Asian Ginger-Lime Turkey Meatballs & Noodles

Okay, okay: the long-awaited “dinner from last night.” AKA Thursday night. AKA the night we lost power. Shortly after dinner, nonetheless. But is it worth how much hype I gave it?

Probably not.

Why?

Because it involves shirataki noodles. Sometimes I hate posting about these, because I don’t want this blog to be mistaken for a dieting blog rather than a healthy living blog. So yeah: sometimes I’m afraid people are thinking I’m being a cop-out by using these noodles. But I should stop caring because I don’t look at them as a replacement for pasta. Honestly – the past two recipes I’ve used these for, I can’t really imagine using real pasta with. No joke! They just go so well with the flavors and cuisine.

While in the store today, I was looking in the Asian foods aisle for something similar that would have a little more protein and, well, substance. But couldn’t really find anything! So I guess my only suggestion to those who really hate these noodles is that maybe just using the noodles from a package of Ramen would come close?

But anyways: the recipe. I think this is my favorite Shirataki noodle recipe to date. I know, I know: I said that last time. And I’ll probably say it next time. (which might actually be tonight) But, I digress. Enough blabbing. Meet

Asian Turkey Meatballs and Noodles with Creamy Ginger-Lime Sauce

For the Meatballs:

adapted from Cari Cooks

– 3/4 lbs. lean ground turkey

-2 T. almondmilk

-2 T. crushed sesame rice crackers

-1 egg, beaten

-1/8 t. ground ginger

-1/4 t. sea salt

-1 t. dried cilantro

-2 T. soy-sauce

-juice and zest from 1 lime

Preheat oven to 400* F. Combine all ingredients, and form into meatballs of desired size. Place on a baking sheet coated in non-stick spray and bake until cooked through, about 10m.

Note: These freeze fine – I usually just leave however many I want immediately out, and freeze the rest for sandwiches during the week. Or month, even.

For the Noodles:

1/2 pkg. Spaghetti shaped Shirataki Noodles

-prepared veggies of choice (and quantity!) but I think sugar snap peas, carrots, and corn worked great. Baby peas, broccoli, or cauliflower would probably be good too.

-drizzle olive oil

-1 t. minced garlic

-salt and pepper, to taste

Destructions:

Rinse and drain noodles well, microwave for 2 minutes, and then pat dry with paper towels.

In a frying pan, saute garlic and veggies in olive oil, season with salt and pepper to taste. Add in noodles. And set over low heat while you prepare the sauce.

For the Sauce:

-1/4 c. plain greek yogurt

-2 T. almondmilk

-2 t. honey, or to taste

-zest and juice of one lime

-1 pineapple slice, diced

-1/8 t. ground ginger, or to taste

-dash crushed red pepper (optional)

-1/8 t. ground black pepper

Destructions:

Whisk all ingredients together – testing for sweet vs. spicy and adjusting to your tastes.

To Plate:

Back to the saucepan with veggies and noodles:

Pour half the sauce (or, as much as desired) over the noodles and allow to come together. Plate over a bed of baby spinach, and add your meatballs. Drizzle remaining sauce over the noodles and meatballs.

And dig in!

I told you guys I couldn’t get enough of the sweet with a hint of spicy flavors lately – didn’t you believe me?!

I enjoyed the baby spinach bed – but I might just be weird. I like hot dishes over baby spinach and letting it wilt. Yummy!

9 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, recipe

9 responses to “Asian Ginger-Lime Turkey Meatballs & Noodles

  1. ooo girl that looks GREAT! honey AND greek yogurt for the sauce?! 2 of my fav thangs!

  2. I’m not a big fan of those noodles because of the “diet” mentality associated with them, but this recipe looks fantastic! I can see what you mean about them working better than regular pasta here. I should try this with tofu or falafel instead of meatballs! Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

    • Yeah – that’s why sometimes I feel uneasy about posting recipes with them. I don’t want people to mistake it as just another diet swap – I just actually really like them! lol. And with this, I think they work great.
      I bet it’d be great with tofu, too. Trying to imagine falafel – I bet if you played with the falafel recipe to incorporate some lime and ginger it would be out of this world πŸ™‚ hmmm…something to think about there! And sesame seeds!

  3. I can see what your saying, but I still love the shirataki noodles. I like to eat them with asian dishes, so don’t feel bad! Have you tried udon noodles? those might go well with this. great dish!

    • No, I haven’t – I think I vaguely remember hearing the name before, though. I’ll have to look into them! I’m not necessarily looking for a substitute for myself anymore, more maybe as a suggestion for others who really hate them. It seems shirataki noodles are either loved or hated, no happy medium, lol.
      Glad I’m not the only lover! πŸ˜›

  4. I think SOMEONE needs to write their own cookbook….. πŸ™‚

  5. Mhh, that just looks so yummy! Those meatballs…the sauce…delicious. I am actually cooking a second dinner right now (it’s almost eleven). haha Just want to get some more pictures and I want to make my tummy happy. πŸ™‚

  6. Just delish–my girls would love!!

    sweetlife

  7. Pingback: Laugh a Little « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

