Everybody’s Irish Today

Dia Duit, bloggies! I guess that’s how you say hello in Irish – and I really hope it’s right, and I’m not unknowingly swearing at you all. I love you all far too much for that πŸ˜‰

Did everyone wear (and eat!) their green today?! I’m not even a little teeny tiny bit Irish – but I can play too, right?! Okay – well, maybe since I’m not Irish at all, my attempts at a green-white-and-orange bowl of oats was only semi-successful…but I get credit for the attempt, I hope?

I mean, I even used an orange mug! hehe. My kiwi was not actually gross – but sauteeing it with banana and dried papaya and almondmilk definitely muted the color considerably! It still tasted lovely, however. I figured that might happen (I mean- who sautees a kiwi, anyway?) but I have this thing where I don’t like mixing hot and cold in the same bowl, I think. So dicing it and putting it on top wasn’t an option I wanted to go with πŸ™‚ Do you have any silly food “things”? I think this is mainly for oats – I’ll eat carrots and a hot sandwich, nah’mean?

I also had two cups of delicious Irish Cream before arriving at work. I had to get in the spirit, you know!

This was equal parts oat bran and rolled spelt flakes, trail power, almondmilk, 1/4 sliced banana, and half a diced kiwi – topped with flax, chia-acai icing, crystallized ginger, dates, coconut butter, and the rest of the kiwi, 1/4 banana, and dried papaya sauteed in almondmilk. mmm! I’ve been all about the dried fruits recently. Before leaving for work, I snacked on some of those amazing dried apricots, some more dried papaya, and a couple oven roastedΒ sea-salted almonds. I love these Blue Diamond almonds! I was bummed initially because I was hoping to get a crazy funky flavor (Vanilla Bean or Honey, anyone?!) but P. Chop was all out! I still can’t wait to try them – but these plain jane ones certainly don’t disappoint.

I am quite suspicious there have been some sneaky little leprechauns running around my house lately. I can’t seem to locate any bobby pins to save my soul lately. I swear I just leave them on my bathroom counter when I take them out! Not to mention a whole pack has disappeared. How else can this happen?!

Eventually I gave up – and had to get geared up for the workday.

Of course, this includes greens of all shades.

...but definitely not matching socks.

*le hem* what can I say?

The drive to work was absolutely beee-autiful, and it stayed that way all day. It never ceases to amaze me how good beautiful weather makes me feel! Today was definitely by far the nicest day we’ve had yet – and I was stuck in work! You’d think this would make me super bummed – but luckily, I didn’t let it get me down. I was also able to take a nice walk to the post office during my break – and I opted to take the long way πŸ™‚

The rest of my break was delicious, too.

Are you all tired of looking at foil-covered wraps and carrots, yet?

Gah, I love carrots. So crunchy. So good. But le wrap was the same as Mondays – hardboiled eggwhites, sundried tomato & basil hummus, red onion, red pepper, roma tomato, fresh basil, spinach, salt, pepper, and an accidental overdose of garlic powder. Whoops! I told my boss that I didn’t have breath that was suitable to work with customers with, and that I should probably go home. It didn’t work. Hey, can’t say I didn’t try.

Old hat? Maybe. Good every time? Definitely.

Orange. Kiwi. PopChips. Wasa. I’m in mourning because I’m almost out of PopChips, and don’t want it to be the end!! So I didn’t take quite as many and bulked it up with some wasa πŸ™‚ Maybe I’ll get the chance to run into Hannaford tomorrow to get some more, but if not – I’ll be out til next week! I’ll have to buy out the store πŸ˜› I am excited to try the other flavors, though!!

