What’s On?

Heyyyy, punkins! You’ve made it to Friday, and now we’re home free! Does anybody have any exciting plans for the weekend? I’m holding out for the continuation of this gorgeous weather – but I think that’s only going to happen tomorrow. I’ll take what I can get, I suppose!

Old Faithful.

My Friday kicked off with what may be becoming my old faithful bowl of oats! Plum oats have been making their appearance quite often lately, haven’t they? Well, in case you haven’t tried – they are just that good! They’re definitely prettier when you get a really good plum, though. Why have my plums been so bland in color lately?! No me gusta.

This morning’s base was equal parts oat bran, rolled spelt flakes and rolled barley flakes, wheat bran, brewed coffee, almondmilk, trail power, 1/4 of a sliced banana, 1/2 of a diced plum, vanilla extract, and chia seeds. I topped it with chia-acai icing, crystallized ginger, flax, almonds, chopped dates, ginger jam, coconut butter and a sauteed mixture of the rest of the plum, 1/4 sliced banana, almondmilk, and shredded coconut. The flavor of the morning was French Vanilla. Can you ever go wrong with French Vanilla coffee? I think not. What’s your favorite coffee flavor? Are you a traditionalist, or do you like to mix it up?

Coconut butter & plums…never fail 🙂 And I’m totally loving on these ginger preserves. Nora asked me yesterday how long it usually takes me to make these breakfasts I *la hem* oh-so-artfully create. [Which, btw, is another reason we’re long-lost foodie twins…I had been chuckling inside my head just that very morning wondering if you all think I’m crazy since it seems like it would take forever!] But – this bowl took only about 20 minutes from start to finish – and that’s primarily because I cook over super-low heat so that I can pack some parts of my lunch and organize my life. If I didn’t love the layers of flavors you get from having icing, the sauteed fruit, nut butters, and of course the oats themselves, it could obviously be done much faster. But what’s the fun in that?! So, just thought I’d throw that out there, in case anyone else was wondering. I used to be such a food mixer – and it’s strange, because for most other meals, I do mix everything together. [i.e. rice, yogurt messes, having the need to throw everything in the same bowl, wrap, or plate]  But! I don’t like my oatmeal all mixed up. It’s a delicate craft to eat, let me tell you. 😛 Are you a mixer, or a “layer eater”?

All morning, I was so excited just imagining the beautiful weather we had been forecasted. Uhm, upper 60’s and sunny? Yes, Please. I sauntered out of the house in just a button-up and light thermal, but probably should have re-thought that concept. It is still winter, after all…

…which means it is still chilly in the morning! Oh, well – I pumped the heat and clutched my coffee, and picked a soundtrack to start my day and warmed up quick enough.

Believe it or not, but I do actually listen to more than Jay! haha. In fact – it’s a recent obsession. Fun Fact? I used to be a major screamo-metal head. Well – not metal. But you get the picture. And in case you don’t: this was one of my favorite songs this time last year. In fact – I still have a lot of this genre on my iPod. I just got it for Christmas, and have yet to put much music on it. At all. It’s a project for this weekend, though – because it needs to happen! [disclaimer: most of the time I didn’t listen to stuff that brutally awful. I’d say that’s the worst of it. Ironically, I of course didn’t think this at the time.] And yes – I had the hair to match the musical tastes. Maybe I’ll show you sometime 😉

By some stroke of luck, I actually made it out of the house a bit early this morning – a trend that hadn’t occurred much at all this week. Oh well. Not wanting to be early for work, I of course stopped along the way to enjoy the starts of this beautiful day. The lake was like glass!

It was already absolutely gorgeous by the time I got to work, but I somehow managed to find my way in without getting lost. I did, however, wind up with the munchies pretty much all morning long. It’s funny because today was probably my least active morning I’ve had at work in a while because there was a lot of digital work (re: sitting!) to be done. I swear I get hungrier from sitting. Same thing happens on school days! Ugh.

Oh well. Not being one to push aside cravings, I polished off half my eats before noontime even rolled around. For a while there, I was a little worried I’d have lunch before the clock struck twelve!

orange, kiwi.

dried pitted dates, dried apricots, oven-roasted sea-salt almonds

bargain shopper score! 49 cents?! I'll take them ALL!

My favorite ingredient is the "organic white coating." Yep.

I stopped myself at half the bar, knowing I’d crave a lil’ something sweet after lunch, or in the afternoon. Sorry if everyone’s getting bored of my bar-label shots. I love reading ingredients and nutrition facts, though…maybe you guys do, too?! Especially when they’re this good! I’ve already raved enough about these Z Bars, though – so I’ll save you that. I of course, also nommed on a carrot.

