Just Call Me Suzie

Stick a fork in me, I’m done! No more food, please! Haha. Okay, so it’s not that bad – I’m actually quite content, but today certainly had the potential to be too much!

Unless it's oats. I can always have more oats.

I kicked off the morning with some delicious pear oats. I’m giving up on summoning spring, even though I had intentions to have mango-coconut oats this morning. When I got out of the shower, all I wanted was a bowl that would perfectly complement warm, melty peanut butter and lucky for me – pears are back to being 99 cents a pound! I love pears – and they are quickly becoming one of my go-to’s for a comfort bowl of oats.

Anything with this color palette calls for comfort.

Don’t you love those browns?! I know I do – call me crazy! I definitely took its’ far share of portraits this morning.

The base for today was…

oat bran, Bob’s 5 grain Rolled Cereal, wheat bran

-brewed coffee & So Delicious Coconut Milk

-1/2 diced pear

trail power

-vanilla, ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves

-1/2 T. chia seeds

Another rainy day...

The toppings for this already-spectacular  bowl included…

chia-acai icing, milled golden flax

-chopped mixed nuts, crystallized ginger

-Dundee’s ginger preserves, PB & Co Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter

and of course, a compote of the rest of the diced pear and golden raisins in Coconut Milk and Pumpkin Butter.

I don’t know if I’ve ever pointed out how in love I am with that cinnamon raisin peanut butter. It just gets so incredibly perfect & melty into the oats, even though you can’t tell it from the photo. It is, hands down, pure bliss.

And to drank? Green Mountain Golden French Toast. I desperately need to order more K-Cups! I’ve only got a couple left!

I’ve decided I do, in fact, prefer Silk PureAlmond over the So Delicious, incase you didn’t catch in my cookie post. The coconut milk isn’t so good in my coffee! And the more I have it, it’s almost got a watered-down taste to it? I don’t know…I was hoping to really love it, but I guess I’ll save some money, at least! I should say it’s not awful, I just prefer my Silk I guess! I am super excited to try the other So Delicious products, however – helloooo, Purely Decadent! And, their creamer isn’t bad, either.

You guys already know how my day went, I’m sure. I mean, who makes these and these, and doesn’t help themselves a time or two? Or…ten… that being said, the pictures got relatively repetitive, so I won’t bore you with them all. Just know I am a happy camper even if I may not be the picture of perfect eating for the day.

Just doing my duties!

The Last Berry.

…and this was just one of them. I love those “cookies” crumbled! Yummy! Even lunch was something sweet, though I made sure to get in at least someee veggies, too.

Tempeh, Jam, and Rumi's - Spinach Salad with Humnut Dressing

I loooove taking advantage of the stovetop when I’m home 🙂 Usually I’d go for a sweet potato panini, right? Well – I knew I’d meet my sweet potato quote with dinner tonight, so I passed.

Instead? Re-introducing Rumi! It’s been a while – but I have not forgotten about this amazing seasme-pistachio nut butter. It pairs so nicely with this Sarabeth Blueberry Cherry Jam I have, and so I decided – why not try with Tempeh, too?!

Unfortunately, this sandwich finished off my Sarabeth's 😦

And with that price tag, it may be a while before it's replaced.

This jam was definitely an impulse buy – I didn’t even realize it was seven dollars until I was looking over my receipt!! I guess I just assumed it couldn’t be more than a couple bucks – right?! Uh, no. I will say, it was damn good jam, however. That and, I guess it’s a pretty big jar compared to what you’d usually buy!

As usual, this was not disappointing.

Love the Tempeh, PB, and Jam on a toasted pita – and it was even more killer with the Rumi’s Hempspread. To. Die. For.

The spinach salad certainly didn’t disappoint, either – some of that amazing feta, red onion, carrot, and sundried tomatoes gave it some flavah-flav,  but the true stunner was the humnut dressing made with that sent-from-heaven Cedar’s garlic lover’s hummus. Soooo creamy. Sooo delicious.

Here’s a lesson for you all, from an experience I traumatically endured last night: When you make your mom hummus, egg, and veggie wraps for her to take to lunch, put your spoon in the sink when you’re done spreading the hummus. Do not leave it on the counter. You are likely to accidentally grab it thinking it was your spoon from your tea and use it to eat your nightly bowl of oats or cottage cheese or yogurt or something sweet that does not lend itself well to garlic hummus.

Not that I would ever do something so silly. And yes, I made my mom lunch. Just call me little Suzy Homemaker. She also loves the biscotti 🙂

Ain't no sunshine...

Bill Withers anyone? Anyone?

Not my idea of comfortable...but whatever floats her boat.

Laaaazy rainy days. It’s so nice not having class again tonight, though I do feel terrible for my professor. He’s had to be in Arizona for a while due to a family member with cancer. I will say, I was shocked to see him lighting up a cigarette the second he got out of the building after class one night. Moving on.

This happened often.

I implore you to make these biscotti. Unless you hate gingerbread, you will be so happy you did. They are a bite of heaven. I should have doubled the recipe. Just my  mom and I have polished off half, and that’s practicing some restraint.

