!"

Seriously good bowl right thurr. I hate tooting my own horn and think I come off as doing it way too much on this blog, but I don’t think it’s any surprise that I just love a good bowl of oats. And the coconut butter? It actually tastes fine (not going to lie – tastes like toasted coconut. I kinda like it. And I’m not just covering up my whoopsie, either, hah) but it lost all its’ drizzle-ability!

Sad face.

Even bloobs for cawfey!

Green Mountain Wild Mountain Blueberry Vanilla latte! Blueberry is the only K-Cup I have a large amount of. If I was really slick, I would have brewed some for the oats! It’s just way easier to steal some of my mom’s coffee from her coffee pot. Henry doesn’t like good coffee so she still brews some the old fashioned way every morning. Okay – not hating on traditional coffee pots. But I do love my Keurig!

As mentioned, I had to work today, so I went about my morning same as most. It was already so gorgeous out by the time I left. Love! As weird as this may sound, it feels so good to simply be able to drive a car without a whole bunch of bulk. As in – huge hoodies and winter jackets. And looking out my window without looking through glass. Yes, please!

I almost enjoyed having to work today – it gave me a chance to drive by the lake on this beautiful morning. I just love how the sun shines over the tree tops, and with all the gross weather we’ve been having, it’s been a while since I’ve seen it.

Ahhh, if only we had a house on the lake πŸ˜‰

Other reason I didn’t mind working, even though it was truly gorg out? Everyone’s in a good mood when the weather’s this nice, so it makes for a fun environment.

Snackage.

So, about this operation I put into action?

Well, remember how I mentioned this morning was a “big ol’ bowl“? I meant it! Introducing Operation: Eat More Food!

Snackage, cont'd.

I’ve run into two people I hadn’t seen in quite a while, and both asked if I had lost a little bit of weight.Β They weren’t saying it negatively necessarily, but I didn’t really like hearing that. (I’m kind of gawky to begin with.) I hadn’t noticed anything myself and nor has my mom, but I’ve been thinking about it, and realized I often times opt for foods that aren’t so calorically dense simply because that’s what I prefer taste-wise – and could stand to up my portions. In addition, i’ve never been a “big” eater. As in, I’ve never really necessarily eaten what I would consider “a lot” of food – I simply eat when I feel hungry (or want an extra piece of biscotti!) and what I want.Β Since I’ve been a lot more active recently, I think I could stand to up my calorie intake. I think I’ve been pretty good with my micros & macros – so I’m not too worried about the comments health-wise, nor have I noticed any change in weight,mood, or energy personally. But, I’m going to only be getting more active with this weather, and hopefully start riding soon – and so eat more I’ll do!

Sooo – I will be making sure I sit down and eat snacks, rather than grazing through them whenever, resulting in sometimes not getting to them. I think this is a healthier habit to have, anyways. I developed the grazing habit from working so much – I didn’t like being seen as “slacking on the job,” but really – no one cares!

Tempeh, Hempspread, Jam Pita

So, there’s my quick little spiel for today! I’m not trying to gain weight, necessarily – and am looking at it as more of just getting myself into healthier habits. I still won’t be calorie counting and this blog isn’t going to change a bit. But, just wanted to let you guys know!

Spinach Salad, Snyder's Butter Snaps, Hummus

Sooo, after my power packed breakfast, I packed a lovely lunch of tempeh, Rumi’s, and plum jam on a Joseph’s flax & oat bran pita. It wasn’t my best effort – that Sarabeth’s Blueberry Cherry Jam was just so amazing with it – but it was still quite tasty toasted. And enjoyed with a lovely spinach salad with feta, red pepper, red onion, hardboiled egg, and humnut dressing. Β And Snyder’s pretzels!

I got “released” early today (and Saturdays in general) so was able to clean the office and hit up the grocery store for a couple quick essentials (helllooo again, Silk PureAlmond!) before getting home. Unfortunately, I missed our Easter dinner since my sister is leaving tomorrow afternoon (typically, we would have had ham tomorrow night) and they wanted to go to their Saturday night auction. No biggie – our thing is more Easter brunch, anyway. While I’m not a huge ham fan, I do enjoy a good ham every so often, and so I was thinking about a grilled ham, apple, and mozzarella panini all the way home! I was also dreaming of sauteed kale with apples in a sweet potato, but my mom nuked some frozen broc and I figured rather than add to the leftovers in the fridge, I’d just finish it up.

No me gusta frozen brocs

Panini? holy yum. Sweet potato? never fails. Frozen brocs? huge fail. I thought broccoli was broccoli. It was…kind of gross, actually.

Even my attempt at burnt broc couldn’t salvage it, by sauteeing with some chopped apple, balsamic, and maine maple dijon mustard. I picked out the apples and sacrificed the rest.

But the panini?

Ohhh, the ‘nini was divine. I feel like sometimes, food you’re not necessarily a fan of is just necessary. I mean, it’s tradition! Ham on Easter. And, I will admit – paired with almond mozzarella, sliced apple, some spinach, and maple dijon mustard, the ham was really splendid. Yum!

nanner softserve, biscotti, coconut butter, 'nola.

mmmm, nanner softserve! Even more amazing with some coconut butter. Er – toasted coconut butter, if you will.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Easter and each of you get to spend some quality time with those who mean the most to you. Appreciate and cherish every second of it!

And a random question: Does anybody have any tried-and-true bread recipes? I’m looking for a truly stellar whole wheat, multigrain, something yummy & healthy – bread recipe. I looked at the grocery store for some good bread (after getting a taste of that delish bread from my lunch out the other day!) but their wheat bread looked like a serious joke. The multigrain looked okay – but I’d rather make it myself, anyway!

