Cookies and Coconut.

Happy Saturday! Happy new blog server!

I was justttt about to post this on my blogger server when I decided to just stop procrastinating moving, and get it done. I’ve got plenty of time and no excuse not to – and everyone’s saying if you’re going to make the switch from blogger to wordpress, do it sooner rather than later. So what better time than now – and with this great cookie recipe, to boot? You’ll see what I’ve got in store πŸ™‚ I already feel so much more streamlined!

We’ll start with this morning, though.

PinaColada Spelt Brekkie!

In the Mix: 2 T. Spelt Hot Cereal, 2 T. TVP, 1 T. wheat bran, 1/4 c. pure pineapple juice, 1/4 c. coffee, 1/4 c. almond milk, goji berries, cinnamon, pineapple, couple slices of banana.

On the Top: toasted coconut, icing with pineapple chunks, dates, flax, little bit o’ nanner, white choco coconut PB, and strawberry-pom preserves.

Why do I call it icing? Okay – it’s wierd, I know. It started out as a joke-y thing, because it was the “icing” for the carrot cake oats I’d been making! But then it sort of stuck when I kept using it. And it’s much thicker than pudding or yogurt – really, it’s the consistency of icing! Minus the powdered suga πŸ™‚ I’m corny, I know. Roll with it?

Words cannot explain my love for coconut.

I was up and at ’em early this morning! I woke up around 6 and just lounged in bed for a half hour or so before realizing I was up for good. I kind of like being up early even on weekends though, so that’s alright. I was able to leisurely enjoy this breakfast before getting coupons ready for shopping, running into town to clean the office, and then grab a few groceries – may seem like I just went, but Saturdays are the “real” shopping days – if I need something during the week it’s supposed to be a quick trip, though as we’ve all noticed – that doesn’t always happen! hah.Β And, I was even able to bake up some cookies, all before 12:30! [p.s. everyone would be so proud of how coupon-savvy I was today. Saved $20 just with coupons!]

I’ve been seeing those uber-quick, easy, and tasty recipes popping up all over for fourless almond butter cookies, and again in my most recent Clean Eating magazine. While I liked the idea and acknowledged that they looked quite good – for a while I just couldn’t bring myself to use that much almond butter for some cookies! This was when I just had the one $13 jar of almond butter that was only mediocre. Now that I’ve got a whole bunch of delicious nut butters, I wanted to use up my first jar…and knew these cookies would be just the ticket!

Before baking, I made a snack plate – otherwise, I knew I’d be eating more batter than cookies. Hey, almond butter sticks to stuff…gotta clean up somehow, right?

Check all these new goodies!

I’ve been meaning to try those Wasa Crispbreads for a while now, just always end up getting Kashi crackers, pretzels, etc. I wanted to change it up some, and picked up the 7 grain kind. They’re awesome! Love the texture, and they were really good with my favorite hummus – Cedar’s Garlic and Chive, of course. Other newbies include Stash Chai Green Tea [I don’t like green tea…but always want to since it’s good for you. I thought Chai green tea would be just the ticket since I love pretty much any Chai tea. And I was right! Loved it with some almond milk. Definitely looking forward to trying more Stash teas.] and Nature Valley Honey Roasted Peanut Nut Clusters [These things are so addictive. I’d had the almond ones at work a while back, but had forgotten about them until I saw a coupon. Snatched up the honey roasted peanut and the bag will be lucky if it lasts until Monday.]

But anyways…wasn’t I talking about a recipe? For Almond Butter Cookies?

Does anyone else find that mini rolling pin and pig as endearing as I do?

Ohhh, right! So. I know there’s tons of these recipes floating around. But I figured I’d just base mine off of Clean Eating’s because…well…it was right in front of me. I did change up a few things, but they’re really quite minor. More like fun additions!

