I’m Cold, and I Smell Like Celery.

‘eyyyy, love-doves. Hope everyone’s having a bangin Saturday and better food than I’ve had. Or, maybe I should say I hope you’ve had as many epiphanies as I’ve had? Regardless – let’s jump back to the meal that never fails :breakfast. And here’s a hint: if you make it through this post, you may find a surprise hidden within! Because, well – I’m sneaky like that.

Spring on the Brain, Winter in the Air.

This is what I call my “oh please oh please be warm today…maybe I can summon Spring with peaches and raspberries?” bowl of oats. It didn’t work, but I’ll get to that in a bit. What did work was delicious nectarines paired with some red raspberries. Oh, and coconut butter. Duh.

Maybe it didn't work because that coconut butter looks too much like SNOW.

The Base this morning was:

oat bran, spelt flakes, 5 grain hot cereal, wheat bran

-brewed coffee, almond milk

-almond extract, drizzle of agave

half of a diced ripe nectarine, and a couple frozen red raspberries

1/2 Tbs. chia seeds

trail power

The toppings this morning:

chia-acai icing, milled golden flax

sliced raw almonds

-ginger jam, Artisana coconut butter

and a compote-esque mix of the rest of the nectarine and some frozen red raspberries in agave and almondmilk.

Gravity oats.

To drank? Green Mountain’s Golden French Toast, nothing but the best! Soon, the seasonal flavor will be island coconut. I totally burnt myself out on this flavor last year – and still had an open bag up until a couple weeks ago, when I pawned it off on my sister. Work does, however – still have one full K-Cup box for me, since no one else drinks it. I had a few on those glorious Spring-like days we had a week ago – and can’t wait until the weather “allows” me to drink it again.

Is anyone else this way? It just feels wrong drinking island coconut when it’s hardly above 0 outside! I’ll still gladly eat coconut, however. I guess I’m weird. But we already knew that.

Loved the coconut butter in this bowl. It was so right. The base needed a little something, though. A banana would have done, but I’m branching out. Instead, I’ve been having an affaird with Agave. I should probably lay off a little bit – but it’s hard when it’s just that amazingly tasty.

This is Kaia as a puppy. This is irrelevant. But, I figure I might as well have something entertaining in this post.

So – as mentioned, today I went to a tack sale/horse exposition/tack auction with mi madre. On the way there, my words: “We are crazy. We are eagerly going, setting up a table in hopes to sell thirty years worth of accumulated tack, in zero degree weather. What are we doing?!” No, friends, most huge horse barns around here are not heated. This case was not an exception. As much fun as I had watching and hangin’ out with my mom – we seriously froze. Think “inside a freezing cement building from 8am-1pm where it is colder than it is outside, where outside it is only 20 and windy,” freezing. The sad part is we didn’t even stay for the auction part. Just the tack swap and watched some demos. If we had stayed for the auction, it would have been even worse because we would have had to sit still.

Probably for best, though – if we had stayed we may have come back with more than we left with. Luckily, we were able to unload osme of the stuff we haven’t used in eons. More money to feed the foodie, you know how it goes. I should have one of those cute ceramic jars with a witty saying… “nut-butter-aholic” or “jam-aholic” or “sweet potato fund.”

Still irrelevant. Still cute.

All that complaining aside – we did still have fun, took in some interesting information [coughandmoneycough] and I was happy to spend some quality time with the mother dearest. And I made her a slammin’ egg and hummus wrap. Whilst I made myself a soggy sweet potato panini. Go figure. Lesson one: sweet potato paninis = not travel friendly. Lesson learned. At least my mom loved her wrap…she’s really comin’ around, that one ๐Ÿ™‚ We had no idea if there would be a concession. Usually, if there is, it’s just hamburgers and hotdogs, so I packed food as if we were going to be gone toย Timbuktu for the day and a half. This included munchies of trail mix w/ yogi crisps, bananas, apples, and popchips.

