Waffle With Me

Has everyone seen or heard the new Dunkin’ Donuts commercials advertising their waffle sandwich? I swear I hear it every ten minutes – but tt makes me laugh every time. Why? Because, well…I waffle on a daily basis. I even use the term waffle. So when I heard waffle all over the radio I felt a little cheated. Here is a days worth of waffles for you.

Fortunately, this mornings breakfast was almost waffle free due to this cool chica’s mention of carrot cake ice cream. I read this comment at 1 am during my nightly “I need to stop drinking so much water” moment – and immediately realized it’s been far too long since I’ve had carrot cake oats. You’d better believe I had difficulties falling asleep when I could hardly wait for morning. Just the thought made me have a nightly rendezvous with the kitchen involving nuked puffins. Luckily, morning finally came.

I love you, carrot cake oats. And this bowl was especially stellar, for what reason I am unsure. Possibly because this was the first time I’d had it with oat bran? Possibly. It was much fluffier than usual. Or maybe I just forgot how fluffy bananas make oats?

I suppose one of my breakfast waffles occurred just moments ago, trying to narrow down my breakfast photos. Apparently, I went a little overboard this morning. I was enamored.

In the Mix was oat bran, spelt flakes, barley & wheat bran, brewed coffee & almondmilk, ~1/4 sliced banana, vanilla, goji berries, pineapple, 1/2 carrot, grated, ground clove, nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon

On the Top was chia-acai icing, flax, crystallized ginger, a chopped walnut or two, strawberry-pom jam, coconut butter, and 1/2 grated carrot sauteed with maple syrup, coconut, raisins, pineapple, cinnamon, and a splash of water.

The waffle appeared when it was time to chose coffee. I think my problem is that I give myself too many choices. So many nut butters, so many jams, so many veggies, so many fruits, so many breads. Hey, variety is the spice of life, right? As long as I’m not wasting anything, I’m content.

Rain Forest Nut eventually won over, and I waffled about what I wanted to make for my birthday dinner while enjoying a cup of that and my cake. I love waking up early.

Next waffle: hurr. I’ve been having major hair dilemmas. I really need to cut it. But I don’t like paying someone $20 to take half an inch off my hair. That can be spent on fun food finds or new bowls, you know.

the usual, except usually I pouf it more. It's growing old.

reunited with my hair straightener: still pouffed on top.

the new? or too susie home-maker?

After all this waffling, it was time to pack the lunch-age and head to class. First, I waffled as to what I wanted for my drive in snackage. The rest of the nanner had apparently been eaten by a Henry-monster, so banana was out of the question. English muffin, or nuked Puffins?

puffins-1. english muffin-0

If you haven’t done this yet, you should do it now. 1/2c. original puffins, 1/4 c. almondmilk, drizzle honey-apple butter, and cinnamon. Nuke for 30 seconds. Enjoy. Yum.

Next up? Yogi Moroccan Spice – for the words of wisdom – or Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride – for the pure bliss?

sugar cookie sleigh ride - with almondmilk, vanilla, and honey.

I have a rapidly growing honey obsession.

Driving in to class I encountered a major waffle. Did I really want to waste this beautiful morning by going to class? I won’t say which waffle I toasted, but I will say sometimes…ya just gotta appreciate the beauty around you.

And right on time, hunger came knocking, and I gladly answered. There was no waffling here:

Rite Aid parking lot.

Nature valley Nut Clusters – I make sure I ration these out, or I’ll just nom down the whole bag. So good. These were the peanut ones. I’m tempted to try making something similar myself.

I just realized I ate a lot in my car today.

And sesame rice crisps. Fueling before my second class & a quick Rite Aid pit-stop. This was a good snack – the clusters held me over quite nicely!

After my second class I participated in a grueling workout that involved a pretty drastic makeover. Are you ready for this?

Gertrude. Don't think she stayed that clean for more than ten minutes.

This messed up my hair, made me freeze, and made me more than ready for lunch.

There was slight waffling involved in lunch: I was homeless! My mom was MIA and I didn’t feel like eating by myself at a random location on campus. Everyone has classes when I don’t, and vice versa 😦 I finally decided on just going to the welcome center because I was going to need to buy some hot water or coffee, anyways. I wanted to go to the lake lookout – but didn’t think I’d have time to do that and get tea/coffee.

lunch was packed last night, as usual.

Turkey Meatball pita-panini w/ ranch, dijonnaise, sundried tomatoes, red pepper, red onion, spinach, and a pickle. Oh and parmesan, of course!

And I'll never turn down a naranja.

Deee-vine. Loved the homemade ranch-dijonnaise combo. And the pickle. Oh, dill pickles. You make sandwiches complete.

Did I want a bar, too?

I ended up passing – I was quite content – but decided to take Clif with me, for his whole grains and vitamins – to my Photo class. I definitely made everyone jealous. If you’ve had a Blueberry Z Bar before, you know how deliciously blueberry – y they smell!

I munched half in class, and half driving home so I didn’t eat the kitchen once I got there. There was much waffling about exposures, negatives, and chemicals while in photo – but I won’t bore you. There was also much stress/frustration. Everyone kept asking me all these questions about what to do, how to do it, what to mix, etc. I get really stressed out when I’m asked too many questions about stuff like that when I’m trying to do it, too. I’m trying to get stuff done, too – and I probably only know as much as you! I know that sounds awful, but it’s just part of me. I could never be a teacher. The worse part is – I’ll even get frustrated if it’s even people I know really well.

