F-A-I-L.

…spells FAIL! But we’ll get to the comedy act a little later 🙂
First, as usual:
Brekk’ist! At least breakfast never fails me. I don’t think you can ever go wrong with breakfast foods – they’re good no matter what! Unless you have runny egg yolks. blech! Sorry Karla, for always having to see my gross crusty eggs 😛
Gotta rep the school, of course.
Today was 1 Whole Wheat English Muffin topped with all-natural Almond Buttah & Strawberry jam, 2 Fried Egg Whites con Montreal Steak seasoning, half a nanner, and Green Mountain Hazelnut Coffee. I’m trying a new creamer! I used to love coffeemate and the like, but sadly know there’s a whole bunch of junk in them 😦
Busted – this photo is obvi. from yesterday.
So, I’m giving Silk Creamer a try! Although I’m not too sure it’s that much “healthier” when it comes down to it, hah. It’s not so bad, put I still prefer my Vanilla coffeemate. I think that’s one thing I can’t give up :\ Ah well. I don’t even use the serving size because I don’t like my coffee really sweet anyways. Sometimes I’ll just want it black. So, I think my Nalgene bottle will kill me first.
How do you like your coffee?

Work went by pretty quickly today! One of my bosses is out with vertigo so I kept pretty busy. A peak at the eats:
Seriously love this chick pea salad. Garbanzo beans = love. And kidney beans. And butter beans. And pretty much any other kind of bean. But enough about me – what’s your favorite bean?
Does anyone else think this wrap looks mini in this photo, though? It’s kind of comical, really. It’s a normal wrap, I swear! haha.
Carrots, Kashi Raspberry-Choco Granola Bar, Nanner, Crack  (aka dried veggie crisps), wrap, coffee, chips, and wadah.
Not a big chip fan, not really sure what I was thinking. I think chips are one of those foods I feel like I should like, though. So I keep trying them. All to no avail. Needless to say, they came home -1, and are all mom’s now. haha. Additionally: Kashi, I love you, but your Raspberry Chocolate TLC bars taste very artificial. Not a fan. Pumpkin Pie and Coconut are impressive though, so I guess I can forgive you.
After 8 hours of diligently goofing around in the lab and smiling like a schoolgirl every time I looked outside and saw beautiful snow once again gracing Vermont, it was time to come home and make a beautiful polenta pizza! Because, well, I like pizza, and I love polenta, and I had leftover ingredients to use up that were made to be polenta pizza.
Not only that, but while it was baking I could get either a shower or some quick schoolwork out of the way. Perfect! I assembled the perfect pizza with basil polenta (pre-prepared – I admit it works better when it’s homemade polenta, but I had this kind I needed to use still), tomatoes, feta, red pepper, chicken sausage, and red onion. Popped it in the oven and accomplished a quick assignment and a shower while it was baking. Score! Can relax for the night!
Here’s where the trouble starts.
Pizza’s ready and as I am trying to get it free of the pan, start to think spraying the sheet would have definitely been a good choice. At this point I almost snap a “pretty” photo of it, while it’s still pretty, of course – before just dumping it in a blob in a bowl. Then I finally get it free and it still looks relatively pizza-like. Phew, that was a close one.
But oh, no. I wasn’t out of the woods yet!
I grab the garlic salt because just like mustard, everything is better with more garlic.
I unhinge the top, and reach over to sprinkle some over my pizza while looking away and reaching for my camera.
I get the feeling of slight alarm when it seems the salt came out way easier than it usually does, and look over at my plate.
I had successfully emptied half the contents of the garlic salt all over my pizza.
It was slightly comical because all I could really do was stare down at it in silent mourning. Usually someone would vocalize some sort of displeasure, but I was just too amazed at my idiocy, and had a slight spark of hope that I could just scrape it off.
Newsflash: You can’t scrape off salt when it’s all over an absorbent surface.

Le Sigh. So, after a disgusting taste-test to make sure it was really ruined, the garbage earned a what was once delicious dinner, and I just started pulling everything out of the fridge that was “leftover”, and came up with this:
Mish-Mash of Morningstar Farms Mealstarters crumbles, broccoli, tomato, carrots, corn, laughing cow, and cubed polenta, sauteed in balsamic vinegar and dijon mustard.
Because when all else fails, I resort to my beloved veggies and mustard.
Actually, this didn’t taste as funky as the picture suggests. I do love veggies. But it was no polenta pizza. I’m one of those people that when I get a food idea planted in my head, come hell or highwater, that’s what I’m gonna have. I actually though “Oh. OK. Well, I’ll make a stove-top version of my polenta pizza, then.” But I quickly realized I had no patience for that. haha. There were tons of things I could have made, really, but I was just at a loss for ideas and sought comfort from broccoli and mustard.
Oh well! You win some, you lose some.
And, this dessert more than made up for it:
Cookie: 1 tsp Almond Butter, 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, stevia, 1 tsp wheat bran, 1/4 tsp jam, 1 tsp egg beaters. Combined and nuked for 1 minute.
Along with Strawberry Shortcake Greek Fro-Yo: Greek Yogurt, Vanilla Pudding mix, strawberry jam – freeze for 30m.
and butterscotch hot cocoa.

Sometimes, there’s nothing wrong with eating your emotions.
So tell me, what’s your biggest kitchen blunder?

I hope everyone’s had a good day – catch you all tomorrow!
3 Comments

Filed under beans, blooper, breakfast, dinner, fail, foodblog, health food, healthy living, kitchen blunder, lunch, recipe

3 responses to “F-A-I-L.

  1. Karla

    That's funny. I hate crusty egg but LOVE runny yolks!Sorry to hear about your garlic salt/polenta pizza mishap! At least you had a little big of a laugh right? Next time I bet it will be fabulous!

  2. bonnie

    okay where do I start?? Hmm yes runny eggs, gross- yes bananas are also nanners here at my house haha- silk creamer tried it-not for me I stick to chocolate soy milk, a little thicker not to sweet and yum!! The chick pea salad looks yummy, dont' get me started on my love for beans we'll be here all day-Kashi bars-also not for me I agree very fake tasting- Oh and yummy dessert- now I'm hungry! Thanks gonna quit rambling now!! Take care sweetlife

  3. Jess - Healthy Exposures

    Bonnie – it's okay – i like to hear everyone's thoughts! I for the most part enjoy the Kashi product line, so was surprised when I tried the Raspberry Chocolate granola bar and found the top chocolatey layer to taste very artificial. When you peel it off it's fine, but that's besides the point! lol.And Karla – too funny! haha. Eggs are such a picky subject, I feel. And yeah, whenever I do stupid stuff like that I usually can't help but to laugh at myself! Life's to short to take silly stuff like that too seriously. I find it even more comical how I just sort of…silently went about re-routing my plan! haha.

Leave a Reply

