Rude Awakening

Hey lovelies πŸ™‚ I hope everyone’s had a supah flyyy Thursday – can you believe it’s almost Friday already? I think I say that every Thursday – but seriously, where is the time going these days?!

So, after reading all of your wonderful comments for my last post – it sounds like I’m not the only one who sometimes faces having to defend themselves and their food choices! Who wants to start a town of oat-loving, kombucha-drinking, green-monster slurping, sweet-tater-nomming foodies?! I’ll bring the party!!

And by party, I mean Pumpkin-Gingerbread Spelt Flakes.

This morning started out with a rather rude awakening: my mom took the day off (for, what – the first time in ever?! she works too hard) though of course still woke up early – which means, the glaring light from the kitchen found its’ way into my room, along with some radio. Does anyone else hate fluorescent lighting?! I’m the one who, even when it’s almost dark, prepares meals using the oven overhead light only. Especially in the morning – I rolled into the kitchen with a squinty-eyed grimace, while she bopped her head to the music.

What? Too bright?”

No, no…not at all. haha. Love her.

Regardless! I persuaded her to turn the lights off (it was daylight, for pete’s sake!) and did my thang.

Obviously, this is my thang.

Randomness was in store for this morning. I couldn’t think of what to pair with pumpkin! I was – sadly – all out of frozen cranberries.

The base this morning was

-oat bran, rolled spelt flakes, and wheat bran

-brewed coffee & almondmilk

-drizzle molasses, agave, ground ginger, nutmeg, cloves

-pumpkin, zest and juice of half an orange

-1/2 T. chia seeds

and topped with:

-pumpkin chia icing, milled golden flax

chopped mixed nuts

-ginger jam and PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin PB

and a compote of orange slices, orange juice & zest, dried cranberries, dried currants, and frozen cherries – in a almondmilk & agave “syrup.”

If you're skeptical - don't worry, I was too. But this just worked.

Gahhh – this was amazing. I wasn’t sure about the citrus, but it made the bowl. Yes, please. To drank? How about a Cinnamon Bun?

The morning consisted of mainly bummin’ around. There were still people finishing exams – so I was not about to go to class and sit and wait. I don’t think there was anything planned for afterwards, so it would have been pointless. I got some blog-reading done, and tried working on business cards – but ended up getting a domain for my photography site! Needed to happen. I made use of the morning!

A savory snack? Whaaa?

You’ve probably noticed that I’m farr more apt to chose a sweet snack versus savory. Sure – I love my veggies, but other than carrots, I don’t often choose to ust have some alone, raw, out of the blue. But, I think all my hummus and hardboiled egg talk with Christina made me absolutely need red peppers, hardboiled egg, and hummus by the time it was only 10:00 am! And I did it up – I won’t say I rationed that hummus, because that’d be called lying.

Eventually – however – I started getting antsy and bopped my way into town. I had to have a drop slip signed to officially drop intro to CJ, and after that I made pit-stops at the co-op, Hannafords, and BB&B.

Rut-Roh, Rorge.

Fueled by Ramen. Err - nectarines and apples, rather.

After trackinng down all the necessary officials at school, I was on my voyage. Yeah, hi, nectarines – you are delicious. Why haven’t you kicked out oranges yet?

I was quite well-behaved at the co-op. And I am officially a member! Sure, the benefits aren’t huge and what-not, but I figure: why not join?

One of my immediately-consumed new finds?

SO stoked to try!

And yet - so frightened.

I’ve seen these all over blogs, to rave and poor reviews. I can’t find them anywhere but the co-op, and had passed the last couple times, but this time I felt brave enough to tackle the Kombucha monster. What made me even more nervous? The closer inspection of the label, revealing trace alcohol from fermentation, and the noise when first opening the bottle. Add to that, the smell when you take a whiff. What. did. I. get. myself. into?

But! The verdict? Holy yum! It’s so weird, yet so good! I love the strangeness of it, haha. That, and – the tart cranberry taste of this one. I was caught off-guard at first by the carbonated fizziness (I rarely have carbonation) but after a few sips I was used to it, and quite enjoying my new love. However, unfortunately – this probably won’t be a new love or addiction at almost $4 a pop. I (riskily) bought two of these babies, and I think I’ll have to make sure I only have one serving at a time for optimum enjoyment! Oh, well.

