Mmmm….Fermentation!

Holy Friday! Did it fly by for everyone else?

Not only was it 5:30 before I knew it – my day was filled with so much deliciousness that I don’t know how I got lucky enough to be so deserving! Do you think you can handle it?! (dahh, dahh…are you ready, for this jelly, i don’t think you’re readyyyyy)

Lets start with my beloved carrot-cake oats, shall we?

I’ve been having serious dilemmas as to what I want in my breakfasts lately. This week, I was chained to pumpkin. Well – my mom sneakily polished off my pumpkin yesterday, and I was at a loss as to what I was craving this morning.

What do I do when I don’t crave anything in particular?

Why, carrot cake oats, of course!

Because, lets face it - they've never served me wrong!

I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad bowl of carrot cake oats. I mean…how could you go wrong with eating carrot cake for breakfast? With frosting, even!! For some reason – the carrots I purchased most recently are, well – obscenely carrot-y. I don’t know why, but they’re just not as good for some reason! So I figure, if anything will make them amazing, it’s a bowl of oatmeal. And boyyy, was I right. Luckily, I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of this mix.

The base?

1 T. oat bran, 2 T. rolled spelt flakes, 2 T. Bob’s 5 Grain Hot Cereal, 1 T. wheat bran

-1/2 c. brewed coffee, 1/2 c. almondmilk

– 3/4 shredded carrot, 1/4 thinly sliced banana

vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, drizzle of agave

-1/2 T. chia seeds

The Toppings?

chia-acai icing, milled golden flax

-chopped mixed nuts, raisins

Artisana coconut butter, ginger jam

and a “compote,” if you will, of the remaining shredded carrot, another 1/4 of the chopped banana, golden raisins, and some shredded coconut – in a syrup of agave and almondmilk.

Served with a side of snow and wind.

And of course, Green Mountain Rain Forest Nut. I think my new flavor – but I’ve only got 1 K-Cup left!! In addition – some Yogi crisp crumbs of the cinnamon raisin variety graced the top of that upon consumption. It’s the bottom of the bag!! And it must have gotten smooshed. But – it makes for some rockin’ granola! I’m not complaining πŸ™‚

As per usual - this bowl did not disappoint.

The weather, however - did. Very much so.

Sure – 18* isn’t cold. Especially for Vermont. 18* is, however – extremely frigid when it is windy as all get-out and all you’re doing is photographing your breakfast in your pajamas. The things I do for you guys…the things I do πŸ˜› You bet I came right back in and had to microwave that baby.

Jusssst kidding. (p.s. did anyone pick up on my obsession with matte black platery?)

The day didn’t get warmer. In fact, on my walk to the post office and paint store – I suffered from some serious face freeze. I think I went all winter without face freeze – and now I get it, in March?! I was not impressed. I was impressed, however – with these babies.

Ohhh, Yogi. Have you ever failed? No one likes a perfectionist. But I guess I'll make an exception.

WARNING: Upon consumption, one may find themselves foaming at the mouths for just one more handful. And one more. And then another.

Not kidding. I was completely sold on the cinnamon raisin crisps, but figured why not try another kind? I’m a blueberry-head, so opted for Blueberry Flax. Um, hello, I apparently got pushed into a blueberry farm upon opening, that is how fresh and potent they were. And in a good way – absolutely no artificial smell or taste. They’ve seriously done it again. I give this bag even less time than cinnamon raisin. Not because they’re that much better (they’re both 10/10) but just because my addiction has grown that much stronger over the past couple of days! Thank you, Yogi. I deman: larger bags and more flavors. I propose a pumpkin cranberry flavor. Separate or combined, I’m not picky.

After snacking a couple handfuls, some finally made their way into a trail mix of sorts.

Hiding under the trail power? (which – in case you hadn’t notice – I completely forgot to put in this morning’s breakfast! I missed it…) Yogi crisps, dates, almonds, and Galaxy granola. Supahh stunahh trail power.

While we're on the topic of snacks...

Self-explanatory, I do believe.

If you dare try to replace Apple-Honey Butter, you best be phenom.

…and phenom it was, with the assistance of PB& Co Cinnamon RaisinΒ peanut butter, tempeh, raisins, and sliced apple, in a supah-soft Joseph’s flax & oatbran pita.

The Fantastic Five.

I had a serious deliberation in the kitchen this morning, completely torn between another beloved PB&Tempeh pita, or my also-beloved hummus, veggie & egg wrap. You don’t even know how many times I changed my mind, but you see what I finally went with. And it was a dang good choice.

