Why Not BOTH?

Good evening, lovelies! I hope everyone was able to enjoy their Saturday – maybe it’s only blustery and cold again in Vermont, and you’re all being graced with sunshine?

plum oats

Like I’d mentioned yesterday, I had to work today 😦 I shouldn’t complain, really – I’ve been pretty lucky that I haven’t been asked to work Saturdays since Christmas time! I love having a full two days in a row off. Otherwise, it messes with my whole schedule. Yes – I realize I don’t do much of anything important on the weekends anyways – but I enjoy “me time.” Two days of being able to do whatever I please always makes me ready for another week of craziness.

Luckily, however, Saturdays are generally always really laid back. This is both good and bad: good in that we tend to just generally be even more relaxed than we are already, and bad in that it’s really easy to get bored and antsy. At least this time of year, anyways. I almost view working on Saturdays as just “hanging out,” not workin’ to pay tha billss.

This means – I can show up whenever I want, too!

I typically never take advantage of this, but today I got a little caught up in going through photos before leaving, so I decided I’d just meander it around 9:30 versus the usual 9:00. I took my time preparing and savoring this never-fail oat combo of plum and coconut. Yum! These plums are the perfect ripeness. So juicy and sweet! And I decided to use half barley and half oat bran for the base – it was so “fluffy” – I loved it! Granted, I’ve done this combo before, but I love the rolled barley flakes. Have you tried them yet?

Classifieds

For the plum topping I sauteed some chopped plum, almonds, dates and shredded coconut in some almondmilk. And the co-stars were White Choco Coconut PB and Artisana Coconut Butter! I was torn between the two, and then realized; why not a lil’ bit-a both?! It was a good call.

My meandering continued as I leisurely prepared a lunch.

I figured since I had to get more almondmilk on the way home last night – why not replace my fermented hummus while I was there?! I prefer Garlic and Chive – but Tomato and Basil is another wise choice. Each time I go to the store I went to last night (which isn’t the one I usually go to) I am astounded by the ridiculous array of hummus. Both the amount of brands, and the amount of flavors! It’s gotten so crazy! I remember when the options were pretty much garlic, sundried tomato & basil, original, and roasted red pepper. Now there’s everything to please even the strangest of cravings!

What’s your favorite hummus flavor? What’s the weirdest you’ve had?

My sincerest apologies if you hate burnt eggs. It’s the only way I’ll eat them. I want golden, crispy edges! Though – in my defense, this one looks so strange because that’s parmesan cheese on top 😉

WW wrap with hummus, spinach, red pepper, roma tomatoes, fresh basil, and two fried egg whites – that were fried in red onion, fresh basil, sundried tomato, and parm. I couldn’t decide – sundried tomatoes or fresh roma tomatoes? And decided – hey – why not both?!

Kiwi or orange? Well – you see where that went. And of course, popchips. New obsession. Their bags are way too small, though. I can’t say for certain- but I think I’ve only got a couple servings worth left already! Not good. I hope I don’t have to write them a letter like I had to write Silk. (p.s. thanks everyone for your support in my dreams of becoming the Silk ad-campaign girl. Maybe we should all write them and encourage it. We’ll all be famous! …i kid.)

Trail mix or Z-Bar?

This was almost a “why not both?” moment – but I ended up not eating the last of the trail mix. I brought it in case I needed a little something extra – I wanted to clean my office after work, so Idon’t need to go into town tomorrow.

So – after enjoying a delicious lunch and snackage – I was on my own at work. Yep – I had to work today so that my bosses could attend their nieces birthday party – which involved leaving me all by my lonesome for the last hour we were open, and closing up shop. I won’t lie. I was nervous! The good thing about Saturdays, though? We close at 4, not 5:30. So luckily, I would be able to clean the office and get home not too late. I almost thought I was going to be stuck there until 5, though! Why do customers always choose to come in at the last possible minute? Oh, well. I actually still got out of there by 4:30 – I was worried for a little bit, though.

I dreamt of this all day.

