More Blueberry Love

Did everyone incorporate lots of red into their days today?

…I didn’t. Unless you count “red” bananas.

I had to run to the co-op and Hannaford after my failed shopping trip the other day. I saw these adorable little babies and read:

slightly sweeter than a yellow banana, red bananas also have a subtle raspberry taste…

I was sold. I’ve never had a red banana.

…and I still haven’t had a red banana, but would it be weird if I’m psyched for breakfast tomorrow already?

I’m going to be so disappointed when I unpeel one of the precious little babies and discover it looks that same as a yellow banana, aren’t I? I’m imagining it to be…I don’t know…fuchsia or something.

Luckily, the co-op is never in short supply of dates.

Thankfully, they even stock the vegan ones.

It’s hard to find non-vegan dates these days, let me tell you.

Speaking of odd labeling tactics, though – my mom (cute as she is) was telling me how the peanut butter she always buys tasted different to her, and when she looked at the label realized she bought the “vegan” one.

Mom, a lot of peanut butter is vegan anyways…”

(p.s. can I get a high five for only buying what I need at the co-op today? I swear, that store is a booby trap. So much temptation. I do not. need. a giant tub of carob powder. I do not. need. more flours until I finish one up. I do not. need. any of these fancy granolas.I do not. need. one of every dried fruit/nut/jam known to man)

Anyhow. My day actually had nothing to do with Valentines day, pink or red. It didn’t feel very Valentines-day to me this year.

I’m not sure what Valentine’s day “feels like,” but apparently it’s something more than an ordinary day.

Or maybe I’m just still a little bit bitter about my failing and flailing Bruins.

Or the fact that I had to function on about 6 hours of sleep today because a. this sinus congestion is a total PITA at night, leading me to wake up about every two hours to blow my nose, b. I happened to get a little enamored with the Grammy’s when I realized they were on, and c. I’d keep trying to fall asleep and I’d have a million and one ideas flood my brain.

But first thing’s first. First, the breakfast I woke up to.

While I was blog-surfing last night, I saw Averie’s newest microwave banana oat cake – a blueberry banana oat cake! The oat cakes sort of remind me of a quicker banana scramble…and so when I saw the addition of blueberries, figured why not make a blueberry banana scramble?!

To make things super streamlined (and allow myself an extra twenty minutes of sleep in the morning) I mixed everything together before I went to bed. This left me with a consistency very similar to that of a breakfast cookie come morning. I added a bit more milk and then plopped it in a pan.

Lets pause and think about how cool the word “plopped” is. It gets my vote for best onomatopoeia. Say it with me: “…plop.”

Blueberry Banana Scramble

with coconut and ginger and a cashew-blueberry sauce

  • 1/3 c. quick oats
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • pinch ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t. ground ginger
  • 1/2 T. shredded coconut
  • 2 T. blueberry yogurt
  • 1-2 T. milk of choice
  • 1 t. chia seeds
  • 1/4 c. blueberries (I used frozen)

Mash everything together. If preparing this the night before, you will need to add a bit more milk come morning. Transfer mixture to a greased, preheated pan and flatten. Cook until golden on both sides.

See here for the blueberry-cashew butter sauce

As for that tofu? Well, I’m muddling through it still. Another scramble, this time with pasta sauce instead.

You would think that with all of the things I make myself, I would make my own darn pasta sauce, but no. I still buy the jars.

And yes, I burnt my onion rings.

Okay, so I need to know your favorite onomatopoeia. Just because.

Ever had a red banana?

24 Comments

Filed under banana, banana scramble, breakfast, dates, dinner, healthy living, recipe, tofu, vegan, vegetarian

24 responses to “More Blueberry Love

  1. I’ve never heard of a red banana before! That totally counts girl! 🙂

    Hehe, maybe puttingVegan on the front of the packagesays that there isn’t any honey or whatever in the peanut butter. 🙂

    That sounds amazing!!!! 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

  2. Red banana? Never had one! Never even seen one, I dont think.

    Im glad that my blueberry banana oat cakes gave you a jumping off place…your scramble looks awesome! I am just too lazy to turn on my stovetop sometimes and nuke frequently. I know, I know 🙂

    The sauce, blueberry-cashew butter sauce, oh my….i could just drink that up!
    🙂

  3. I’ve seen the red bananas, but I had no idea they tasted like raspberries!! I will have to buy one now.

    Don’t kill me… but I had a box of those exact dates in my refrigerator for a YEAR. I finally threw them out. See, I did not realize when I bought them that they weren’t pitted. And since I bought them to make imitation Larabars, I was not about to sit there and pit each one. What can I say… I’m lazy.