I think I often pass on this as a work lunch just because I don’t want to be given even more wierd looks. But today? Today, I was brave. Why, you ask?

...because tempeh wasn't the only form of fermentation in my lunch!

Hey, Jess…? What are you….eating?”

“Oh, the usual…just a whole lotta fermentation. Mmmm! Love me some fermented goods.”

That conversation didn’t take place. I was a little disappointed, actually. I was ready to boast about my eats today, rather than feel frustrated πŸ™‚ But, not one to toot my own horn, I ate in silence. Probably because I was the only one around, though…and I don’t talk to myself. Out loud.

Told you I’d have to ration my Kombucha intake. Them babies pricey! And, I definitely toasted my pita at work. It was fanfweakingtastic.

And – I see I’m not the only one who was afraid to try Kombucha! I almost thought I was one of the final few to finally jump on the train. But – I definitely recommend giving it a shot. It’s really good! I can’t wait to try the other flavor I picked up. I will say, however – that if you don’t like tart cranberries, you probably won’t like the cranberry flavor. There’s no sugar or sugar substitute – just pure cranberry juice. I love the pucker, but I think that may be a turn-off for some.

I need more fiber like Kaia needs more McDonalds. Here's a hint: Kaia needs more salads.

Couldn’t resist this bar at the co-op. Haven’t seen the brand in grocery stores, and it sounded goooood – Banana Walnut, can you go wrong?

And obviously, some lovely ingreds.

Peep the goods. I had to exercise extreme self control during this time.

I wanted to let everyone see what it looked like, so I opened it at home. This was risky. The fact that it smelled like a whole room-full of fresh-baked banana bread pretty much made me want to devour the whole thing, but luckily, that’s what good, filling carrot cake oats are good for and I was full. It was close, though.

But what did I think of it? Holy yum. Gnu Foods, you sure as hay know what you’re doing. This tasted so so amazingly like a fresh baked banana bread, I was in awe. Not kidding. I also loved the crunch factor the flax seeds provided, and it had a lovely soft texture otherwise. Deliciously real tasting! I don’t consider myself lacking in the fiber department – but it did have more protein than my beloved Clif bars, and that’s never a bad thing.

But you know what is a bad thing? The fact that the co-op only has this flavor, and I can’t find them anywhere else. I want to cry. Guess I’ll have to pay an arm and a leg for shipping.Β The end. I mean: Check out all these amazing flavors. Must…have….them…all.

I seriously boogied at work today. And by that – I mean we were rockin’ and rollin’ and the day flew by. Great mood, too – the sun was shining and everyone was in love. heh…isn’t that precious. If only the sun actually provided warmth, I’d be so much happier. It’s supposed to get to 0 tonight. Not impressed. Luckily, a warmer weekend is in store! And with that in mind, I managed to do work and bop out of work early enough to whip through cleaning the office while I was in town. Now I don’t have to run in this weekend! Psych. Especially handy this weekend because tomorrow I’m going to a horse and tack auction with my mom for the majority of the day. I’m pretty excited πŸ™‚ Abouutttt as excited as I was for dinner tonight…

Because I obviously didn't have enough fiber still.

Has anyone else noticed my tendency to have fish on Friday? I think that’s a Christian thing – right? Well, it’s purely coincidental. Maybe my creativity tends to run out, and I just love salmon so dang much that I want something familiar? Regardless – being the pair salmon with fruit junkie that I am, and having yet to pair salmon with cranberries, I knew what it was time for.

Or is it Kale, Broc, and Carrots with a side of Salmon?

For the cranberry glaze:

Microwave about 1/2 cup frozen cranberries in a bit of water until they begin to burst. Add in a drizzle of balsamic vinegar and a good spoonful of maine maple dijon mustard and a drizzle of honey.

For the salmon:

Season with salt and pepper on both sides, and begin to saute in olive oil over medium heat. Once lightly cooked on both sides, pour the cranberry sauce over the fish and reduce heat, allowing the glaze to thicken.

Add in kale, broccoli, and carrot slices and continue to cook until done.

Top the veggies with some shredded almond cheese and garnish with chopped mixed nuts.

Please, don’t forget about the mixed nuts! Or you’ll regret it. Promise.

More breaking news? I am a new cottage-cheese addict. I eat it plain now – with just some jam and cinnamon. Oh, and obviously granola crisps, but I’ll put granola crisps on my…veggies. Okay, maybe not – but you get the picture. I am a changed soul.