I also tried a great new bar today:

A Clif C Bar in cherry pomegranate!! I was beyond excited when I saw these puppies in the store. Uhm, hello, amazing ingredients. Not only that – but the perfect size!! I love larabars – but don’t have them often because they’re so big! So I prefer them for when I’ll need them to tide me over for a meal – i.e. next to never. I couldn’t wait to try these, though! The ingredients are similar – a date base, with a sticky fruity top, sprinkled with some macadamia nuts and almonds. Holy cow, was this absolutely amazing. I was pretty certain I’d be a fan based solely on the fact that I adore dates beyond all reason – and honestly, you can’t mess up a bar that has 9 ingredients. It’s love! I can’t wait to try the rest of the flavors. I think I’ll like them even more – when it comes to flavors, I’m not usually a cherry fan, even though I love them as a fruit. So naturally I’m excited to try blueberry, raspberry, and apple – the others I picked up πŸ™‚ I think? I’m not certain I purchased apple yesterday – but I am certain that I will be! The only feedback I have is that the top almost gets to be a tad too sweet and I’m wondering if it’d be better off without the evaporated cane juice. It’s not overwhelming at all, and it’s all natural sugars, though – so this is far from making me dislike the bar as a whole.

Work consisted of rocking out in the lab with the lovely co-worker and boss, and then being dropped the bomb that I would be closing by myself again. Uhm, what?! I wanted to buzz out of here early! Not only that – closing terrifies me. And I was told this about 2 hours before close. Basically, no one planned/communicated and it ended up being that I was the only one available to actually be there! oooo-kay. I think they (my two bosses) sensed this kinda made me uncomfortable, and asked if the other person who works there was willing to stay an hour later with me. (He typically leaves at 4:30, I at 5:30) He was nice enough to – but I felt bad since it was so beautiful out and I’m sure he had the exact same thoughts as me! Oh well – we closed up shop at 5:30 sharp and high-tailed it πŸ™‚

As I was driving away? I noticed I left the open sign on. I kept pressing the button to make sure it worked. Uhm, hello, Jess – if it’s an on/off button – you’ll just toggle it back and forth between open and closed – not make sure it’s off. Sometimes I wonder… (in my defense: the other sign wasn’t a simple on/off, so I clicked it repeatedly to make sure it was set to closed. I must have been thinking along the same lines.) Oh well – my boss would be back in town within the hour. I’m sure worse things have been done.

unintentionally in the irish spirit.

I feel like I’m getting uninterestingly wordy with this post and I also just made some bangin’ chia oats that deserve my full attention, so I’ll cut to the chase. Dinner = scrumptious. Hah! Who says scrumptious? I’m running out of adjectives to describe absolutely bomb meals I guess. I feel if I say “wicked” too often – no one will get me. It’s a new england thang.

ANYWHO. I didn’t intend for this to be so festive, but I guess my mind unconciously did a great job, eh?

Tonight I decided to take things back to my spicy ways and made sloppy tempeh! I did this recipe a while back with ground turkey for the whole fam to receive rave reviews, but apparently failed to add it to my recipes page. So – why not tempehfy it?!Β tempeh, carrots, red pepper, red onion, roma tomato, and minced garlic all got sauteed and simmered with honey-mesquite BBQ sauce, franks, and some chili sauce (of some sort.) I had mine over a sandwich thin and shredded some almond mozzarella on top. Since only half actually fit on the thin – I sauteed some kale in the rest of it. Worked quite well!

I made up some homemade ranch dressing to cool it down πŸ™‚ It’s funny how this was almost too hot for me, and I actually toned it wayyy down from the last time I made it. Last time, it wasn’t hot enough! I just haven’t been in a spicy mood lately, I guess.

But – I think it’s time for me to wrap it up!

Did you do anything special for St. Patrick’s Day?

Have a great night, loves!

3 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

3 responses to “Everybody’s Irish Today

  1. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! πŸ™‚ Where did you get the clif bar? It looks so good, I wanna try one! I haven’t seen those yet. I still need to try tempeh too, your inspiring me πŸ™‚

  2. Pam

    ha ha ha!…love the socks and I seen you wore green…great!

    Happy St. Patty’s Day Girl!

    xoxo

  3. kelli!

    I just have to say I love all of your creative eats πŸ˜›

    what kind of wraps do you usually use?

Leave a Reply

