Recipe: Tropical Cupcake Parfaits

(aka…my birthday cake dessert of choice!)

So I’m finally getting around to posting this now. Hey, it’s only a week late – better late than never, right?

As I mentioned, I completely intended to follow Stella’s (The Witchy Kitchen’s) recipe for Mango & Coconut Cake. Not only did it sound and look delicious (as you may very well know – I’m a sucker for anything coconut, and I had recently discovered the deliciousness that is mango.) but it was already quite healthy! Considering it was my birthday I wasn’t so concerned about having a healthy cake, but I wouldn’t have complained.

As I continued looking the recipe over, I decided a banana would be good to add too – give it even more of a tropical twist! And then I realized, that often times – fruit purees can be used as a sub for oil. So I figured, hey, why not just omit the oil and sub the banana, anyways? And that’s what I did. And then, of course, I wanted to play even more and just turn them into fun cupcake-and-yogurt parfaits. Maybe not your traditional birthday dessert, but everyone loved them. And I got them to eat chia seeds.

For the Cupcakes:

original recipe here

Ingredients:

-1 1/4 c. white whole wheat flour

-3 T. stevia

-2 T. honey

-1 1/2 t. baking soda

-1/4 t. salt

-1/2 t. ginger

-1/4 t. chai spice blend

-1/2 mango, diced

-scant 3/4 c. almondmilk

-1 medium banana, mashed (should yield approx. 1/3 cup)

-1 1/2 t. vanilla extract

-coconut (to sprinkle on top)

Destructions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350*.

2. In a medium sized mixing bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients, omitting the coconut. (note: you could add in coconut, as well – if my sister wasn’t “on the fence” about coconut, I would have.)

2. In another medium-sized bowl, whisk together your wet ingredients, omitting your diced mango.

3. Combine your wet and dry, and then fold in your diced mango.

4. Spray with non-stick spray 12 medium muffin cups and divide the batter evenly amongst them.

Sprinkle coconut on top (optional) and bake for approx 25-30 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from tins, and allow to cool on a cooling rack! And obviously, as always – taste-test one or two to make sure they’re…you know…cooked all the way. Right? Right.

Omitting the oil worked out fine – they were still perfectly moist and – well – dreamy! If I were to make these again today, I think I’d even add in some dried papaya that I’ve got hangin’ out in my cupboard, as well as some crystallized ginger. Because I’m that kinda gal.

You could, of course, stop there and just devour these as-is. In fact, that’s how most of them were eaten – but for my birthday dessert, I took them one step further and made up a lime chia-yogurt pudding and layered it with some fresh fruit to make a deliciously refreshing parfait.

For the Parfait Yogurt:

Ingredients:

1/2 c. plain greek yogurt

-1/4 c. almondmilk

-2 t. chia seeds

-1/4 t. vanilla extract

-1/4 t. chai spice blend

-1 T. honey

-zest of 1 lime

(I also think I used the juice of half of it? But I didn’t write that down. Take that for what it’s worth, haha.)

Destructions:

Just combine everything! Adjust the sweetness to your taste. Also – this will not give you enough yogurt to make all 12 muffins into parfaits. I got five – and could have used a little more since it was so dang good!

To Construct the Parfait:

Additional Ingredients:

sliced straberries

-sliced kiwis

-poppyseeds

-lime zest

-shredded coconut

Layer to your hearts content! I topped with a sprinkle of lime zest and poppyseeds (hey – I think it was a mind trick – they thought the chia seeds were poppyseeds! Honestly, though – chia seeds have such a fun texture, and are an easy way to sneak in some extra nutrition for those people who think you’re a health nut who lives on rabbit food. If you have them, definitely use them! No one needs to know. But tell them after they rave, aight?)

Enjoy!

12 Comments

Filed under almond milk, chia, chia seeds, coconut, cooking, food, food blog, foodblog, greek yogurt, health, health blog, health food, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy food, healthy living, muffins, pudding, recipe, whole grains

12 responses to “Recipe: Tropical Cupcake Parfaits

  1. Ooh that looks delicious!
    I love the combo of mango and chai spices! Definitely want to try this!

  2. Susan

    Holy smokes those tropical cupcakes look off the chain! Just bookmarked this : )

  3. Tropical Cupcake Parfaits!!! bring it on. great recipes. I love to dip, so I would have fun combining these two healthy, tasty treats. So cool that you used the fruit puree and the stevia. I will need to try these recipes. great work!

  4. defunktgourmet

    You took something awesome and enhanced it to amazing. Dude, rare gift.

  5. Wow…. Cupcakes and Parfaits look amazing! Great job!
    I’ll save the recipes for some later sunday baking experiment… I have some banana bran muffins in the oven at the moment 😉
    Have a great sunday!

  6. Hi Jessica. Thanks again! I hope they were good. I notice this is an adaptation of my recipe, and it sounds super healthful.
    I’m curious as to how you feel about this or any baked good with Stevia. I have only baked with it once, and it really didn’t work for me (maybe the loss of the crystal structure of the sugar was the problem??). If you would e-mail me any pointers you have on baking with Stevia, I would really like to hear them. I’m about to begin testing recipes and experimenting for future catering events. I never have trouble with baking, but I can foresee some flops in this arena since it is so ‘unknown’ to me.
    Oh, and I love the lighting in your house-so enchanting. Looks like a witch’s house to me!

  7. Yum! You know, I like mangoes when it is baked into a dessert or dish but I don’t really like any mangoes on their own. And mangoes were on sale at my grocery store. Thanks for sharing the recipe – it’s definitely one to make in the future.

  8. Oh, and forgot to say – I love your pictures.

  9. Pam

    Scrumptious cupcakes! I like that you aren’t using frosting…sometimes it’s nice to just have them with a simpler topping!

    xoxo

  10. Ah! These look SOOOOOO good! I want to make these for brunch the next time I am home, they would be such a hit (and no one would know they were actually HEALTHY too!!)!

  11. yesss! recipes! I gotta tell ya, I’ve been waiting for the cupcakes. They sound delicious, and the pics are amazing. I am all about that parfait too. It screams tropical climates and I need an injection of that here in TO, been raining for days! Hopefully it will be sunny in VT this week!

  12. Pingback: Featured Blogger: Healthy [Delicious, Beautiful] Exposures « Chobani

Leave a Reply