I had already had a general idea for dinner planned, but I waffled the entire way home as to specifics. I’ll reveal the final product, first.

Bulgur-Chickpea Casserole

Did I want chickpeas, turkey meatballs, or shrimp? Chickpeas. Did I want sweets-meets-savory by including an apple? No. But next time for sure! Did I want to make it all neat and layered only for it to be messed up upon serving, anyway? Sure.

Classic Jess fashion.

Did I want to use nutritional yeast, feta, or parmesan in the veggie layer? Nutritional yeast. Parm on Top!

This was good! Chickpeas were the right waffle. Next time I’d love to try it with some chopped apple and sweet potato!

Dessert was waffle free:

you betcha!

Told you so: new obsession/old obsession meet.

I guess you could say I tend to get stuck in food ruts. I’ve actually been flipping through Clean Eating mags at breakfast and re-discovering some great recipes that I saw and wanted to try – but didn’t make note of…and completely forgot! I’ve been feeling rather uncreative, so these are definitely helping and I’m brewing some good ideas. I still openly admit to finding one snack and latching on to it, however. Oh, well, I guess.

I hope everyone toasted lots of waffles today – decisions are good! Do you like to have decisions, or have things laid out for you? When you do have decisions – are you indecisive, or black and white?

Do you pack your own snacks when you know you’ll be out and about, or just hope you’ll find something?

And lastly – do you tend to get stuck in “food ruts” ever?

I hope everyone has a great night – just think, tomorrow’s friday already!

11 Comments

Filed under all natural, almond milk, apple, banana, beans, breakfast, broccoli, bulghur, bulgur, carrot cake, casserole, chia, chia seeds, coconut, college, cooking, dinner, food blog, foodblog, health, health blog, health food, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy living, lunch, meatballs, nut butter, oatmeal, oats, panini, photography, pineapple, pita, recipe, snack, TVP, vegetable, vegetarian, veggies, vermont, whole grains

11 responses to “Waffle With Me

  1. I waffle on a daily basis and it always starts with breakfast. I always have so many things that want to try but there are too few meals of the day to experiment with. I also have a problem deciding what I am actually craving. Around 4pm I have an internal struggle until dinner time about what I am going to create and it is almost NEVER what I initially decide.

    I looovvvee K-cups!! Rainforest Nut was my go to when I was working at my internship then somehow I transfered to Nantucket Blend and if I’m having a really sweet breakfast, I love bold. Clearly I am indecisive about my coffee as well as breakfast. If you haven’t tried it, the Bigelow Pomagranate Green Tea K-cup is amazing! I love drinking it with a hunk of dark chocolate!

    I’m going to have to give those z bars a try. I saw that cliff now has a C-bar which looks amazing! I haven’t been able to find them, but I am dying to try!! I love the picture of the shed, I think I would have struggled to make it to class with beauty like that all around. I love those serene moments where it is you and nature in all it’s glory!

  2. So after all the waffling, no waffles were enjoyed??

    I LOVE the photo of the brick wall and the bench! Amazing!

  3. okay first of all-YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! love the dark hair 🙂
    2nd of all-your eats are amazing- i need your creative BRAIN!!
    i love going w. the flow throughout my day! making spontaneous decisions but planning important things, making sure im not missing anything along the day
    & i ALWAYS have snacks!1

  4. WOW WOW WOW! Best breakfast pic everrrrr. I seriously stopped and stared at your bowl of oats for like three minutes. Such amazing brightness and color contrast!
    And you are so beautiful!! I love your black and white photo session. Don’t cut your hair- it’s thick, long, shiny and gorgeous!!

  5. First girl your so puuurrrrity!!! and i think your best post eva!! Love all the shots and the ones on the way to class great love love love!!

    sweetlife
    oh ya the food was especially nice…

  6. Carrot cake oats? I’m in love! I bet they were incredible.

    Great pictures of the fence post and tractor! I’d love having them framed on my wall – I’m such a country girl!

  7. And the barn/shed – gorgeous!

  8. Pam

    Decisions…Decisions! …..but you do well girlie!….he he!

    Now maybe I want waffles …lol!!

    Enjoy your day and love the photo’s!

    xoxo

  9. your pictures are amazing! I love the quality of them. and those oats look SO GOOD and colorful. REALLY LOOOOVE IT! great blog. Also, I feel you on those nut clusters … so addicting. I have finished a whole bag over a day before :/ its too easy!

  10. Sheesh! Where do I start… I love ALL the photos! My husband wants to try your carrot cake oats! I really enjoyed the fence post photo and all the fuzzy wuzzy pics. I’ve not tried the blueberry Z bar, but would love to, just from reading your taste for them 🙂 I get stressed when people ask me too many questions too. Can’t they tell, I am trying to concentrate too! I enjoy all my finds at the discount store too (grocery outlet) I always find amazing deals. I just picked up Spectrum flax oil for $2.99!! That is a $10 savings! No shame here 🙂 I also get stuck in food ruts. I like making whole wheat bread in the bread machine, slicing it and keeping it in the freezer. Then I very frequently, over toast it in the mornings and top with Sunbutter. I usually eat this on my way to work with coffee and cream…Nothing better.

  11. You take beautiful photos…but I kept looking for the waffles! LOL 🙂

    Lamb’s Most Recent Post: I Bought A Chayote Squash. Now What?

Leave a Reply