Ingredients:

-1 c. unsalted almond butter, stirred well

-1/4 c. brown sugar

-1/2 c. cane sugar/stevia/sweetener of choice

-1 egg

-1 T. wheat germ

-1/2 t. baking soda

-1/4 t. salt

-1/4 t. vanilla extract

Add-Ins, Optional: shredded coconut, dried cranberries, dark chocolate chips, chopped walnuts, white chocolate chips, etc…

Destructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine almond butter, sugars, egg, wheat germ, extract, salt, and baking soda. Add in whatever additions you choose, and drop by rounded tablespoons onto a sprayed cookie sheet. Bake for ten minutes, remove from oven, and cool on wire racks. Note that they are very fragile right out of the oven!

So, what add-ins did I do?

I did some with shredded coconut and dark chocolate chips, some plain, some with white chocolate morsels, and some with dark chocolate chips and craisins. My favorite is, of course, coconut and dark chocolate πŸ™‚

So, what would I do different? I wouldn’t have used so much sugar – but I think that’s just me. My mom & Henry think they’re quite tasty as-is, whereas I think they’re a touch too sweet. However, I also find myself thinking that about many things that the normal person would far from consider “too sweet.” So just something to keep in mind – if you don’t sweeten much of your food, like me, then you may want to cut back. If not, go for it πŸ™‚

Otherwise – I wasn’t sure what to expect beforehand. I prefer breads, muffins, that sort of thing when it comes to baked goods, but figured I’d enjoy these since they’re so simple and I love almond butter. And they are certainly growing on me! They’re too easy to sneak one on the way trough the kitchen, though! haha.

After baking, I edited some more senior photos before making up this delicious lunch, which may remind you slightly of a couple days ago.

BST, anyone?

Oh, you know I had to make this again! Turkey bacon, tomato, red onion, almond mozzarella, spinach, and maple dijon mustard all cozy in a flax pita.

This combo is love.

Maine Maple Dijon Mustard is amazing.

But who am I kidding? Lunch was really Hummus, Snyders Butter Snaps, and Crispbreads with a side of panini.

Has anyone else had those Snyder’s pretzels? Oh goodness – if you haven’t – do yourself a favor – and DO! They are so heavenly. Of course, I am an avid fan of all Snyder’s pretzels πŸ™‚ Also – favorite Hummus by far. Some people swear by Sabra. I swear by Cedar’s.

Gotta have dessert.

Hah! And you thought I was done there. There was a random half of an orange in the fridge, and of course I had to have another cookie! And some Celestial Seasoning’s Honey vanilla Chai with almond milk and honey.

And now I’m realizing it was almost pointless to do this post because it’s about time for me to go make dinner. I, no joke, started blogging at 2. It is now 5:30. Where has the afternoon gone?! Granted, I spent time converting, deciding on layouts, and making banners. And I need to work on making up a recipe page! What’s everyone thinking of the layout so far?

What is everyone’s favorite tea, and/or brand of tea?

Also – I’m thinking up fun giveaway items…give me to the end of the week, and I think I’ll have some fun goodies for a lucky reader πŸ™‚

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Cookies and Coconut.

  1. Pam

    Hey, Congrats on your move…well done!

    Cookies look great!

    Enjoy!

  2. Man o man, I gotta go shopping now for pretzels and tea…they look so gooooood!!

    • Oh yes – they are! Beware, though – Snyders has so many options and flavors – you might wind up with more than the one bag πŸ˜‰ Luckily (except…not really…hah!) my grocery store has a poor selection of Stash tea so I was able to contain myself in that area.
      p.s. there’s a coupon for $1 off at coupons.com i think it was πŸ™‚

  3. So glad you went to wordpress… much better huh. I am seeing some of those almond butter cookies in my near future. I think the dark chocolate/coconut would be my favorite too! Snyders of Hanover are for sure good. They have honey mustard, sour dough bites, you tried?

  4. the almond butter cookies look great!!!! Can I post them on my site????
    (of course credit you!)

  5. kalid

    Hi,
    I love those cookies & I have to try them soon… but I have a question did you add any flour to the recipe???

  6. Totally agree with you about the garlic & chive cedars hummus! Absolutely find your blog a pure joy every time ! You never disappoint πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