I’m sure I’ll do some recipe googling – but I’d love to hear your guys’ opinions. Because I trust your opinions, and I don’t mess around with good bread. I kind of fail with yeast, and if I do again, I’ll cry.

16 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

16 responses to “Blue All Around

  1. I’d help you out with the bread buuuut I’m bread challenged. Cakes? No problem. But bread? Not so much. I have issues with yeast too.
    Your oats look divine! Love me some blueberry oats. And I totally match my dishes with what i’m eating πŸ˜‰
    Your panini sounds awesome!!! I don’t eat ham but it’s one of the few things that I miss from my meat eating days. And frozen broccoli can actually be good!! Just depends how it’s cooked/thawed.
    Have a great Easter!

  2. *Andrea*

    wish i could help with the bread…i can’t cook/bake complicated things (other than veggie burgers heated up and paninis on a george forman lol). good luck with gaining the weight..i WISH i had that problem haha. love your fun bowls of oats and gorgeous nature pics.i do love how everyones generally nicer when the weather becomes sunny in spring πŸ™‚

  3. I LOVE your pictures…they are simply stunning!!
    I don’t have any good bread recipes…I’ve learned that to enjoy good bread, I should just stick to buying it, and let the professionals do their job, lol.

  4. Susan

    I think blue dishware is the best color.

    As for bread, I want to try some great recipes too! I have a cookbook called “Apples for Jam” that has a tonnn of recipes. I’m going to try some out this summer and I will keep you posted.

  5. LOVE that breakfast! Oh my gosh!!! Your thought on weight really hit home for me! I eat right and work out, but I have noticed a change lately. I think I need to up my calories. I think I have built more muscle that is burning more calories. I feel stronger, but when I weighed in at the doctor’s office the other day, I had dropped a couple of pounds. Normally, not a big deal, but for me…I can’t really lose the weight! I do count calories, but only because I really don’t eat very calorie dense foods and I need to make sure I get what I need. So, for me, I have a log and know where to go. So, with your thoughts behind me…I am upping the number today!

    Your eats looks delicious! As for wheat breads…I know yeast is tricky, but I have one bread that I have made with a lot of luck. I have had many fails, but this one always seems to work…http://thenondairyqueen.blogspot.com/2009/05/this-is-loaf-of-potato-bread.html. You can make it with more wheat flours and add flax meal too. It is a nice fresh bread consistency. If you try it, let me know what you do. My sisters have made it and love it. It also makes great rolls, so if you want to try a smaller batch first…that would work too!

    Have a great day!

  6. I’m in search of a good bread recipe too!
    My roommate got me a great loaf of bread from the grocery co-op but I checked and they only sell it in cental NY 😦
    I also bought a loaf of bread from the farmer’s market yesterday and I’m sad to say it was really disappointing. Thus, I’m dying to make my own! If I come across one, I’ll make sure to e-mail it to you! Please do the same!

  7. LOVE ME SOME BLUEBERRIES! That looks delicious! I can’t wait for blueberry season, I always go to the farmers markets and get BUCKETS of them and they all juicy and huge! Take care and enjoy your weekend!!!

  8. I’m a new reader and I just wanted to say hi!

    I feel ya on the weight issue. I’m trying to gain a few as well! I’m going to try to up my intake of calorie-dense foods like nut butters and granola. And maybe sneak in a few more baked treats. πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy the rest of your Easter weekend!

  9. Oh, YUM! Look at that panini – I’m drooling just from the picture! I love your blue bowl, too. It’s such a gorgeous shade πŸ™‚

    I understand about the weight issue – people ask me that, too. I just try not to let it bother me, although it’s hard!

    As for bread, I love Alton Brown’s basic bread recipe – tried and true πŸ™‚ Happy Easter!

  10. Your blueberry oats look b-b-bangin!! You and your oats give some other bloggers a run for their money… πŸ˜‰

    Okay, maybe I let you’re little story get to me more than it should have, but I seriously can’t stand when people make comments about weight. No one would ever DARE so to someone that they look like they “put on a few.” Why do people feel they have the right to say you look like you’ve lost weight? Okay, maybe it was a close family member? I could understand that. But unless you are the one that brought it up, I feel like weight isn’t anyone else’s business.

    With that being said, based on viewing your blog, you eat PLENTY. Like you said, some people just aren’t as big of eaters as others! Especially if you (we) aren’t running marathons every other day πŸ˜› So just keep doin’ what you’re doin’ k? I mean, I’m all for making healthier choices/changes, but definitely don’t feel like you have to gain/lose/maintain your weight based on other people’s comments. I’m sure you already know that =)

    Have a great night, baby doll! xoxo

  11. Mae

    Wow everything sounds so great! Operation eat more food sounds like fun, and I vote you do whatever makes you FEEL best. Kudos for not falling into the weight loss trap (where a little becomes a lot)

    I want to take on bread so badly! I baked Easter Bread with my Grandmother this year but I want to try sourdough. It sounds like fun!

  12. Pingback: Here Comes the Sun… « Ohh May…

  13. Katherine: What About Summer?

    Have you heard that blue is supposed to make you feel more full?
    I have never seen those clif bar products! where on earth did you get them?

    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  14. Jen

    Okay so though this all looks flippin fantastic, I was wondering if you’d share how you get your sweet potato rounds to look so darn crispy and good. I’ve tried a few ways and mine always turn out like mush. 😦 It’s sad. Any thoughts?!

  15. Your pictures are truly amazing. Such great angles, eats, and colors! Yum to all!

Leave a Reply