Today absolutely flew by. I love these days! Especially when it’s as laid-back as it was today. Not only that, but I packed a great lunch – and decided to take a mile and a half long walk to the Walgreens on the corner. Hey – if the boss wants dark chocolate, I’ll get him dark chocolate! It. was. beautiful. 67* and brilliantly sunny, with a nice warm breeze! I couldn’t have been happier. Though I was a bit sad to have to go back.

WW wrap with chik'n salad, spinach, red pepper, and honey mustard.

packed & ready! I no longer take the time to cut my carrots.

This salad got pretty amazing overnight, I think! Seemed so much better today – though that could be the addition of red pepper and honey mustard. Not to mention – I think I shortchanged myself last night, because this wrap was huge! I just packed it all in there even though I knew it was a lot. In fact, my cow-worker’s remark was “Jess, I think your wraps have been getting larger every day.” heh! Shnoopsies.

Not to mention: it finally put the kibosh on my ravenous hunger! Okay – maybe I wasn’t ravenous. But this wrap was huge, and I didn’t even touch the Popchips or wasas, and the rest of my Z Bar waited until the drive home!

Of course, by the time I drove home I had the salmon I had taken out for dinner on the mind, so I needed something to tide me over!

Tonight’s salmon was a citrus-balsamic glaze with a side of sauteed Kale. And applesauce. I keep forgetting how much balsamic vinegar Kale picks up – It really takes on teh vinegar flavor! So while the vinegar level was perfect for the salmon, the Kale was almost too much so. Oh, well – I’m not one to let that minor deet stop me 😉 The salmon was wonderfully moist and tender, though. And I always love a balsamic glaze!

I browned one salmon filet in a pan drizzled with olive oil in some minced garlic and fresh basil. I also sprinkled salt and pepper on each side, with a touch of lemon pepper. In a small bowl, I combined the juice and pulp of one orange with a bit (2 Tbs. or so?) of balsamic vinegar and a drizzle of honey, as well as 2 Tbs. or so of unsweetened applesauce. Pour over the salmon, and allow to thicken a bit, or just cook until done! I also added the Kale right into the pan – but again, it kind of soaked up a bit too much of the balsamic. I love the applesauce with this, though! I was planning on just doing applesauce-balsamic glazed salmon but there was an uneaten-yet-cut-up orange out, and figured “why not?” heh…

I tend to accidentally overcook fish a lot of times…but this time I was successful! I think I’m just finally getting the hang of it, haha. But as I said – it was wonderfully moist and flavorful. Yum!

After dinner, it was  nice enough to be outside, and decided to help my mom rake leaves. We’re a little late on the leaf-raking, I guess. Oh well. I came back inside wicked excited for a dessert I had prepped for this morning!

Chocolate-Cranberry Nanner Softserve

Holy yum. This was reeeeee-diculous. Just like soft serve! I was nervous this banana softserve was all a lie the first couple of “processes” – the banana was getting crumbly – not at all soft-serve like. It came together quite quickly after scraping it all down from the sides, though. And, will be revisited quite often.

I hope everyone has a great night! I should really start working on a paper I need to write for family violence, but am not looking forward to it. I’m supposed to give mock relationship advice to someone getting involved in their first relationship. Uhh, this should be interesting considering the fact that I am far from successful when it comes to successful relationships. Hey, maybe I’ll give myself some good advice?! haha.

What’s everyone else got planned?!

5 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, salmon

5 responses to “What’s On?

  1. I just found your blog through Katharina’s and am SO glad I did!!! Your pictures are amazing and it seems as though we have very similar taste buds 🙂

    That oatmeal totally reminds me of something i’d see on Kath’s blog, and that dessert–oh my gosh. If only I had a food processor!

  2. hahahah LOVE what you said about relationships!! thats so funny. UHH your oats=amazingness! and i LOVE salmon!! i need to try bals vinegar in kale!! ahh and BEAUTIFUL PICS! love you beautiful!

  3. Nicole

    French vanilla coffee is the best!! I only discovered it last summer… and I am hooked.

    I cannot believe how beautiful that lake is! And so still… it seems so peaceful. 🙂

  4. I am SO bad about updating my IPOD, I never do it because I have the music on an old computer that takes FOREVER to start up! Isn’t it fun coming up with ice cream concoctions? I’ve been having so much fun. Enjoy your weekend! Can’t wait to get outside! ps. the pictures of the dock are AMAZING!!

  5. Yummy food and amazing photos! What a gorgeous setting. Ah, would love to have a picnic there…

Leave a Reply