I abandoned ship on eating the wrap . We started packing around 12:30 anyways, so I wasn’t even ready for lunch after having some BBQ popchips, a banana, and trail mix. What can I say? haha. It was only 15 minutes away from our house – I could wait and make myself an unsoggy sweet potato panini once home. We diiiid make a Price Chopper pit-stop, though, so I could grab some produce, cottage cheese, and pitas. I think today was National Sample Day or something, though – I got to compare a Special K blueberry granola bar with a Price Chopper brand fiber granola bar. I was actually pretty impressed – the special K bar was pretty darn good! Not overly sweet, and the taste was surprisingly blueberry. I often find with brands like that, they can easily taste a bit artificial and too sweet for me. I can’t say I’d buy a box because the ingredients are far from impressive – I still prefer my Clif and Gnu bars – but I couldn’t pass up a granola bar tasting ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to stop at the granola station, too, but ushered myself along. I feel like a beggar when the people don’t offer and you have to ask. That and my mom was waiting, haha.

Oh yeah, food. Crappy food.

I’ve finally learned my lesson. Gardein, I’ve given you three separate chances to wow me, and you’ve failed 2.5 out of 3 times. In the salad I had you in first, the sweet potato covered your ugly bum. With a delicious side of kale and cranberries, you stood out like a zit on school portrait day. And your biggest failure? Delicious, melty mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, and basil couldn’t even hide your ugliness. Am I missing something, here? If anyone’s had these and liked them, tell me what you did. I finally threw the last one out. I hate to do it. But I did. I thought I could disguise them enough that they’d taste fineย and I’d still get me protein in, but no. Just no.

This is the apple from the previous photo. I needed warmth. And something to make up for a crappy wrap.

mmm, baked apple – with peanut butter and Yogi crisp crumbs. Because Yogi at least knows what’s up. Thank you, Yogi, for proving that all is not lost.

My snacks today? Winners, however.

I’m in love with my mini english muffins because they make the best dang mini egg mcmuffins. I’m not kidding. Toast that puppy, slap some egg beaters in the micro with garlic, salt, and peppah – butter and hummus the muffin, and voila. Paired with a glorious warm applesauce mess of applesauce, strawberries, dates, agave, and some killah’ trail mix with dried fruits, pepitas, choco chips from las co-op. Oh, and obviously more Yogi.

Local priiiide.

I was really happy to be flipping through our free-press and see this new addition! Not only that, but – I got to catch the rest of Jamie Oliver’s show while I was trying to warm up in bed this afternoon. What’s everyone think of it?! I loved it. Such an eye-opener. Even my mom lately has been really taking an interest in healthy alternatives. Point in case? She wanted to try my celery root. Aaaand, before I forget; I just got a text from my sister. It went “Did you say you put lemon pepper on those Kale chips? I want to make some…” It’s love, is what it is.

I was more afraid of it than she was.

Yep. I saw celery root in Clean Eating a while back, and have been kind of wanting to give it a go lately. Unfortunately, I think I may have dreamed up the recipe in which I thought they made a celery root mash because I couldn’t re-find it. So I hoofed it.

I mashed it with some lemon juice, dijon mustard, garlic, pepper, salt, basil, olivio, and milk. It was okay – but honestly, I don’t know why I used lemon because I’m not a lemon fan. I think that threw me off most, so I really want to try it and next time just do it with some garlic, sundried tomatoes, and cheese of some sort. What are your favorite celery root recipes? Right now, all I smell when my hand goes near my nose is celery and it’s growing old fast.

I paired it with some lemon-dijon tempeh and broc and while the tempeh actually was quite tasty with the lemon-dijon, I didn’t care for the broc because it wasn’t burnt enough, haha.

And that’s when I realized: I am stuck in my ways, and it’s good that I a. had a mediocre meal, b. am unimpressed by a meal that, when I look at it – wasn’t even that bad, and c. am experimenting with new things. So, you know what, it’s okay. My mom actually enjoyed it, I think moreso than I. She finished what I left on my plate, haha. But, dessert made up for it ๐Ÿ™‚

cottage cheese, yogi, agave, strawburries.

Did you make it through all that? Okay, good. I have a mini-giveaway, if you will. Now, don’t get too excited!! It’s nothing big, but anything is something, right?! You know how popchips sent me coupons? Well – I don’t want to hoard them all for myself! I’ll never use this many! So – I’ll share the love a little bit, eh? Two winners will receive two coupons each: one for a free bag of pop chips, and one for buy one get one free. All you need to do is comment on this post, and I’ll randomly generate a number on…Monday or Tuesday. Or some day next week. When it tickles my fancy. I guess. And if you tell me what you do with your celery root, I’ll love you that much ย more. I should say I’m not raggin’ on celery root. It was good! Just not prepared right. Preparation semi-fail, if you will.