Before I rampaged Hannies, I looked to some of my other loves for fuel:

Matches made in heaven.

and then did the dang thang. And not only that – I was quite well-behaved once again! A lot of stuff (produce!!) would be cheaper at Price Chopper, so I just held off. Luckily, I’m pretty well set until the weekend in that department. I just wanted to scope out the organic section, of course!

But: the real jackpot was at Bed, Bath and Beyond! gasp.

Don’t worry – you’ll get to see my finds throughout the course of the next couple of days! Peep the lunch goods, though:

What is this, the Thursday classic?!

I don’t know – I guess Thursdays just scream tempeh, PB, Apple butter, apple, and Raisin flatbread?! Seriously love this combo. I should have it more often – it just feels like it’s too good to be lunch, though! That and – I do like my veggie wraps πŸ™‚

After all that, though – it was time to boogie my way back to school for our second photo critique.

I. Have. never been in a class where I am the only vocal one. I usually hardly ever speak up – but seriously, if I didn’t talk, we were going to be there all day. This photo class is killing me slowly. This photo class should be fun. Ugh. Eventually, we were released. I was given another rude awakening by having to walk to my car in the pouring rain. Where did that come from?! I guess mother nature thought it would provide a fitting mood for a miserable class.

Just a little peek!

After unloading Gertrude, I had a quick (and adorable) snack just to tide me an hour or so til dinner.

Babies!

Seriously falling in love with cottage cheese. No lies.

So – I heard a rumour that today is National Waffle Day! I;m not 100% certain this is true, but what does a waffler such as myself do when the words “national waffle day” are read?

Why, make sweet potato waffles, of course! And have breakfast for dinner. Another Thursday thing, apparently.

It's not burnt, it's well cooked.

Initially, I was legitimately upset that my waffle iron’s light never changed to green to signify my waffle was done – but as I ate, I realized: the best parts are the dark parts! It wasn’t really burnt or crispy at all – I think just because it was so moist, it burnt the top most layer.

Wait a minute - is that a new plate, too?

Truly spectacular. My sweet potato obsession is coming back with avengence. I’m not going to resist it – every time I finish a meal with a sweet potato, all I dream of is what to do with my next sweet potato. Okay, that might be a Β lie, but saying that I’ve tossed around the idea of sweet potato oats is truth.

Basically, all I did was mash a sweet potato, add some spelt flour and an egg white, some almondmilk, some baking powder, and some seasonings (garam masala, salt) and voila! Actually – that’s not basically what I did…that is what I did.

Another new obsession that I can forsee? Garam masala. Yes, please.

Golden delicious!

I couldn’t make it through all the eggs, though…but apparently I can make some killer scrambled eggs? My mom finished them, and could not stop raving about how good they were, lol. I mean…I wasn’t even that impressed by them…and I didn’t do anything abnormal. They were just scrambled eggs! haha. Ah, well.

Moral of the story? Make sweet potato waffles and more eggs than you can handle. You’ll love life.

Dessert was more cottage-cheesey lovin, and I should disclose the fact that I’m seriously doin’ work on this bottle of Agave. It’s love. But – I want to know about you guys! Any new fun food finds, obsessions, hates, or experiments?

Here’s to Friday!

17 Comments

Filed under all natural, almond butter, almond milk, apple, breakfast, chia seeds, co op, cooking, dinner, food, food blog, foodblog, gingerbread, greek yogurt, health, health food, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy food, healthy living, kashi, lunch, nut butter, oatmeal, oats, organic, pumpkin, quesedilla, recipe, sweet potato, sweet potatoes

17 responses to “Rude Awakening

  1. I’ve always been too afraid to try those things!! I’m glad you liked it perhaps I’ll give one a shot. Love the new plate and the waffles! Is it weird that I have walk around stores wondering what bowl my oats will be the most enjoyable in or a plate that will look nice with my food. I swear I have to restrain myself (my room mate already thinks my cooking/nut butter/jam/ cereal collection is out of control I can’t imagine what she would say if I brought MORE things in!).