    Buzz! I think it’s because I like the letter “Z,” since I am weird. Or because it always pops (that’s another one!) to mind when I hear the word “onomatopoeia” (pretty cool word in itself), since that’s the word my teacher used when I was a kid and she was trying to explain what she meant!

    Okay. Shutting up now. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  4. Ayla

    Red bananas that supposedly taste like raspberries? Where have those been all my life!? Obviously not in my grocery store.

    Also.. some dates aren’t vegan? I didn’t know that! I always thought that all dates were vegan because, well.. it’s a date. How in the world does someone unveganize a freaking date?

    PS. I’m making your Carrot-Spice Graham Muffins tonight as a belated birthday present to my mom. 🙂

  5. I have never even seen a red banana! Can’t wait to hear the verdict on that. Tony has the same crud and he is miserable at night especially. I hope you start feeling better soon!

  6. Congrats on only buying what you needed at the store today. I’m proud of you!

  7. Never heard of a red banana. I am very curious to see/hear what it is like. I will be looking forward to your take on it tomorrow 🙂

  8. whoa, bananas that slightly taste like raspberries?! That’s awesome! I’ve never even seen red bananas before..at first I thought you had just stuck a bushel of bananas in the freezer without peeling them first. But that’s really interesting..I doubt they’ll be around here for a while, but I’ll have to keep an eye out.

    As for the onomatopoeias..I always say “pew pew” like laster guns except in a super annoying “PEWwwwww” way. 😛

  9. Red bananas? I’ve never seen those before, but really wish I had so I could go try them out. 🙂 That scramble looks delicious, as does the blueberry cashew sauce.

  10. I have to agree with “pew pew” being my favorite, especially when making little shooting noises, haha.

    And I’ve had red bananas before. I’d tell you what I thought of them, etc., but I don’t want to spoil it for your breakfast tomorrow. 😛 Also, do you have two blogs now? I got a pingback for something that you posted a long time ago and it took me somewhere else…

  11. Those bananas are so cute! I’ve never had a red one.

  12. i gotta kick out of the “vegan dates” and pnut butter. 🙂 never had red bananas!! can’t wait to hear how they are!!…and ker-plunk…i like that one.

  13. I actually realized I didnt’ wear anything red or do anything red at all for valentine’s day.

    except eat a ton of red peppers like I do every day 😉

  14. DAMN GURL do you eat onion rings every day? They look amazing but onions intimidate me. Those red bananas look I-N-S-A-N-E and i want them more than i have ever wanted anything. That’s dramatic but also, accurate.

    And good idea mixing your ingredients before bed. I should really take notes from your efficiency handbook.

  15. I’ve never even seen red bananas before! That’s crazy! And wait, what? I didn’t know some dates aren’t vegan. Please educate me! Why aren’t dates vegan? And what makes some peanut butter non-vegan? Has my whole life been a lie?

  16. Red bananas are in the “you can look but do not touch” category for me. The ordinary ones are expensive enough and if I buy some of the red, they will probably be the only thing I am going to eat for a week or so because there won’t be any money left for other food.

    I need some education regarding non-vegan dates, too 🙂 .

  17. Red banana? Raspberry flavor?! I’m sold!

  18. I have never even heard of red bananas! I am excited to know what they look like on the inside, and if indeed they do taste of a hint of raspberries 🙂

  19. I have never even heard of a red banana! Now I want to try one!

  20. I’ve seen red bananas, but never had one. They’re always more expensive!! Though at first I thought they were frozen bananas, because I left a bunch in my car once during a snowstorm and when I came out the next morning the skins were brownish-red. Peeled and thawed they were too mushy even for banana bread!

  21. I’ve never had a red banana before! I’m excited to hear what they taste like from you!

    I’m super impressed you managed to resist all the tempting food at the co-op. I can never manage to do that, especially when I’m surrounded by lots of health food finds!

  22. OK, so I’m dying to know if the actual banana is red, or is it just the skin? They sound so cool! 🙂

  23. NoNoNo NO! Plop!? Nooo!!!! That’s one of my least favourite words EVER!! Oh crikey.
    i like…smash 🙂 and smack. Gosh, I sound like a boy. (I also like Action Man and firetrucks and mud…).
    Lovelovelove those pancakes/scramble thing – I think they’re my next fancy breakfast 🙂

Leave a comment