Have aaa lurbly night. Eat good food. I know I’ve got a lot of making up to do. Helllooo, mini egg mcmuffin. And oatmeal. And cottage cheese. Because I’m Jess and have growing obsessions with things I refused to touch for the first twenty years of my life.

A Breaking News Update: I just bopped on over to the Cook’s Mission and discovered celery root is one of the mystery ingredients. This is purely coincidental, I bought these Thursday, ahaha. Though I am bummed, because now no one will want to divulge their favorite celeriac recipes with me until after!! I’m not too sure how this is gonna go… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


16 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

16 responses to “I’m Cold, and I Smell Like Celery.

  1. I watched Food Revolution last night and it was REALLY scary. I couldn’t believe those children didn’t know ANY of those veges. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so sad! I want to try pop chips btw ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. the popchips sound really cool; too bad they’re not available here. You have a cute dog btw. Do you have to cook chia seeds? I got some at the bulk today and have no idea what to do with them; other than everyone seems to use them for something.

  3. I’ve been looking for chia seeds. I’ve heard they are better for you than flax. As usual, your pictures are facntastic!

  4. Pam

    I love Jamie….it was a great show! ….love those Englishmen….he he!

    The best part of your post was the “irrelevant” part…….love Kaia….so cute and beautiful!

    So sorry that you froze….that sucks! Hopefully you are warm now!

    xoxo

  5. I just love the title of this post! It made me smile! (sorry it was at your expense…)
    Loooooove puppy pictures!!

  6. I have so much to learn! To start, about chia seeds!
    Love your photos and that hmm puppy!

  7. hahaha I love that you used one of the mystery ingredients before it was announced! I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. I have seen it made a lot as purees and soups but I’ve never tried it. I feel like my creative juices are slowly deteriorating, I need some inspiration!

    I need one of those jars too. Being a foodie…and buying healthy foods is expensive! Is it me or is it completely warped that eating healthy is more expensive that eating unhealthy?

    I also think this is possibly THE cutest puppy I’ve ever seen! Stay warm!

  8. Katharina

    Aw I love the pictures of your pup!!! Cute as always ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nectarines and raspberries sound soooo good together!! As for the Gardein things… which ones did you try? The first time I made an awesome breading for them with seasonings, pumpkin seeds, pine nuts, and bread crumbs. I’ve also tried the chicken tenders and I really liked them ๐Ÿ™‚

    I feel like my parents should rummage through the stuff they don’t use anymore.. or have unnecessary multiples of and just sell them/donate them. They have a lot of clutter lol. Anyway, I hope you have an awesome Sunday!!!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  9. Adorable puppy!!! Those eyes….
    I would help you out with the celery root but i’ve never had it or cooked with it – hence me skipping this week’s cook’s mission. I’m very curious to see what you other creative bloggers cook up though!
    I think it’s awesome that you are branching out and trying new foods!!! I am too. Foods I ignored but are currently obsessed with – kale, broccoli rabe, Brussel sprouts, Ezekial muffins, tofu, quinoa, I could go on….

  10. Mae

    You will do awesome with celery root. I’m sorry you already used it! It looks amazing though…

  11. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m happy I found yours now, you take such amazing pictures ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love the idea for a Sweet Potato Fund jar!

  12. I’ve never had celery root (…I don’t think), but from the looks of it, I think I’d like it! It almost looks like mashed potatoes or couscous in your picture. What does it taste like? Celery? Do share! =)

  13. Mmm yes I love making my own egg mcmuffins because you can make them how ever you like! Recently, I began putting one slice of turkey on them and it taste like the ham they use but 100 times healthier. yummy.

  14. Kaia was a cute puppy :-). And I must admit that I’ve never tried celery root… so I can’t help you there. Good luck with it though!

    Oh, and I’d love to try some popchips!

  15. Susan

    Okay Kaia is such a freakin cutie. Lucky you getting to play with her. SO not irrelevant IMO!

    I did catch Jamie Oliver’s show. I thought he made some good points and it was eye-opening, but I thought some parts were too gimmicky and over the top. But alas, it is television…

  16. Bridget

    I just started following your blog … I must say that if anything, at least you are creative! I don’t usually wing it! I have never cooked with celery root though I do know that the clean eating book mentions it … you oatmeal looks yummy ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the giveaway~xxoo Bridget

Leave a Reply

