Pumpkin-Ginger Spelt Scones

So, it’s official. I’m a sorry excuse for a college student. I’m on break. I have the day off from work. What do I do? Wake up at 6:30 super excited to bake? uhh…maybe…

The saddest part is that I kept thinking about what I wanted to bake pretty much all of last night. It actually started getting frustrating because I found too many recipes I wanted to re-create and amp up! So finally I hit the hay and chose to make two smaller recipes rather than one full-batch. I tend to do that. I was going back and forth between scone recipes: buckwheat? spelt? dried fruit and nut? pumpkin? ginger? apple? citrus? Oh, too many choices! Finally I decided I’d just take an apple biscuit/scone recipe from Clean Eating and adapt it (and when I say adapt – I mean I took their measurements and changed just about everything else ingredient-wise. lol) and create these Pumpkin-Ginger Spelt Scones.

Really, they’re not too much like scones. I can never seem to get crumbly, biscuit-like scones, but that’s okay. I’m okay with a more muffin-like texture! I’m pretty sure it has to do with using olive oil rather than butter. The other clean eating scone recipe I’ve made in the past was the same way. So just know that if you make these, they’re more muffin-like than biscuit-like. And, believe it or not: I wrote down and measured everything this time. Usually I eyeball it pretty good, and then need to remember what I did. This is accurate! haha. I’m going to give you the recipe exactly as I made it, and make note at the end what I will do differently next time.


1/2 c. Spelt Flour

1/3 c. Whole Wheat Flour

-1 T. milled flaxseed

-2 tsp. baking powder

-1/4 tsp. each: cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger

-1/4 tsp. baking soda

-1 T. molasses

-1 Tbs. olive oil

-1 Tbs. unsweetened applesauce

-1/3 c. plain greek yogurt

-1.5 Tbs. almondmilk

-1 tsp. chia seeds

-1/2 c. pure pumpkin puree


-raisins, rolled oats, turbinado sugar to top

-additional pumpkin, almondmilk, chia seeds, and yogurt for the glaze


1. Preheat your oven to 400*.

2. Combine all of your dry ingredients minus chia seeds in a medium-size bowl, and all of your wet ingredients (+ chia seeds) in a small, separate bowl.

3. Mix together wet and dry, being careful not to over-mix.

4. On a greased cookie sheet, either drop onto sheet with an ice-cream scoop, or form two large, 1″ thick rounds to cut halfway through baking.

top with raisins, oats, and turbinado sugar, if desired.

5. If baking as two rounds: bake 15 minutes, remove from oven, and carefully cut into wedges – I got 6 medium-sized from each round. I think4 large-sized would be reasonable, as well. Once separated, place bake in oven and bake for another 10 minutes or so. They will be more moist than your typical scone when finished.

Serving Suggestion: Top with crystallized ginger and a pumpkin-chia seed glaze.

To make the glaze:

Combine one 8-oz cup plain greek yogurt, 1/4 c. almond milk, 3 – 4 Tbs. pumpkin puree, 2 tsp. maple syrup, cinnamonand 1.5 tsp. chia seeds.

My Thoughts on the Outcome and What I Might Change next time:

-I was pleasantly surprised! I made a lot of swap-ups, really just followed the measurements for flour amounts, baking soda, powder, and oil. They are not very sweet alone, but that is fine with me, especially when served with the yogurt glaze. If you plan on eating them alone and like your baked goods sweet, I’d reccommend you add some sugar or honey.

-I was planning on using 1/2 c. greek yogurt, no milk, and no chia seeds – but only had about 1/3 c. yogurt and didn’t want to break open another just for a spoonful. So I decided to make the chia-seed pudding. It worked quite well, and who doesn’t benefit from a couple extra chia seeds? But – if you have enough yogurt (heh) and don’t have chia seeds, you could use 1/2 c. greek yogurt.

-I also ran out of olive oil, so used 1 T. applesauce to adjust. Thinking about it now, I should have just used another tablespoon of pumpkin, but I guess I wasn’t thinking.

-I also meant to add raisins right into the batter – but completely forgot! Hence using them on the top. I feel they really add to the overall flavor and would strongly recommend using them – but try them right in the batter! The crystallized ginger is also a really good addition, and they might be good right in the batter as well.

-I’d recommend using the ice-cream scoop method. I’ve done it both ways, and don’t know why I did it this way this time around. I guess I just wanted triangles?

I also plugged in the ingredients to a nutrition calculator, just out of curiosity. I based it on making 8 scones – I cut mine into twelve, but honestly, 8 is the way to go. This is also sans raisins, oats, crystallized ginger, and yogurt glaze.

calories: 87, total fat: 2.6g, cholesterol: 0mg, sodium: 8mg, potassium: 40mg, total carbs: 14g, dietary fiber: 2.5g, sugars: 2.5g, protein: 3g.

Based on those, I think next time I’d also add more flax, and definitely 2 Tbs. of olive oil to make them more fulfilling. Or, I could just eat the whole batch for breakfast. Hmm, that’s not a bad idea…

Up Next?

Almond Butter and Jelly Bran Muffins!


Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, recipe

10 responses to “Pumpkin-Ginger Spelt Scones

  1. you have been very busy! This stuff looks amazing. Please mail me a dozen ASAP.

  2. These look good and sound healthy! I bake a lot with spelt. It’s a great flour.

  3. wonderful idea, perfect execution and amazing photos!

  4. I like the scouffins! LOL! Way to be creative and make that amazing icing! I love your icings on your oats too! I like to bake on my days off too!

  5. Pingback: andifeelfine « Healthy Exposures

  6. Rob

    I’ve never had my own chia pet or chia head or whatnot, but they look cool on TV. I just eat the seeds and I swear, they help sooo much as far as energy and feeling good throughout the day goes. I honestly started feeling so much better on a day-to-day basis after I started putting them in my smoothies about a year ago. The one’s I get are Chia Pure. Chia Seeds Right Now they are even buy 1
    get 1 free!

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin-Ginger Spelt Scones « The Healthy Haven

  8. Pingback: Pumpkin-Ginger Spelt Scones | Herbal for Health

  9. Hmmm, might have to try these!

Leave a Reply

