Ice Your Oats!

So I’ve had a couple questions asking about how I do what I call icing for my oats in the morning. I made another batch this morning, so actually measured this time so I’d have more specifics, as I was so kindly requested of 🙂

In all honesty, it’s really quite simple, and by no means consider this a recipe – but hopefully this will just clarify what on earth I’m talking about when I say icing!

It started out as more of a funny, one-time thing when I had carrot cake oats for the first time. Hey – I was making a cake, why not ice it, too?! But since then it definitely stuck…you see, I never got the yoatgurt thing. I tried it before I even saw it, and just didn’t care for the thickness of the yogurt, or the semi-warmth, all mixed with my warm bowl of oats. It’s just not for me. But, when I thinned out the yogurt with some almond milk? Now that was a winner. And since it’s relatively thin, it pretty much heats of to the same as the oats, which doesn’t weird me out as much as lukewarm thick yogurt. Not only that, but I think chia seeds are so much more fun in yogurt, than in your oats 🙂

But anyways! Here you go!

Chia-Acai Icing

To make the base:

-scant 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1/4c. almond milk

-2 1/2 tsp. chia seeds

1 scoop acai powder

Just combine and let sit a couple minutes before puttin’ it to good use! It may seem very liquidy at first, but the Chia seeds will puff up and absorb some of the almondmilk. And of course, you can play to get to the consistency you prefer. You’ll probably notice it gets thicker as it gets older, too – I usually thin it out a bit more.

I sweeten with a dash of maple syrup usually, as well as a splash of vanilla. Pumpkin is also really good, or some jam. I just find it’s way easier to make a large-ish batch, and then since it’s generic, I can change it up the morning I use it if I want it to “match” my oats.

Lately I’ve seen posts popping up for doing something similar, and adding in a nut butter. I bet that’d be great, as well as coconut butter! I’m just hesitant to try because – well – I love that last big bite of pure melty nut butter!


10 Comments

Filed under breakfast, health, oatmeal, recipe

10 responses to “Ice Your Oats!

  1. OOO GIRL GREAT ICING RECIPE! im def gona have to try this!

  2. That looks way too festive to be breakfast!

  3. genius icing! i need to try this in my oats 🙂

  4. Pam

    I was wondering the same thing…he he!….thank you!

    I just love the colors that your oats always take on…..just like art! maybe call it “Oatworks”!

    xoxo

  5. Pingback: andifeelfine « Healthy Exposures

  6. Pingback: What’s On? « Healthy Exposures

  7. So glad you included this. Cant wait to try it!

  8. Pingback: It’s a Beautiful Morning « Katharina’s Food Adventures

  9. Meg

    This looks AMAZING!

  10. Pingback: Normal Routine. | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

