Quirky

Happy Monday, bloggies! Usually I’m of the belief that saying happy Monday is a joke – I mean really, who wants Monday? But today was definitely a happy Monday for me, and I hope for everyone else, too! I think it definitely had to do with the beautiful sunshine and warmth that mother nature gave us before she hits us with a couple killer storms for the rest of the week. Either that, or this…

Yeah – now that I think about it, it’s probably both 🙂

In the Mix: equal parts TVP and Rolled Barley Flakes, brewed coffee & almondmilk, goji berries, nutmeg, couple slices banana, almond extract, 1/3 kiwi

On the Top: Last of the Chia Seed Icing with Pineapple, flax, rest of the kiwi, toasted coconut, plum jam, and white choco coconut pb

I seriously love the rolled barley flakes. They seem so much fluffier than normal oats! And – I had my kiwi skin on! It’s not as weird as I was, for some reason, expecting it to be. Just like the skin of an apple or peach, really. And Karla is right – it’s a lot easier to not bother with the peeling. Kiwi’s are a pain to skin!

There were a few times today where I was thinking about how quirky humans can be – especially myself! I’ve already discussed how I like to mix all my food together – yet I get really disappointed if I accidentally mix in the peanut butter. I like saving it for the last couple bites so I can really taste it 🙂 When p.b. is as delicious as this is, you really need to enjoy it!

So, remember how photo-heavy yesterday’s post was? Uh, well, I guess I was unknowingly making up for today. I was running a bit late for work so just packed everything as I grabbed it. And go-figure: I actually mixed up my snacks a bit! I packed: an orange, a carrot, blueberry-salmon pita panini, kale to cook up some kale chips with, crispbreads, pretzels, and hummus. And tons of tea to leave at work! I’ve started drinking way too much coffee during the day at work just because I want a warm beverage. So, this is to remedy that.

Lunch was delicious, regardless of the fact that it took forever to eat because my boss kept trying to have a convo with me/talk at me about the hockey game last night. Another quirk? I hate being the only one eating when people are talking/looking at me because a. I tend to make a sloppy mess when I eat, and b. I feel rude having eye contact with my food, and not the speaker. It wouldn’t have been weird if we all have the same lunch and we were all talking while eating, but we don’t. haha.

After being highly edumacated about hockey, I decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather and take a walk to get a coffee. (not being hypocritical – I did stick to tea all morning. lol) the quirk here? we have copious amounts of k-cups at work for free. the other quirk? after I got back from that short little jaunt, I was in the best of moods, regardless of the fact that I had also been faced with a telephone call from a crazy customer thinking we were magically going to make her black and white photo a color photo. I spent a good twenty minutes trying to explain that no, her photo was never color in the first place – and so no, our reproduction wouldn’t be, either.

Did I mention I stunk up the whole absement when I burnt all my kale making kale chips? Yeah, did that today, too. I tried eating them, but they just tasted like really old broccoli. Yeck. Next time I’ll remember that just because ten minutes at 350* works in a huge oven, it probably won’t work in a much tinier toaster oven.

Anywho, the work day absolutely flew by and before I knew it I was headed home, secretly enjoying listening to really bad pop songs, with some really good oldies and really random rap songs thrown in. Does anyone else ever find themselves listening to the radio, thinking “Ugh, I hate this song.” and completely forget that you can easily change the station? Um, guilty. I do the same thing when it gets static-y. I even do the same thing when I’m listening to my iPod. I swear I’m not loco.

(completely.)

We all also know my quirky love for anything involving a panini maker.

That includes making food that has the looks that only a mother could love.

This, my friends, is a delicious honey-lime cumin chicken panini wrap. Failure at wrapping, complete success on the eating and tasting.

You know what else I do? Eat things people normally eat with their hands, with a fork and knife. In retrospect, I’ll sometimes eat things you’d typically use a fork with, with my hands. Hey, I never claimed to always be civilized. We’ll just call it food entusiasm. This wrap was eaten with fork and knife and fingers. You’re weird, Jess. And you all probably picture me as a pig eating now. I promise it’s not that bad!

In the Wrap: Chicken seasoned with garlic, salt, pepper, cumin, honey and zest & juice of half a lime.

Gettin’ all snugly with almond mozzarella, spinach, roma tomato slices, red onion, and dill pickle.

Served with a side of kale chips (note that they’re not burnt.) and an awesome dipping sauce made of: spoonful plain greek yogurt, zest & juice of half a lime, dollop of dijonnaise, salt, and pepper.

The yogurt sauce was really good with the kale chips dipped in it, too 🙂

I’m totally loving the fresh flavors I’ve been using lately – lime, lemon, basil, etc. This meal was really refreshing, too! I think I’ll be going back to my old ways and using them moreso than the mexican-esque flavors I used much of the winter. For some reason, I find them to be more satisfying, too. Maybe because after eating spicy food I just want sometihng more to cool my mouth down? haha.

If you make this – which, you should – enlighten me, please, as to how to successfully press it so that one end it still open…and just one end is folded…without pressing your hand in the panini maker, too. I was at a loss, and I’ve been having a lot of close encounters with that press lately. For some reason, I’m thinking my food wears the grill marks better than my hand would.

About to go have myself a crazy mixed up applesauce and yogurt mess because I’m quirky. And looking forward to tomorrow! I’ve got a lunch date with an old friend from the barn whom I haven’t caught up with in ages. Should be fun – and hopefully we’ll be getting snow rather than rain! It’s kind of warm for it to stay as snow at the moment :\

What are some of your quirks? I have so many more random things that I do – sometimes I think they’re weird, sometimes I wonder if it’s actually normal but nobody admits to it 😛 I love quirks, though! And it’s a funny word…

Hopefully I haven’t scared you all off after this post – I’m telling you, those extra UV rays are making me into a bubbly chatterbox!

3 Comments

Filed under bran, breakfast, chia seeds, chicken, coconut, cooking, dinner, fish, food blog, foodblog, health, health food, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy food, healthy living, oats, organic, panini, porridge, recipe, TVP, whole grains, wrap

3 responses to “Quirky

  1. Your breakfasts always look so good. When fruits are in season up here, I will have to try some of your concoctions 🙂

  2. My heavens that wrap sounds soooooooo good right about now. Minus the dill pickles. You could say that’s a quirk of mine. Heh. Dill pickles make me all squeamish and stuff. But cumin is one of my favorite things in the world. And lime. Yum. Oh gee. Anywho – I’ve found that when using a panini press It’s best to try and hold down the sandwich you’re about to press with a big spatula of sorts until the verrrrrrrrry last second to avoid having stuff fall apart before I get the thing closed. Hopefully it’ll work for you, too!

  3. Pam

    I love your plates!

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