  2. ooo girl your lunch wrap looks so great!! apple and tempeh? that is SUPER interesting! love your combos!

  3. I haven’t tried kombucha because I’ve been way TOO nervous. It makes a sound when you open it?? weird! haha. good to know you liked it though! I eat a lot of eggs, but I need to make those waffles!

  4. It’s not burnt, it’s well cooked…that’s my kind of waffle! πŸ˜€

    I love the peek into your bag! Cool pic!

  5. Did the kombucha smell a bit “dirty-feet” ish when you opened it? Cranberries, gotta love ’em. Though picking them off the tree leaves a person smelling like .. well .. like you’d much rather have borrowed someone’s car to get out there instead of your own. Sorry if I am not making too much sense.

  6. *Andrea*

    your photos are exquisite! i agree with the food comments and judgments from others. i like to think of us foodies as revolutionary! seriously.. like my mom and sister now know what overnight oats are and my sister who is a total wonder bread-lover even eats mary’s crack(ers) and hummus with me πŸ™‚

  7. Oh I hate fluorescent lighting too! I have a hard time with bright lights in general. I’m meant to live life in natural light or a dimly lit, romantic restaurant. Ha.
    I need you to know that no one, and I mean no one, has more beautiful oat photography than you. And knowing that there are about 7 million gazillion oat loving bloggers out there, I’d say you have ’em all beat. Yours always makes me smile and drool.

    I also loove your waffle creations! I gotta get on some of those!

  8. haha please tell me that gertrude is your car. ooh ooh today i mixed my luscious lemon hummus with my egg and ohhhhh i loved it so much!

  9. what a fabulous day of food πŸ™‚ now I want waffles.

  10. I agree about the oats, yours look the BOMB. I don’t have quite that much creativity in the morning… ha

    Love the plate!!!! And the waffle. Holy geez. Girl… we need specific measurements! You can’t throw around dishes like “sweet potato waffles” without a recipe… πŸ˜‰

  11. Hey Jessica,

    Thank you so much for your message. I’m doing a lot better now!
    Love your blog so much, girl! The photos are incredible. I want that egg and waffle dish right now!

    Have a great weekend!

    LΓ©oh

  12. Kombucha is one of those things that I’ve been super scared to try, but I feel like I’ve heard 98402488090 million things about it the past few days… most about home brewing…
    How did I miss National Waffle Day?? I need a waffle iron!

  13. greensandjeans

    There was actually a really interesting article about Kombucha in the NYTimes the other day! You should look to see if it is online.

  14. Those sweet potato waffles look LEGIT! I love pairing sweet potatoes and eggs….but when the SP’s are in waffle form? Girl, you’re killing me πŸ™‚ I’d have some serious egg & waffle sandwich action going on if I were you πŸ˜›

    Oh, and I can totally relate to being the only person who talks in class. Not gonna lie, I like hearing myself say intelligent things. So if no one else wants to speak up, I sure has heck WILL! hahaha.

    My “new” favorite food at the moment is CEREAL. Yeah…real original, haha. Seriously though, I haven’t had cold cereal in so long! I don’t know why. I had a big bowl the other day and now it’s all I can think about!

  15. waffle day..yes I missed it..man..oh well I love the waffles and wow 3.79 wowie…domain for pics??link??? too cool congrats…I knew the cottage would grow on you..

    sweetlife

  16. You have me drooling here girl!!! I could dive into these photos! Those SP waffles sound heavenly…with the savory egg scramble. Nice!! Not to mention your breakfast with cranberries, pumpkin, coffee & everything I love. I dig your ambition & energy…always uplifting πŸ™‚ happy friday

  17. I will join the colony of “wacky” eaters! haha! But really Kombucha is yummy (I dig the fizz) but not affordable. I actually looked into getting my own “colony” so I could make my own but was afraid to drink what I would produce πŸ˜›
    Sweet potato waffles? yesss! And I for one, love LOVE breakfast for dinner. It’s just great.
    Cheers!
    C

Leave a Reply

