Fly-By

Whew! Has Sunday flown by for everyone else, too?! I feel like I’ve done nothing, yet when I think about it, I was pretty productive in that I accomplished a lot of little things that needed to be done, like making up some business cards and working on my photo website, and finishing up senior portraits. And some play-time, of course!

You didn’t think I’d forgotten about carrot cake oats, did you?!

mmm…perfection 🙂

In the Mix: 2 T. rolled barley flakes, 2 T. TVP, couple slices banana, grated carrot, ginger, cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, goji berries

On the Top: same icing with pineapple as from yesterday, toasted coconut, raisins, flax, grated carrot, crystallized ginger, strawberry-pom preserves, and Cinnamon-Raisin PB

Carrot Cake never disappoints.

This was a great start to the day. Afterwards I got to work mocking up some business cards to post up around. I’d really like to try and start getting my name out for senior portraits, or even if anyone is interested in artwork for their cafe or little local gallery or something like that. I’m not sure if that’s just me having high hopes, however.

Is there any reader interested in graphic design? I’d love some feedback 🙂

My mom wins the mom of the century award. She picked me up a new yogi tea and a big bag of chopped Kale! I didn’t even see the stuff that was already chopped, rinsed, and bagged the other day – I only saw the organic stuff. Regardless; she tried some of my Kale chips and loved them too. I guess this is a hint, hint, nudge, nudge to make some more – and you’ll see that I certainly obliged!

I’m always tempted by the Yogi Teas when I’m looking at the tea section, but they don’t have many Chais and were a touch on the expensive side (though only in comparison to those on sale) so would always pass – I’m very picky about my herbals! I had some orange spice tea for the first time at my mom’s office and really liked it. So she saw this and grabbed it for me!

And it is so good! I had it with some almond milk and really enjoyed it. It’s not quite as orangey as the other kind I’d had was – in fact, if it was a touch more orangey I think it’d be perfect – but it is definitely a winner nonetheless. And I love the little sayings on the tag 🙂

And a kiwi! I always am under the impression that kiwis are more expensive than they are since they’re in the exotic fruits section. So I always forget about them! But I remembered yesterday. Love kiwis! Though I think I’m the only blogger left who doesn’t eat the skin? I’ve honestly never even thought to eat the skin of a kiwi…though I suppose since they are full of nutrients and fiber – it wouldn’t hurt to start 🙂

Lunch was, once again, something spectacular

Wrap panini with almond mozzarella, spinach, roma tomato, basil, red onion, and country dijon garlic mustard.

I used to be obsessed with basil, tomato, and mozzarella flavors, and pretty much italian flavors in general. For some reason, I’ve been forgetting about them lately and opting for spicy foods. Maybe it has to do with the weather?

And a side of cracked pepper and sea-salt kale chips.

Whatever it is, I definitely need to bring them back into my life! If only you could smell this wrap as I was cutting it! Fresh basil, mozzarella, slight touch of garlic…oh, it was heavenly. Sure, it was almond mozzarella, but I really enjoy that mozarella – and like I’ve mentioned, I’m a mozarella stickler.

My mom and I both agree that kale chips with cracked black pepper and sea salt rather than just seasoned salt is the way to go. These are my new crack, I think. You’ll see…

Afterwards I was still chained to my computer messing with the website, photos, and tweaking the card. A graphic designer can work on the same thing for eons, if you let them. Nothing is ever complete! Don’t worry, though – hummus, pretzels, trail mix, and tea kept me very good company.

Eventually, I needed to get out of the house. I decided to throw together an applesauce mess – because I’m weird – and then go on a little galavant out back.

I’m not kidding when I say this is the best snack evah.

Applesauce, crumbled AB cookie, crumbled mate bar, trail mix, almond butter, snyders butter snap pretzels (essential), crumbled kashi bar, and spelt bread. All heated and melty and love-y.

I have a mish-mash bag of bars solely for this purpose. I love mixing bits of everything! hah.

Time to explore!

Starting out…

Look what I found! Apparently Kaia thinks she’s a pointer?
I’m sorry – but are these not the cutest ears ever?

I guess I nixed scenic photos and opted for Kaia photos?

Okay – time to head back!

Jiggy and Melody – My mom’s two Appaloosas.

We got back in time for the horse’s dinner – which meant it was almost time to start making ours, too!

While SaBaay observes, of course.

Dinner tonight was salmon! Does everyone remember when I made Flaked Salmon with a Blueberry Raspberry Dijon Glaze? Well – that’s what tonight was! I changed it up a little bit just for simplicity, but it was still just as amazing as last time.

And more kale chips.

This time – rather than having two seperate pots – I added the blueberries right to the pan I cooked the salmon in. And, instead of using the raspberry dijon mustard, I used the maine maple dijon. The salmon was just seasoned with salt, pepper, and chili powder. I had mine in a flax pita with spread cheese, spinach, and some chopped walnuts.

Easy and delish!

Now I’m watching hockey! USA vs. Canada. Any other hockey fans? I wouldn’t say I’m a huge fan – but I definitely like watching it and always hear about it from my boss, haha.

How was everyone else’s Sunday? What was the highlight of your weekend?

and also – a question for those of you used to wordpress: I’ve noticed when I’m inserting a photo and a caption, the caption shows up in a nice little box around the image in my preview, but not once it’s published. Is there a setting I need to change in order for it to show up like this when my post is published? Input greatly appreciated 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under all natural, almond butter, blueberries, breakfast, carrot, carrot cake, chia seeds, cooking, dinner, fish, food blog, foodblog, health, healthy eating, healthy living, hummus, italian, lunch, nut butter, oatmeal, oats, organic, panini, photography, recipe, review, salmon, Uncategorized, vermont, wrap

9 responses to “Fly-By

  1. Your pictures are amazing.
    I especially like the carrot cake oats and the cat 🙂

  2. very nice photographs…
    like the blog

  3. yummy cookies! i keep meaning to try carrot with my porridge and you just reminded me thanks x x

  4. Moroccan Orange Spice tea sounds divine!
    I’m a kiwi skin eater, mostly out of laziness. I don’t think it tastes any different, so why take the time to peel it?
    Your photos are seriously amazing!! Kaia looks beautiful!

  5. welcome to WordPress =) As always, your blog is looking fab. Your photographs are so pleasing to the eye….

    The applesauce mess looks NAUGHTY. In a good way 😉 I love the sweet/salty combo. Yum.

    Don’t know what the deal is with your photos captions :/ I’ve never had that problem. You should try searching the WordPress forums. There’s usually an answer to pretty much any issue!

    • ahh – didn’t even think to look there/realize there was a wordpress forum – so thank you! Will look into it tonight. Now I feel silly for asking something I could have easily investigated myself, haha.
      and yes – the salty/sweet is perfect!! initially i thought heated applesauce would be gross but…oh my word, it’s good! haha.

  6. New blog is nice… more pics I love that!!!Business cards– wow you go with your bad self!!
    Hey how do you take your dinner pics? lighting? I need advice!! I always want to post dinner pics but no light. thanks

    sweetlife

    • Dinner pics are tough – I’m never happy with them :\
      Luckily, though – I have a semi-decent overhead light in my kitchen that’s not a typical fluorescent. So I just get my white balance set on my camera as best I can, and hope for the best! Natural light is so so so much easier, and I can’t wait until I have daylight for dinner! haha. So – sorry I can’t be of much help :\ I don’t have a lightbox set-up or anything – I just want to shoot quick and EAT! lol.

  7. Such beautiful pets! Ahh, SaBaay! Reminds me of my first cat. She was a blue-point siameese.

Leave a Reply