You know what I’ve realized? I’ve rarely given a bad review. *cough*exceptGardein*cough*. I actually feel sort of bad about this. Like you won’t be able to take me seriously when I say something is oh so amazing – because “I love everything.” So – thought I’d throw out there – I will say when I don’t like something. I have nothing to gain (or lose) from giving my true opinion/feelings. On the other hand – obviously I don’t “review” everything. Mainly if it’s a new product to me, or something I’ve started eating that I am crazy about. Ordinary old snacks and what not just get a “yeah they’re good,” and I go about my daily blogging. I guess I don’t see a point in dwelling on stuff that I’m not either a. crazy about, b. totally hate, or c. is a widely-known product. Unless, of course – it’s widely known but new to me, in which case – it would make sense I say what I think πŸ™‚

Capiche? Just thought I’d throw that out there πŸ™‚

What’s everyone else got planned for the weekend?! Hopefully beautiful, sunny, warm weather is in your forecast. And, of course – good food πŸ™‚

13 Comments

Filed under all natural, almond milk, apple, breakfast, broccoli, chia seeds, co op, cooking, dinner, fish, food blog, health, health food, healthy eating, healthy living, lunch, nut butter, oatmeal, oats, organic, recipe, review, salmon, vegetable

13 responses to “Mmmm….Fermentation!

  1. Today totally flew by! I hate when I have no idea what I’m in the mood for / if i’m hungry. I usually go to stand by dishes that never fail to satisy. Those oats look awesome! Is it sad I’m excited that it’s Saturday tomorrow bc I can’t wait to play with mystery ingrediants? Seriously the chick pea patties were genius! Stay warm!

  2. All your eats look great! I love carrot cake so those oats look tempting πŸ˜‰

  3. Susan

    Okay, I love that you used “bop” as a verb. We need to bring that back.

    Your carrot cake oats always looks so dreamyyyyy. I’m talking Chace Crawford dreamy. If I had all the fixin’s and time to make these I know they would be the perfect start to my day too!

    Have a beautiful Saturday Jessica!

  4. I’m so into the salmon with cranberry glaze I can hardly stand it! I’m in love.
    I haven’t had salmon in quite a while but you’ve got me craving it. In fact, I’d like it if I could just come to your house for my meals from now on!?! Please?

  5. Girl, your salmon looks the BOMB! I love salmon but i’ve never had it with cranberries..um obviously my life is not complete. Must. Fix. That.

    Kombucha is awesome!!! It took me a while to get with it too. I love the slightly odd taste.

    Blueberry Yogi crisps are amazing!!!! OMG. they are super super super addictive. But oh so good.
    As are Gnu bars. You HAVE to try the cinnamon raisin flavor, girl, it will change your life. Promise.

  6. There were so many new idea in this post I am going to reread it a few times! Love the salmon with cranberries; can’t believe you have to endure this cold weather, I am sure there are compensations! (?) here we are having sunny skies and spring chill about 60’s and 70’s!
    Have a great weekend!

  7. Pam

    Scrumptious food as always! Hope you have fun at the auction and don’t buy too much or another horse..he he! It’s cold here today, but the sun is partially out!

    Went to an Amish Bulk Foods store today and tonight watching the movie “WhiteOut”…..have fun!

    xoxo

  8. Hey Jessica, I want to come to your house and eat a bowl of that oatmeal and have a cup of that coffee I see in the background (0 degree temps. or not)!
    By the way, the carrot patty recipe makes about 8 small patties. Did you read the post? In it, i explain that it is a recipe in the making-it’s not quite perfect yet in terms of structural integrity. I have some ideas for that though. I went on ahead and posted it b/c they are so delicious and healthful (cheap too)!

  9. Haha, you make me laugh, I really like how you love your food and wholeheartedly enjoy all of it. I know it’s all healthy, so it’s funny how all of the food looks like dessert because there are so many wonderful colours. Okay, I will make it my personal mission to find chia seeds somewhere because they look so strange, I want to put them in my mouth. Firstly though, I will find out what they are ;p

  10. love the glaze on salmon…yummy!!

    sweetlife

  11. 18 degrees!? ahhh so freaking cold!

  12. Those Gnu bars looked so good I just ordered the 7 sampler pack and it’s free shipping! Thanks for the food review…

  13. Pingback: A GNU Giveaway! « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

