Coconut-Chai Granola

Lately, I’ve been craving granola. I don’t have granola often – a. because it’s one of those foods that when I buy it, it’s hard to stay away from, and b. because it’s one of those foods that when I buy it, it’s hard to stay away from. Okay, and I guess for some reason I just haven’t been wanting granola – cereal’s been doing just fine by me. And my mish-mash bag of granola bars that I crumble up and use as granola. Hey, I need a piece of every flavor, you know! Regardless, when I was in the store today I decided to pick some up. There was a whole bunch to chose from, but of course I was narrowed to the natural selection – I’m not sold on all the sugary nutritional stats of all the other stuff. Eventually I was torn between Bare Naked and Ezekiel. I went for the Ezekiel 4:9 – the flax one, to be exact. I thought it was granola, at least. Turns out it’s more like some strange oatmeal-cereal sort of grain combo. I’m not going to lie: I know I’m a health food junkie, and typically enjoy health foods – but I was not impressed. I almost chucked it then and there, but maybe I’ll try it in one of my morning oat combos sometime…uh…soon. ish. Hey, it’s at least good for me. Of course – I’m also not of the belief that healthy food needs to taste like, well…cardboard, if I’m being brutally honest. I’ll give you another chance Ezekiel…but this is strike 1.

This is getting long-winded: long story short, when I get a food thought in my head, it’s hard for me to shake it. That and, I needed to find something to use that Ezekiel cereal in. So I was going to make granola. I’ve never made granola before, so I thought it best to find a recipe. I would use this recipe from Hodgson Mill! Hah…right. I intended to. Here’s what I did, instead. This being my first excursion in granola-making and my decision to change just about everything, I’m just going to type it out exactly as I did it, and then make note of what I’d do next time. Granted, it ended up quite good as is, but there is always room for improvement!

Coconut-Chai Granola

Ingredients, for approx 7 – 1/4c. servings (halved the original – I am but one person.)

-1/4 c. rolled oats

-1/4 c. rolled spelt flakes

-2 T. (1/8 c.) Ezekiel 4:9 cereal-granola-stuff

-2 T. (1/8 c.) rolled barley flakes

-1 t. each: wheat germ and milled flax

-2 T. shredded coconut

-2 T. chopped macadamia nuts

-2 T. chopped almonds

-1/2 t. almond extract

-1/2 T. pumpkin puree

-1/2 T. applesauce

-1 T. honey

-1/2 t. McCormick Chai Blend Seasoning

-1/8 t. cinnamon

-dash salt

Destructions:

Preheat your oven to 350* and combine your dry ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

Add to the dry ingredients your wet:

And mix!

Spread the mixture onto an ungreased baking sheet and bake for approx 15-20 minutes or until golden, stirring every five minutes.

Once cooled – store in refrigerator in an airtight container.

Voila!

Thoughts:

-Obviously, you can use whatever grains you have on hand. I have a lot on hand. I wanted to play the grain game. heh…

-I would double the amount of coconut next time – I only used 2 T. because that killed the bag and forgot I had two more bags in the cupboard.

-The pumpkin and applesauce idea came from a couple other granola recipes I’d seen. It’s a good way to cut down on the sugar if you are worried about it. It doesn’t give it a strong pumpkin or applesauce flavor, but I was worried if I used 2 T. of honey, it would be too sweet for me. I think as I made it, it is just the right amount of sweetness for me.

-I would also up the amount of the chai spice blend. I wasn’t sure how much I should use – and erred on the side of caution. It’s a pretty strong spice, so I’d rather start small 😛

-At first I thought I burnt it – but I think it’s just right! So one thing to keep in mind while you’re baking, haha.

-Now that I’ve made granola once, I might have a problem with experimenting with new flavors way too often.

Rut-roh, raggy.

10 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, oatmeal, recipe

10 responses to “Coconut-Chai Granola

  1. Pam

    Coconut and chai…very nice combo!

    Girl…what kind of camera do you use? Beautiful!

    xoxo

    • Thanks, Pam!
      For the majority of the shots you see on my blog, I’m just using my old Nikon D40, but have a decent 50mm f/1.8 lens on it, which makes a world of difference. When I’m doing “real photography” stuff, though, I use my Nikon D90. The kitchen is too dangerous a place for him, though – he’s my baby 😛 haha.
      But in all honesty – it’s the lens that makes the difference for food photography, I feel.

  2. Kat

    This looks like the most perfect granola combination I’ve ever seen. Ever. Wow!

  3. great photos — and an insprired granola recipe!

  4. dot

    Hi!

    Thanks for stopping by foodwhirl.com… I’m really enjoying your blog! You have great photography and yummy sounding recipes. I’ll definitely have to sample this granola 🙂

    dot

    PS: We’re accepting guest posters for March now, if you’ve got any fun ideas you’d like to submit for a Guest Post!

  5. Oh- I will have to try that! I love making granola – see my post about it if you get a chance:

    http://www.domesticsuccess.com/2009/11/love-granola-hate-the-price-of-it-make-your-own/

    Found you on FoodBuzz – congrats on being #1!!

  6. Thanks for sharing this creative granola. I love the flavour of Chai and you gave me the idea of flavouring my homemade slow cooker cereal with some of the spices in Chai.

    Congratulations on your top 9 too 🙂

Leave a Reply