I confess. I have this thing. This thing involves me dreaming up dinner ideas by the time noon rolls around. Anybody else share this thing with me? I hope so. It will make me feel a little more normal. *cough*I won’t admit that often the ideas start rolling after breakfast*cough*

Tonight’s thing? Balsamic-Mango Glazed Salmon.

Remember Balsamic-Honey Glazed Salmon, one of my favorite salmon recipes? Well, it’s such a delicious recipe, yet also easily adjustable – so I decided why not play with it to replace the honey with a mango puree mixture? Ohhh, okay, if you insist.

I also crusted it with poppyseeds. I can’t remember where I saw this a little bit ago and had to try it – I love poppyseeds, why not? Newsflash: I love poppyseeds, but I don’t need them lovin’ on my salmon. I scraped them off. It didn’t taste bad, I just got weirded out by the amount of poppyseeds. Ah well. At least the rest of the recipe was a success: the mango-balsamic mixture was divine! Not to mention, it went great with the sauteed kale.

To make the sauce, I simply pureed half a mango in the food processor with a spoonful of greek yogurt, zest of half a lime, a dash of crushed red pepper, and a dash of lemon pepper. Meanwhile, a salmon filet that had been sprinkled with smoked salt and pepper (and poppyseeds – but don’t do that!) was browning in a pan drizzled with evoo. I don’t think browning is the correct term, but hopefully you’re pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down.

lime or mango? Um, hello, both!

Once your mango puree is ready, combine it with 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar and 1 t. honey. I also added a half a packet of sun crystals. Just taste it as you go – if you like it  more lime & vinegar-y, you probably won’t need to add additional sweetness. You could also add a bit more honey in place of that, though. Or cut back on the vinegar – I had a lot of the sauce leftover. No complaints, though – I sauteed some red pepper and kale in it, which was, to put it simply fan-freaking-tastic.

Try this. But don’t try and coat your salmon in poppyseeds. Lesson noted. Is there anything you’ve tried that you thought you would adore, but ended up not caring for?

To prove that I do still love poppyseeds, however:

English muffin, or Kashi?

A lil’ bit-a both! The last cupcake, too 🙂 I haven’t bothered with my crazy cereal bowls lately because I’m sure you can only take seeing so much soggy Kashi concoctions. But this one was too good: mango, Kashi, cupcake, crystallized ginger, and chai spice blend. Yes, please.

Plans for the night? I still have so many photos to go through! I am hoping to make some lee-way tonight and tomorrow, though 🙂 Listening to the wind whip outside, in my nice cozy down-comforter clad bed. With a vanilla latter. ohhh, if you insist.  And, Hopefully, I will get that mango-coconut cupcake recipe up tomorrow!

I hope everyone has a great night 🙂 Laterr gaterrrs.

oh yeah – sweet dreams ! (hehe…sorry.  I couldn’t help but laugh the entire time I heard this. You know – the whole “I want to change this, but I just can’t.” scenario.)

4 Comments

Filed under almond butter, almond milk, breakfast, coconut, college, dinner, foodblog, health blog, health food, healthy eating, healthy food, healthy living, hummus, nikon d90, nut butter, oatmeal, oats, organic, panini, photography, plum, recipe, salmon, silk, vermont, wrap

4 responses to “Why Not BOTH?

  1. Nicole

    Hi there! I just came across your blog– it’s lovely! Needless to say, your photos are fantastic. A part of me has always wanted to visit Vermont either in the fall or winter. The few pictures I’ve seen here only make me want to go more! Can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  2. happy saturday girl!!
    your pics are AWESOME- i know i say that every time.. but im soo incredibly impressed!
    YAY for kale! ive been eatin it like crazayyyyyy!

  3. My favorite hummus is just plain ol’ traditional hummus, I also love roasted red pepper though too. well basically I’ll eat any hummus because I eat it everyday and it’s started to become an addiction haha. I am hopefully trying some english muffins today since I bought more yeasty yesterday!

  4. I’ve never had barley flakes but that looks amazing!! I love original hummus…but ALWAYS have to try the million kinds I see at the store. Some interesting ones: Avocado and Edamame. LOVED the avocado…edamame was just okay. I share your “thing” after each meal I dream of what is next, especially for dinner because it gives me a chance to be creative! I love your combo, looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