I was a food junkie today, and I don’t just mean eating-wise. All I wanted to do was cook, cook, cook! I also wanted to make flourless brownies but I had to stop somewhere. We are but three people. I’m too intimidated to bake stuff for other people! But – I was excited to make dinner. Helllooo, Kath’s sweet potato gnocchi. I was so excited, I called my mom at work and asked about her dinner plans. Here’s the conversation after the reply that there were no dinner plans:

Me: “Can I make dinner then?!”

Her: (skeptical) “What are you making?”

Me: “Sweet potato gnocchi!”

*conversation about what gnocchi actually is goes here. Neither of us had ever had it before. Neither of us really knew. But it’s a sweet potato so it must be good!*

her: “Sure, we have leftovers if it doesn’t work out.”

Ahaha. Lovely, right? Although, I will say – I was nervous too! I didn’t even know if I’d like gnocchi, and it seemed like quite the process, and here I was making it for us all for dinner! No photos of the process, but I followed the recipe almost exactly – but added some curry powder and cut back on cinnamon. I also read the comments and one mentioned putting the dough in a plastic bag and “piping” it into the boiling water, rather than rolling out a log. While not as pretty, this is what I did. Otherwise I only foresaw a huge mess.

The  most tedious part was waiting for the water to boil! Ugh. So then I started to get impatient and didn’t sautee them for as long as I should have – but they still tasted great! At first I was unsure I liked the doughiness, but they definitely grew on me fast! I think they’ll be even better left over – because I’ll brown them more. My only problem with meals like this, though – is how filling they are, so fast! I prefer lighter meals, but – these were good so I’m not complaining 🙂

I also sauteed up some kale, broccoli, and chopped apple in some maine maple dijon mustard, lemon pepper, and salt. My mom loved the veggies. She also liked the gnocchi, but we both wished there was something to dip them in. I said I should have just combined the veggies & gnocchi – the maple-dijon mixed with the juice from the apple complemented them quite nicely, which is what I ended up “dipping” them in. Anyone have any ideas, though?

Sorry for just the one photo – snapped it quick so I could manja!

Oh yeah! Giveaway winners!!

#1 comment is Nicole! Who is enjoying beautiful Costa Rica right now – uhm, jealous! Send me some sun along with your address, please thanks 🙂

Aaand, my tempeh, PB, and jam homegirl, Susan, was comment #15! Not sure where I’d be without her – my lunch today certainly would have been different!!

When you’re home, or when you were growing up, did you often eat as a family, or separately? We discussed this a while back in Family Vio class, and I was shocked at how many families statistics say don’t eat dinners together. I always did growing up! It’s truly a time to bond. I remember being really confused by the concept that some families didn’t always diner together if I ever heard my friends talking about eating solo. Even now, I may eat something different, or make  myself something to have alongside the main meal, but if we’re all home at dinner time, I definitely try to eat with them.

9 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

9 responses to “Just Call Me Suzie

  1. I’m jealous you have people to cook for! If I am home over this summer, I almost wouldn’t mind because then I would get to cook for my parents! I love that you packed your mom’s lunch! The gnocchi looks great! I’ve made it before and completely agree with you on the doughy factor. I made it once and STILL have a bunch in the freezer …whoops! I might have to make those biscotti when I get home they look HEAVENLY!

  2. haha, your mom’s reaction is funny. i can’t stop eating cinnamon raisin swirl either. i seriously put it on anyyyyyyything.

  3. Ok so you have convinced me.. I’m trying coffee in my oats on Thursday morning (overnight oats are in the fridge for tomorrow morning 😉 ).
    And I SO make my mom’s lunches usually too!! He.
    Sweet potato gnocchi – YUM! I LOVE gnocchi but I have gnocchi issues, as in, I can’t manage to cook it for myself without messing it up. I don’t know why, just one of those things. But I love getting gnocchi in restaurants!
    Kale and apples and maple syrup are AMAZING together, yum!!!
    I realy need to try temepeh.. I keep saying that. Need to get on it!
    Love ya girl!

  4. Susan

    Oh my goodness I won?! Emailing you now girlie – thank you thank you thank you!

    I’m seriously considering robbing a bank and quitting school, moving up to Vermont, and hiring you as my personal chef. Just sayin’ it would be a pretty sweet life.

  5. I always ate dinner with my parents growing up so I definitely try to do so with my hubby and daughter now.
    Your gnocchi looks so delish. Making my own sweet potato gnocchi is on my “food bucket list”. I’m actually having some tonight but it’s not home made…my friend brought me some back from an Italian market in Philly and I’m SO excited to have it tonight!

  6. Great idea with the gnocchi. like the idea of plopping the dough right into the boiling water. They look tasty! They are filling for sure.

  7. kelli!

    I totally thought of you when I saw that jam in homegoods today haha!
    your eats look divine of course especially because I LOVE apples ❤

  8. OMG I tried the tempeh + jam combo today! AMAZINGGGGGG

  9. I’m so excited I won, can’t wait for the mail 🙂

Leave a Reply

